2/7/20 Smudge AMPS 645 +3 657 +6 462 +9 353 +11.5 313 Pm +2 381 PM+6 246 wow! so low

Good luck. Are you testing ketones? Any dry food being given?

You might want to update your signature with food your giving and now on lev, so we don't keep asking.
 
It's hard to tell this early whether numbers will keep going down. It takes 5-7 days for the depot to build completely when you first start with a depot insulin, though you should start to see some more action within a few days. At the end of 4 cycles on this dose, we can decide if an increase is needed, rather than waiting for the depot to completely fill.
 
I was asking about the down as I didn't think it would dropping so low yet since I thought the depot had to build first.

As long as ya'll don't see any problems with the numbers dropping so fast, I'll try to stop freaking out.
 
Welcome to the LB&L forum! Hope to see your avatar soon :) Love the name...I presume Smudge is a black cat??
 
Ok....I think my biggest worry/concern with the depot insulins is what if the cat doesn't eat dinner, so has no food rise for blood sugar. I'm used to my cats eating only 2x/day, and ever since diagnosis she's been more of a nibble at meal time plus nibbles later so I'm currently out of touch with what a regular meal is like for her.

What is the protocol if the cat doesn't eat a meal as expected? In the evenings I could keep trying, in the morning when I have to go to work it's not as flexible.

Just wondering since I don't remember anything specific about that. I tend to like to be over prepared.
 
Love the picture! Such cute facial markings. :)

With the depot insulins, you want to make sure they have some food on board before onset. With Levemir, that is typically 4 hours after the shot. With my girl and her later onset, I had 5 hours to get food into her. Will you be able to get a +4 tonight?

Grazing is fine. For a work morning, you can either leave out to eat, or use an autofeeder. We do suggest to new people that they try to remove food a couple hours before preshot, so that number isn't influenced by food.
 
Personally am not a fan of Fortiflora. It’s a single strain of probiotics with “animal digest”. With Levemir, food does not have to be eaten right away. Having said that, I have used crumbled freeze dried meat on top as an appetizer/enticement.
 
Personally am not a fan of Fortiflora. It’s a single strain of probiotics with “animal digest”. With Levemir, food does not have to be eaten right away. Having said that, I have used crumbled freeze dried meat on top as an appetizer/enticement.
Ok. Good to know! Thanks.
 
So PM +6 is the lowest number I've seen from her so far and I'm getting a little freaked out. I know we're still oceans away from hypo territory, but I'm used to the lowest being in the 500s, so a 200s reading is just weird for me. Was this what everyone expected with starting at 3U?
 
I should have asked more about how low we expected to get. These low numbers are a good thing....I need to remember that.
 
Cats are notoriously unpredictable. :) However, there is odd time when cats get a better than expected reaction to a new insulin. I thought since Smudge didn’t show that going from Vetsulin to Prozinc, that she wouldn’t going to Levemir.

Yellow is a good sign. How is Smudge reacting?

Tomorrow, can you get a +4 test? It would be good data to try to pinpoint her onset, or when the insulin starts working.

Can’t remember if we asked this yet, but you are using U-100 syringes now with the Levemir?
 
Back
Top