25/1/15 Lucy AMPS=272 +3=221 +6=176 +9=155 PMPS=148 +2=126 +3=119 +4=155 +5=121/148 +6=158

Status
Not open for further replies.

Voula

Member Since 2014
After the 3rd dose of 3 units we have a reading below 200 again.
I am adding my question to this first post to save everyone reading the whole thread. How often do I need to test blood glucose if we are at +15 and glucose is slowly going down? Is there a risk of hypoglycemia at almost 16 hours after the AM insulin dose? Thank you. I am feeding a teaspoon or two of low carb food at each test because Lucy becomes stressed if I test too often without a bit of food.
My previous post:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/24-1-15-lucy-amps-254-increased-dose.131946/
 
Last edited:
Hi Serryn. Yes even though I am happy to see lower glucose levels I get anxious too.
 
Our +9 was 8.6/155 so we could be facing a PMPS of under 150. I have never dosed under 150. The lowest I have dosed is 164. It is night and I am very tired with a stressful situation in the family and we are on a late dosing schedule of midday and midnight at the moment. So tonight is not the night to dose under 150. I lack courage at the moment and this is how it is. :nailbiting: :) I know I have to get brave but instead I feel exhausted at the moment.
 
I have decided to wait till we get a reading of over 150 before giving Lucy her insulin dose. It is probably the wrong decision but I am not brave enough yet and as I said exhausted emotionally at this time. It may also be a good chance to get back to a better dosing schedule as we went off schedule when Lucy had her dental a week and a half ago.
 
When you are stalling, you should test every 20-30 minutes without feeding, until they start rising. The risk with stalling too long is that they can start dropping without food.

That streak of blues looked good today. Lucy will get back on track soon enough. It looks like you skipped.
 
Thank you Wendy so much. I have been feeding Lucy a teaspoon of food with every test every two hours and she is continuing to drop. It is now +15 since the AM dose. Is there any risk of hypoglycemia now? Shouldn't the previous dose of insulin have worn off? I just tested and gave a small amount of low carb food. I guess I should have not fed Lucy and tested more often from what you said. But her glucose levels are continuing to drop even with some food. She just got off the bed and acted like she wanted to vomit which worried me so I tested her glucose and it is not in hypoglycemic range. It was 6.6/119. Thank you again.
 
Given where Lucy's blood sugar is and her rate of dropping, I wouldn't worry about a hypo now. Just give her a good dinner and you can go to sleep.
 
I know I should dose low to stay low but not brave enough yet given that 3 units is the highest dose we have had and given the dental cleaning and tooth extractions a week or so ago as well as Lucy seeming a little quiet at the moment and not overly meowing for breakfast though she ate about a tablespoon of low carb food. She also had an attempt at vomiting a few hours ago and Lucy rarely vomits. So I am going to hold off on insulin until her readings are a little higher and until she eats a good breakfast and I am sure she won't vomit. I know tight regulation says you can dose at the levels we have at the moment but I lack the courage to do so right now. It is now nearly 19 hours since the last insulin dose and we are still in blue numbers which is unusual but positive.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top