Girlie's mom
Member Since 2017
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-amps-706-pmps-331-200-6.181176/#post-2007645
I'm in Australia, so this is my morning (3 pm est US), hence the new post. Have I put the link to the previous post in the right way?
This morning in Oz she is 194 (10.8) for her AMPS. In the FAQ, it says "Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value." I want her to get 1 U am/pm so we can see what's going on, so I guess I should check in a half hour/hour and if she's gone up, give her 1 U: would that be best? Or should I just give her 1 U even with under 200?
She really seems to drop during the day, but then go up at night - or at least that's her latest reaction (since 16 July). A while ago, the vet had said to give her the usual shot unless she's lower than 126 (7), but that makes me nervous in the am as she drops during the day...oh, what to do?
I will be home all day, so I can monitor. I just want to avoid having to give her glucose today if I can as I've done that 2 days in a row now: perhaps that's okay, though? I did get some HC wet food, so I can try that first.
New of note: her appetite has really gone down again (even with Mirtazapine; I'll see about the nausea meds with the vet today). This also makes me uneasy about giving an injection. She only ate 0.17 oz (5g) for breakfast just now.
I'm happy to see blues and yellows - they're just so unexpected for me after black and red for so long; plus she seems to be a diving queen, so I'm unsure re: the dose (even though it's been lowered to 1).
I'm in Australia, so this is my morning (3 pm est US), hence the new post. Have I put the link to the previous post in the right way?
This morning in Oz she is 194 (10.8) for her AMPS. In the FAQ, it says "Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value." I want her to get 1 U am/pm so we can see what's going on, so I guess I should check in a half hour/hour and if she's gone up, give her 1 U: would that be best? Or should I just give her 1 U even with under 200?
She really seems to drop during the day, but then go up at night - or at least that's her latest reaction (since 16 July). A while ago, the vet had said to give her the usual shot unless she's lower than 126 (7), but that makes me nervous in the am as she drops during the day...oh, what to do?
I will be home all day, so I can monitor. I just want to avoid having to give her glucose today if I can as I've done that 2 days in a row now: perhaps that's okay, though? I did get some HC wet food, so I can try that first.
New of note: her appetite has really gone down again (even with Mirtazapine; I'll see about the nausea meds with the vet today). This also makes me uneasy about giving an injection. She only ate 0.17 oz (5g) for breakfast just now.
I'm happy to see blues and yellows - they're just so unexpected for me after black and red for so long; plus she seems to be a diving queen, so I'm unsure re: the dose (even though it's been lowered to 1).
Okay. Let's back up then. Get that next test (+4.5?) and we'll see what's going on.
