2/25 Chino|AMPS=284|+4=346|+8=303|PMPS=318|+2=356|+4=362

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrian and Chino

Member Since 2016
Yesterday...

Chino started peeing on the couch last night right in front of me, so he got to spend the night in the bathroom, where he pooped and peed in the litterbox. He also did both all over the paper bag he's been sleeping on.

I was too tired to strangle him or clean it up so I went back to bed. Now that I'm up, I'll be doing one of those two things shortly. Which one depends on if my couches are still dry when I leave my room.
 
Chino, that is not a good way to welcome daddy home who was super worried about you the whole time :mad: I'm sorry about the couch and the yucky start of the day. Hope it gets better for you both.
 
I think the "needs a lower litterbox" possibility can be ruled out. I moved the one that was in the bathroom last night to the patio. He walked up to it, inspected it, then went into the usual big one.

His stool has been alternating between dark solids and lighter, thick liquid. The vet didn't seem concerned when I mentioned it, though I've recently given him some new foods, so that might be causing it. He got Pro Plan Kitten Chicken & Liver this morning for the extra calories and lower carb content. (This is a switch from FF chicken to this.) He got Weruva Chicken Frick A Zee last night because I thought it would take him longer to eat 6 oz of that than 4.5 oz of FF (same # kcals), but he still finished before the fuzzball, who only gets 3 oz.

I got some pee pads at Petco and calming treats at Pet Supermarket. Looked for steps so he won't have to jump up and down from the couch he hasn't peed on, but couldn't find any that were both affordable and high enough.

This is the 4th cycle on 6th units since we saw green on this dose. 2 shots were skipped because the BG was still falling at +12, so I'm reluctant to increase until we've gone at least 8 cycles on 6 units without seeing another green.
 
If it's any consolation, once the BG's spend more time under renal threshold, they pee more and see to feel better so are less "naughty". What type of litter are you using? Some people have had success with Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract, though you can also get the main ingredient "herbs" in a container by itself to sprinkle on your regular litter.

I wonder if something like probiotics might help his tummy adjust to the new foods.

Let's see what he looks like 6 cycles after the skip, but even the 90's would mean room for an increase.
 
If it's any consolation, once the BG's spend more time under renal threshold, they pee more and see to feel better so are less "naughty". What type of litter are you using? Some people have had success with Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract, though you can also get the main ingredient "herbs" in a container by itself to sprinkle on your regular litter.

I'm using Tidy Cats lightweight - it absorbs liquids better than anything else I've used. I've been using the same thing for at least 1.5 years. Do you know what herbs are in it? I'm looking on the company's website but not seeing it.

I wonder if something like probiotics might help his tummy adjust to the new foods.

They get probiotics mixed into their food every morning.

Let's see what he looks like 6 cycles after the skip, but even the 90's would mean room for an increase.

Understood... though I'd rather the 90's come in the middle of the cycle instead of +12! I usually see a cycle where the BG is still dropping 12 hours later when he's coming down from a bounce, which makes me wonder how low he was going on 6 units while I was gone, since it happened twice.
 
This is the Cat Attract product I was referring.
though I'd rather the 90's come in the middle of the cycle instead of +12!
Some acro cats will nadir later in the cycle, Neko did. The one nice thing about a late cycle nadir, especially one at +12, is that you are usually home and awake then. :) That is usually accompanied by a later onset, meaning you have several hours after shot time where the numbers will rise before the insulin takes effect. Of course, it does mean getting used to shooting lower.
 
Some acro cats will nadir later in the cycle, Neko did. The one nice thing about a late cycle nadir, especially one at +12, is that you are usually home and awake then. :) That is usually accompanied by a later onset, meaning you have several hours after shot time where the numbers will rise before the insulin takes effect. Of course, it does mean getting used to shooting lower.

That will be one of my main concerns if I end up switching to Levemir. Chino generally reaches his nadir between +7 and +9 on Lantus. A cycle where he's still dropping at +12 is unusual for him. I also almost never see a daytime +2 that's lower than the AMPS, which is why I wait until +4 to test... though he's never had a daytime +4 that was less than 300, so I don't know why I still bother checking.

Tonight is the 5th cycle on 6 units since we saw green on this dose. This is a threat, Chino. Show me some green during the day tomorrow or else.
 
Neko was the same, Lantus nadir from +7 to +9, once as late as +13. I also did away with the +2 test in favour of the +3 or +4. On Lev her nadir was usually +9 to +12 and sometimes later, hence the +2 which was really a +14.

Work it Chino!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top