2/28/18 Olive AMPS 441; +5=419; +9=361; PMPS 412; +5=346

Status
Not open for further replies.

Olive & Paula

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

Dosecrease on board. I so hope she starts working this juice. She is just high and flat no matter what the dose. She has appt on the 15th. By then we will hit the 5u mark if things don't change. I will get the acro and iaa tests if that's the case. If they are negative then it's Lantus just doesn't work for her or something even worse is wrong. I will have this Dr get a good look at her teeth, which I thing a dental should be done just so I know it's been done.

Is there anything I'm missing here? She is on ff 2-4%. I think she is all settled in by now. She isn't as ravenous as she was. She gained a pound. So maybe cutting back a bit on her amount of food.
 
It does sound like the insulin is probably starting to work, since her appy is settling down and she's gained weight. And, of course, there is no way of knowing how long she was diabetic before she was found. Like Carla said, it just may take some time to find her breakthrough dose.

I assume you started her off with fresh new insulin as opposed to an open vial, yes?
 
It does sound like the insulin is probably starting to work, since her appy is settling down and she's gained weight. And, of course, there is no way of knowing how long she was diabetic before she was found. Like Carla said, it just may take some time to find her breakthrough dose.

I assume you started her off with fresh new insulin as opposed to an open vial, yes?

She was transported with her insulin which was new box of pens. The foster started it about 3-4 days before transport. It looks like foster injected air into one pen as there is a huge bubble. After a few days I did use another pen since she was staying flat. So far no change.
 
Is there anything I'm missing here?
The question about her teeth and the insulin were my first thoughts. Sean's Rufus has shown the value of a dental recently. It does otherwise look like you are shooting water into her. I suspect she'll have some glucose toxicity having been on the streets a while, but I'm glad you are thinking of the high dose tests too. Gaining weight in spite of not being regulated can be an acro sign. Hard to say in Olive's case though - she was probably starving and might be overcompensating with eating now. If you do change insulin types, I would suggest Levemir.

Come on Olive, get over that NDW and show some action!
 
The question about her teeth and the insulin were my first thoughts. Sean's Rufus has shown the value of a dental recently. It does otherwise look like you are shooting water into her. I suspect she'll have some glucose toxicity having been on the streets a while, but I'm glad you are thinking of the high dose tests too. Gaining weight in spite of not being regulated can be an acro sign. Hard to say in Olive's case though - she was probably starving and might be overcompensating with eating now. If you do change insulin types, I would suggest Levemir.

Come on Olive, get over that NDW and show some action!

I know it's hard to figure what is going on. It could also be pancreatic cancer or tumor for all we know. If high dose conditions are ruled out then ultrasound would be next. I would love levemir, but this practice won't use it. I will have to get it off market and show them how it affects her. It's what I had to do with Smokey and Lantus. Dr Dana said other choice is Vetsulin or N. I shuddered when she said that. We will just keep plugging away at raising every 6 cycles until we get answers. I guess it's to soon to add R yet until we have some answers. Really don't like this flat pattern.
 
One thing to know, 1/3 of acros test as false negative for IGF-1 if tested withing 73 days of starting insulin. Recent study from Royal Veterinary College. It's early days for Olive, but if you do get to the point you do testing, that's a consideration.
 
One thing to know, 1/3 of acros test as false negative for IGF-1 if tested withing 73 days of starting insulin. Recent study from Royal Veterinary College. It's early days for Olive, but if you do get to the point you do testing, that's a consideration.

Thanks didn't know that. So testing would have to be May or June. Right now that seems so far off to know if that's what we are dealing with.
 
You could test earlier, but if you get a negative and she's still climbing doses, you might need a second test.
 
We will just keep plugging away at raising every 6 cycles until we get answers
I have another option for you that I reviewed with a few people, and that is fast tracking the increases. That would mean increasing every 4 cycles, until you see yellow. You test enough and know how to handle low numbers. Note for any lurkers, this is a suggestion for Paula and Olive only. Paula is an experienced caregiver and we want to bust Olive out of those high numbers. What do you think Paula?
 
I have another option for you that I reviewed with a few people, and that is fast tracking the increases. That would mean increasing every 4 cycles, until you see yellow. You test enough and know how to handle low numbers. Note for any lurkers, this is a suggestion for Paula and Olive only. Paula is an experienced caregiver and we want to bust Olive out of those high numbers. What do you think Paula?

Never heard of it that fast. Would it still be by .5 u. Or would doing it that fast be doing .25 u? Will see what the 3 u do tomorrow, this dose just started today. Something to really think about. Oh she still has a few days of AB would that make a difference?
 
Fast tracking is discussed on the German (Tilley's page) description of TR.
However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU.
We will suggest it occasionally for kitties that seem to be really stuck and not moving. The ABs might make a difference if you think there is sugar in the AB and cutting out the AB would reduce that sugar. Or if you think it's addressing infection and her numbers will be coming down. You can always wait the few days if you want before starting to fast track.
 
Fast tracking is discussed on the German (Tilley's page) description of TR.

We will suggest it occasionally for kitties that seem to be really stuck and not moving. The ABs might make a difference if you think there is sugar in the AB and cutting out the AB would reduce that sugar. Or if you think it's addressing infection and her numbers will be coming down. You can always wait the few days if you want before starting to fast track.

The AB is clavamox and it's for chin acne the vet said was infected although she only looked at it, didn't aspirate for a culture or anything, bacterial she said. Her glucose was the same before it started.
 
I hope Olive will begin to respond to the Lantus soon. It is tough to try to determine what is going on since you don't know anything about her previous lives. Wendy, as always, has really good suggestions.
Hang in there, Paula!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top