Millie and Cooper
Member Since 2015
Hi all,
My 14-year old baby Cooper (in my profile pic) was diagnosed with diabetes March 29th. He is complicated because he was also diagnosed with Stage 2 kidney disease about 3 weeks before that. From what I understand, these two diseases together can create somewhat of a vicious cycle and make regulation harder.
Let me give you a little more medical history info. Cooper got a nasty GI virus from a kitten we adopted at the end of 2012. He had awful diarrhea and vomiting for months, and was finally diagnosed with IBD via biopsy in March 2013. He was then started on the steroid Prednisolone and it took about a year to get him off of that officially. That was in about March 2014 when he got off that. He did really great until early this year when I started noticing the extra peeing and drinking. He went for his annual visit at the beginning of March and was diagnosed with stage 2 kidney disease. His glucose values were totally fine on that blood work. My vet had us also do another short course of the Prednisolone because she saw pretty bad inflammation on some chest xrays (asthma). Well he still seemed so off for a few weeks, so we kept pushing. Had an ultrasound done which showed dilated kidneys, which indicated that he may have passed some stones OR had some kinf od infection. We had another urinalysis and culture done, which showed glucose in his urine. Went into the vet the next day and she confirmed the diabetes diagnosis with a blood test there. I feel like that short course of Prednisolone may have just thrown him over the edge after being off of it for so long. I wish we'd never done it.
We started him on Lantus and have been doing home testing since the start. We use the AT meter. I know that is not preferred here, but that's what we use for now so no need to tell me you like the Relion better!
We tried Lantus for about a month but he was bouncing all over the place. Oh, he does eat low carb food. After his diagnosis, we made sure everything was as low carb as he will possibly eat and that doesn't seem to have had much of an impact on his numbers. I had read so much about Levemir and convinced my vet that we should switch to that, so he's been on that for about a month.
Here is his SS: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1q2Gi9kO7CAHAFXBfLprNOnQMXODoblsBDha5d8Kf3T8/edit?usp=sharing
He really has not had good numbers on Levemir yet. However we did see a little progress earlier this week when we went up to 3 units BID. So following the protocol on here, we upped the dose to 3.5 units after 3 days because his nadir was still over 300. He has had awful numbers at 3.5. I know you can expect to see some bouncing when you increase the dose and may temporarily see higher numbers. But these just suck and I don't really see how they're going to get better in another shot or two.
Do I stay at this dose for another 2 shots to see? And then what? Or should we go ahead and go back down to 3 units for 6+ shots and then maybe increase to 3.25? Maybe 3 was too little, but 3.5 was too much. Maybe Levemir isn't working for him? He has a vet appt this Saturday AM for a recheck. Should we go back to Lantus? Should we try ProZinc?
I am stressed and am second guessing every decision I'm making about his dosing. Anybody else on here with a kidney disease/diabetes cat who has advice?
Any suggestions are welcome!
My 14-year old baby Cooper (in my profile pic) was diagnosed with diabetes March 29th. He is complicated because he was also diagnosed with Stage 2 kidney disease about 3 weeks before that. From what I understand, these two diseases together can create somewhat of a vicious cycle and make regulation harder.
Let me give you a little more medical history info. Cooper got a nasty GI virus from a kitten we adopted at the end of 2012. He had awful diarrhea and vomiting for months, and was finally diagnosed with IBD via biopsy in March 2013. He was then started on the steroid Prednisolone and it took about a year to get him off of that officially. That was in about March 2014 when he got off that. He did really great until early this year when I started noticing the extra peeing and drinking. He went for his annual visit at the beginning of March and was diagnosed with stage 2 kidney disease. His glucose values were totally fine on that blood work. My vet had us also do another short course of the Prednisolone because she saw pretty bad inflammation on some chest xrays (asthma). Well he still seemed so off for a few weeks, so we kept pushing. Had an ultrasound done which showed dilated kidneys, which indicated that he may have passed some stones OR had some kinf od infection. We had another urinalysis and culture done, which showed glucose in his urine. Went into the vet the next day and she confirmed the diabetes diagnosis with a blood test there. I feel like that short course of Prednisolone may have just thrown him over the edge after being off of it for so long. I wish we'd never done it.
We started him on Lantus and have been doing home testing since the start. We use the AT meter. I know that is not preferred here, but that's what we use for now so no need to tell me you like the Relion better!
Here is his SS: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1q2Gi9kO7CAHAFXBfLprNOnQMXODoblsBDha5d8Kf3T8/edit?usp=sharing
He really has not had good numbers on Levemir yet. However we did see a little progress earlier this week when we went up to 3 units BID. So following the protocol on here, we upped the dose to 3.5 units after 3 days because his nadir was still over 300. He has had awful numbers at 3.5. I know you can expect to see some bouncing when you increase the dose and may temporarily see higher numbers. But these just suck and I don't really see how they're going to get better in another shot or two.
Do I stay at this dose for another 2 shots to see? And then what? Or should we go ahead and go back down to 3 units for 6+ shots and then maybe increase to 3.25? Maybe 3 was too little, but 3.5 was too much. Maybe Levemir isn't working for him? He has a vet appt this Saturday AM for a recheck. Should we go back to Lantus? Should we try ProZinc?
I am stressed and am second guessing every decision I'm making about his dosing. Anybody else on here with a kidney disease/diabetes cat who has advice?
Any suggestions are welcome!
Last edited:
