2/4 Zoot! AMPS=184; +5=223; +7=238, PMPS=253; +3=183

Cinnie Cole

Member Since 2019
Last night he went into the green for one test. I am not increasing his dose per TR instruction "when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing."

Does this mean I start counting the 10 cycles from today as the 1st cycle or continue counting from 6th cycle?

Yesterday's thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-3-zoot-amps-162-4-175-pmps-182-4-106-6-96.225155/

Thanks!
I’m interested in seeing the answer to this question, too
 
A lot of things factor into your decision on counting cycles - from 6 to 10 cycles - for me it was my ability to be at home to test that dictated whether or not I would increase after 6 cycles.

I had to get someone aggressive with Luci last Summer/Fall because she would toss a green out and then languish for the following days - I counted off 6 cycles and since I work from home and have DH to help me in the evenings, I'd increase.

It's a matter of getting to know your cat and how he responds to insulin. It requires a fairly consistent amount of testing - I test about every 2-3 hours (however currently we're dealing with a lot of illness, so things aren't normal in our household, hence Luci's higher numbers)...but if you look back to when things are normal, increases are every 6 cycles - plenty of testing....every cat is different...but it looks like Zoot is making progress. Those nice blue starts are a good indication. I hope you can catch some more greens during his mid-cycle :)
 
she would toss a green out and then languish for the following days

if you look back to when things are normal, increases are every 6 cycles - plenty of testing....every cat is different...but it looks like Zoot is making progress. Those nice blue starts are a good indication. I hope you can catch some more greens during his mid-cycle :)

Thanks - so I think I will continue to see what he does since his green last night was 96. Maybe in another three days I will have a better sense.

Since I see his numbers slowly dropping, I would rather be slow and sure they are trending downward than increase the dose and rush the process (when his current dose might actually be best for him). Plus he is doing so well with other signs (lots of activity, drinking and peeing less, great appetite) that I feel this dose is working for the time being. I don't know that my opinions reflect the TR method - ultimately, I am just not someone that will aggressively treat him if it causes major swings in values and overall health.
 
Back
Top