25/6/15 Lucy PMPS 113 +4 74 +7 52 +8 61 +9 68 +10 92 AMPS 103 +2 169 +6 230

Status
Not open for further replies.

Voula

Member Since 2014
Our PMPS is after midnight at the moment in case anyone is confused about the date. :) It seems the increase in dose to 2.25 units is working well as we are back in green and blue numbers all of yesterday and this morning too. My question is that I have an appointment just after AMPS and I will be back home at +2 or thereabouts. If Lucy's glucose levels stay in green numbers I will be quite anxious leaving her though the insulin won't start taking effect until about +3 from past experience. When we have had drops at +2 it has been when a bounce is clearing and this isn't happening now. Her glucose levels have remained steady through the night in greens with low carb food at each test. I just fed Lucy her breakfast and I won't give her any more food now until AMPS two and a half hours from now so that the AMPS test will be unaffected by food. I have never given Lucy insulin when she has had green numbers and then gone out. I could delay giving Lucy her insulin until +14 or I could give her insulin and leave some higher carb food out. I will only be five minutes away and will leave the icam on and can come home at any time. I guess it depends what her glucose level is at AMPS as it may well be too low to give insulin then. I don't know how anyone does this and works full time away from home as I would be so anxious all the time. :) I can change the appointment but I may as well wait and see what the glucose level is at AMPS before doing that. The appointment is not urgent. I decided to pamper myself a bit after my surgery last week so I booked a hairdresser appointment. :) I could always come running home with colour in my hair or the haircut not properly done. :joyful: Thank you.
My previous post:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/question-about-dose.139825/#post-1442304
 
I came home once with color on my hair to check Max. The shop is just a block away. I should have had my hairdresser put something over my head and then a towel. I got lucky and didn't run into any neighbors bud did get a little color on the leather headrest I hope you get to the appointment.
 
I came home once with color on my hair to check Max. The shop is just a block away. I should have had my hairdresser put something over my head and then a towel. I got lucky and didn't run into any neighbors bud did get a little color on the leather headrest I hope you get to the appointment.
Thank you Elise. Your post made me smile and yes I can see myself doing the same. :) The hairdresser is very close and I could even run home if I needed to but I will drive there and back. I thought of taking a beanie (a hat) with me just in case. :) Lucy's glucose level has gone up after a big low carb breakfast so we will see what the AMPS glucose level is before I decide what to do. Thank you again. It is good to know that you have come home from the hairdresser to check on Max so if I do that I will know someone else has done the same. :D:cool:
 
The day I had to come home Max was low for several hours. When I came home at +7 I think he was just in the low 50's. I now make hair appointments at least at +7. I usually walk there but drove that day.
 
Hi Voula,
Good to see you.
I will be in the same position this coming Saturday with a hair appt. I have put it off for so long now my hair is so long.
Can't advise you either way......I think you need to do it the way you are most comfortable with.
Good luck and tell us how it all goes!
Bron
 
Hi Voula,
Good to see you.
I will be in the same position this coming Saturday with a hair appt. I have put it off for so long now my hair is so long.
Can't advise you either way......I think you need to do it the way you are most comfortable with.
Good luck and tell us how it all goes!
Bron
Thank you Bron. My hair is cut and coloured and Lucy is fine too. :cat::)
 
I may have slightly overdone the fancy feast grilled tuna as the +2 reading is much higher. Oh well Lucy thoroughly enjoyed it. :cat::)
 
Good call Voula, I'm glad you shot on time and got your hair done - all that testing and knowing your cat means you can do things like that :) but I also know how hard it would have been for you to do so well done and a big bravery award to you :) hope your hair is gorgeous :kiss:
 
Good call Voula, I'm glad you shot on time and got your hair done - all that testing and knowing your cat means you can do things like that :) but I also know how hard it would have been for you to do so well done and a big bravery award to you :) hope your hair is gorgeous :kiss:
Thank you Serryn. I know that Lucy does not have steep drops in her glucose levels by +2 unless a bounce is clearing as I said and yes all that testing does pay off and helps me to make good decisions. Lucy also helped by staying in front of the icam for the whole appointment so I could see her relaxing and that helped me to be less anxious too. It really is a step at a time gradually doing things like giving insulin at lower and lower glucose levels as you can see it is safe to do so. So today was a little step forward for me again. And like Elise said you can always run home with dye in your hair too. :woot: I was thinking while I was at the hairdresser of the things we do when our cats have diabetes and are on insulin and it made me smile thinking of all of us and the things we do. Admittedly some of us more than others. :) Thank you again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top