what his zoom back up to HI tells us is that Oren's body has forgotten what normal cat blood sugar range feels like. He probably was diabetic for a while before he got diagnosed - it's not uncommon. It just means that his body thinks that 190 is a disasterously low number and it's quickly responding to get him out of there and back into what it now thinks is normal - 500/high, whatever it is.
The good news is that his body can re-learn to accept normal numbers as normal. the bad news is that it might take some time to have that happen - but he'll get there.
I'm glad to see that blue today, though. Think if you hadn't been here, you'd have gotten the amps 451 this morning and a pmps of HI and never known that he had something lower during the day. It happens. Some cats can go from amps 400 to 40 and back to pmps 400 without blinking. Tricky little squirts! It is definitely possible that he did this very same thing on Monday or Tuesday, too. Are you around anytime mid-cycle tomorrow to get a test in? that'll tell us if he's doing this daily or if his bounces are lasting longer than a day.
With the furshots your count starts over. You want 6 consecutive shots that you're confident got in at any particular dose, then let's re-evaluate the dose and see if he needs an increase. That looks like it's going to be tomorrow night that you could increase if you don't see green numbers before then. Try to focus on the lowest numbers you're seeing instead of the highest.
We see kitties like this all the time - don't despair - it's not unusual at all.
As far as the protocol goes, we use the Tight Regulation Dosing Protocol for diabetic cats that was published by Rand/Roomp in a professional veterinary journal. It is the only dosing protocol that has been published in a professional vet journal - and it is a good one. It's been used on this site for a long time.
The guidelines for increasing the dose are as follows:
Increasing the dose:
- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
- if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
- when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
- After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
- After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Looking at that, once you've got the 6-10 consecutive cycles, if most of the nadirs are under 200, you would increase by 0.25u. If the nadirs are over 300, you would increase by 0.5u. Oren is seeing nadirs less than 200, so I'd go with the 0.25u increase. But don't increase til you've got the 6 consecutive shots in.