2/4 - Sami - PMPS 151; +2 185

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Okay, Sami did quite well last night, she has a long line of Yellow numbers. Her total drop was nearly 200 points. I am nervous about shooting 2.0 units this morning because I can't heavily monitor her today. I don't want to reduce, but I also don't want her to go to low. I am going to shoot the 2.o units, and get a +2 reading.

Hopefully you all will have some advice before I have to leave for work.
 
Okay, very happy to see some blue, but nervous that she is going to drop too quickly. I have to leave in about 30 minutes to go to work, but I am planning on trying to be home for a +4 or +4.5 reading.

Sami at a ½ can of food this morning at AMPS and I just gave her a bit more food 1-2 tsp. I can set the auto feeder to give more food. I just nervous that she is going to take a 100 point dive again.
 
Can't hurt to set the auto feeder for her but with all your other furries are you able to leave her somewhere separate to make sure that she's the one that gets it if she needs it. If she can be separated perhaps you could just leave food down for her to eat at will if she's not a gobbler.
 
I have to start getting ready for work myself, so very quick reply....
Nice start for Sami, and she does seem to be on the move! Another thing you can do is give her just a little bit of HC before you leave, to try and help level her off until you get home for that +4ish test.

Surf safely, Sami!!
 
@Vyktors Mum Sami is sort of a gobbler, so I am afraid she will eat it all at once. I can move the feeder down to the basement where Sami usually is, while my other cat typically stays upstairs. But Crystal turned her nose up at Sami's food this morning so I had to feed her something else anyway. Plus, Sami knows the sound of the feeder and she typically runs for it.
 
That sounds like a plan then :) and maybe a couple of tsp of HC on your way out the door as Amy suggested too - cover all the bases ;)
 
Oops, didn't post this before I left the house.

------

Okay, just took a +2.5 and she is at 209 after eating a bit at +2. I will set the timed feeder for +3 and +4 with LC and make sure I am home between +4 and +5 to test again.

-----

I didn't put out HC but hopefully she will surf with the LC. I will get another check in the next two hours.
 
Stress averted. I was freaking out and asked my boss if I could bring Sami to the office with me, and he said yes. So Sami is now at my office. I have all the diabetes tools, litter box, water dish, cat bed and more to make her as comfortable as possible. We did this the last time she was on insulin, so now I can stop stressing and maybe that will help her numbers come down too.

She did not eat between +2 and +4.5, when I went home to get her I checked the feeder and nothing had been touched. So having her at 188 at that point relieved my mind a bit that she wasn't plummeting like she did last night.

I will check her again at +7.
 
Last edited:
Woohoo for blue! Go Sami! :cool: Looks like you've fallen off the fast track now. :)

I've worked in places that allow pets in the office, but other than the shelter, that seemed almost always meant dogs. Good on your boss for letting you bring Sami to work. A happy employee is more productive.
 
Woohoo for blue! Go Sami! :cool: Looks like you've fallen off the fast track now. :)

I've worked in places that allow pets in the office, but other than the shelter, that seemed almost always meant dogs. Good on your boss for letting you bring Sami to work. A happy employee is more productive.

I totally agree, and I am not stressing about what is or isn't happening at home I can focus more on my work. Sami is adjusting nicely. She hides under my desk most of the time, but she has ventured out a few times. It helps that it is only two of us in the office in the afternoon.
 
Just got home and tested for PMPS. Sami is at 151. She dropped a total of 72 points today.

She is eating low carb dinner now. I am ready to test and feed HC or MC tonight if necessary. ADVICE PLEASE
 
I went ahead and gave her the 2 units. I figure if she drops 72 points again tonight that will get her to the green.

Now my question is this: if she drops below 50 does that earn her a decrease, and if so would it be a decrease of .5 unit or .25 unit?
 
I am loving your boss :):):)

Good shooting - don't forget that with FD past performance isn't necessarily indicative of future performance, eg I would be astounded if she happens to drop 72 points again in this cycle and when you're monitoring as closely as you are you can manage anything that crops up anyway :cat:
 
Hi Tina

Wow....lovely numbers for Sami!!! Good job shooting the 2u.

Sami is not newly diagnosed so under the TR protocol, she doesn't earn a reduction until she goes below 40 once and then you would reduce her by 0.25u. The other option, in order to keep her in better numbers longer, is to reduce her after three times between 40-50 by 0.25u. It's whichever comes first so if she drops below 40, but has only been between 40-50 twice, you should reduce by 0.25u. Of course, the other reduction method is spending 7 days in mostly normal (green) numbers.

Hope she continues to do well!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top