24/1/15 Lucy AMPS=254 Increased dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Voula

Member Since 2014
Hi everyone. I decided to increase Lucy's insulin from 2.75f units to 3 units. I am a bit anxious about it as she had a low of 2.3/41 on 3 units before but we are not seeing improved glucose levels at 2.75f units. I thought 2.75f units for the past few days was only one drop of insulin under 3 units so I thought I would increase again to 3 units. The vet last week said stay at 2.75f units for a while yet and I did but we are not seeing much improvement with that dose. I am going to start Lucy on some supplements for possible arthritis as maybe she has some pain which is impacting on her glucose levels too. Lucy's teeth issues are all attended to and she does not have any urinary tract infection so now I think we need to address her possible arthritis and possible diabetic neuropathy issues.
My previous post:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/our-update.131777/
 
Voula

I think increasing the dose was a good idea. You've held it long enough and she isn't really doing much. You're doing a good job of grabbing the tests. Our modified protocol has us holding the dose at least ten cycles if nadirs are below 200 but Lucy has just dipped her toes in that range and I think you've got room for an increase to 3u.

I'm sorry we didn't catch your post earlier. You can always just type "bump" in a new text box in your condo and it will bump it to the top where we can see it.

Good luck with the increase!
 
Voula

I think increasing the dose was a good idea. You've held it long enough and she isn't really doing much. You're doing a good job of grabbing the tests. Our modified protocol has us holding the dose at least ten cycles if nadirs are below 200 but Lucy has just dipped her toes in that range and I think you've got room for an increase to 3u.

I'm sorry we didn't catch your post earlier. You can always just type "bump" in a new text box in your condo and it will bump it to the top where we can see it.

Good luck with the increase!
Thank you so much. I gave a full 2.75f units for four cycles and previous to that for twelve cycles though some of those doses were not the full 2.75f units due to the plungers in the syringes being difficult to move to get the dose correct. I am anxious about Lucy's glucose levels dropping too low on 3 units but I will monitor her carefully and I am home most of the time. As I said the past four doses have been one drop short of 3 units and the glucose levels are still too high. I can see though when we get lower readings they are often followed by higher readings. Thank you again.
 
Good luck with the increase. I hope it brings some more green.

Cats insulin needs can change. What brought Lucy low three weeks ago might not do the same this time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top