26/4 Purrdy AMPS 198 dosecrease +2 193 +5 140

Status
Not open for further replies.

purrdydolly

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

Recap:
AMPS 180 +3 112 +6 86 :D +10 112
PMPS 121 +3 106 +5 103

Nice church going numbers for mum this morning :cool: but unusual for Purrdy not to have had a significant drop. I guess Purrdy didn't want to go to church - like me pretending to be asleep when I was a kid :oops::rolleyes:

Mum is getting a bit freaked out by how high his dose is getting (she's got a mental block on 5u and we've just gone up to 4.75u :nailbiting:) and his vet has raised the idea that there's something else going on too. From my second hand info I think the vet is talking IAA - she mentioned having to send blood overseas for tests. Correct me if I'm wrong but isn't the only treatment for IAA more insulin, i.e. just keep following the protocol. I don't see any point having the (no doubt very expensive) test done if that's the case. I'm not as concerned at this point anyway as I have the advantage of looking at other kitties spreadsheets (I'm thinking Jenks and Sheba) but it does seem weird that the doses just keep going stale on him :confused: We might have a little chia seed experiment next week, I don't see the harm in giving it a go...

@Ann & Tess , @Chris & China , @Tiger and Ruth after a week I am calling the crumble kitty litter experiment a success :) my favourite part is no dust. It absorbs everything and clumps nicely but not as hard as the clay so may not be as suitable where there are multiple cats sharing trays or the deposits aren't cleaned out regularly. I think the next kitty in would easily break up any pee clumps that were already there when scratching around to make their own deposit. If you're going to give it a try make sure you get the vegetarian crumble so kitty isn't tempted to eat it.

The less gluiness of it has been a bonus for us in relation to accidents over the edge of the tray as it's much easier to clean up. That will hopefully be a thing of the past soon anyway. I bought a big 60lt purple tub to make the high sided tray from last weekend (a whole $12) and will make it up today or tomorrow.

Forgot to charge the ipad last night so won't be able to make too many visits before running out of battery on the rabbit run this morning but I will make up for it on her evening run. Have a great night everyone - surf kitties surf :cool::D
 
Yesterday

Recap:
AMPS 180 +3 112 +6 86 :D +10 112
PMPS 121 +3 106 +5 103

Nice church going numbers for mum this morning :cool: but unusual for Purrdy not to have had a significant drop. I guess Purrdy didn't want to go to church - like me pretending to be asleep when I was a kid :oops::rolleyes:

Mum is getting a bit freaked out by how high his dose is getting (she's got a mental block on 5u and we've just gone up to 4.75u :nailbiting:) and his vet has raised the idea that there's something else going on too. From my second hand info I think the vet is talking IAA - she mentioned having to send blood overseas for tests. Correct me if I'm wrong but isn't the only treatment for IAA more insulin, i.e. just keep following the protocol. I don't see any point having the (no doubt very expensive) test done if that's the case. I'm not as concerned at this point anyway as I have the advantage of looking at other kitties spreadsheets (I'm thinking Jenks and Sheba) but it does seem weird that the doses just keep going stale on him :confused: We might have a little chia seed experiment next week, I don't see the harm in giving it a go...

@Ann & Tess , @Chris & China , @Tiger and Ruth after a week I am calling the crumble kitty litter experiment a success :) my favourite part is no dust. It absorbs everything and clumps nicely but not as hard as the clay so may not be as suitable where there are multiple cats sharing trays or the deposits aren't cleaned out regularly. I think the next kitty in would easily break up any pee clumps that were already there when scratching around to make their own deposit. If you're going to give it a try make sure you get the vegetarian crumble so kitty isn't tempted to eat it.

The less gluiness of it has been a bonus for us in relation to accidents over the edge of the tray as it's much easier to clean up. That will hopefully be a thing of the past soon anyway. I bought a big 60lt purple tub to make the high sided tray from last weekend (a whole $12) and will make it up today or tomorrow.

Forgot to charge the ipad last night so won't be able to make too many visits before running out of battery on the rabbit run this morning but I will make up for it on her evening run. Have a great night everyone - surf kitties surf :cool::D
Hi Serryn. I hadn't heard of chia seed for diabetes until you mentioned it in your post. I have been giving my Lucy green lipped mussel extract in a capsule called Osteosupport by PAWS Blackmores and this is for arthritis but it also is used by people for diabetes. Lucy has been doing better with her glucose levels but I don't know if the Osteosupport has contributed to the improvement. But as the vet said it won't hurt and could help and so I will continue giving it to Lucy and a bonus is she loves the taste too. Lucy seems to be walking better and has been jumping up on the bed and couch again. Though I think we may also need to look at some medication in the future too. I am giving her zobaline for possible diabetic neuropathy too. All the best for Purrdy's increased dose.
 
Can't wait to see the new LB. And purple too!
It is frustrating when you think you have the dose worked out and it goes pear shaped:banghead:
Good luck with dosecrease.
What are the chia seeds for? I must have missed earlier info on them. We eat them but I hadn't thought of them for Sheba.
 
Some kitties will do anything to skip out of church LOL! :p Good luck with the dosecrease- hugs to mum though. For the longest time, I could not comprehend the high dose thing,but Wendy said it, they need what they need. The thing about Purrdy, he doesn't ever get really high numbers- it's a real mystery SS for sure! Thanks for the info on the litter- I am ready for a switch! I hate posting from my tablet and it's even worse with the phone. :rolleyes:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top