Cleocatra
Member Since 2020
Took Cleo to VCA diagnostic hospital in north Dallas last Mon. 2/24. Did a complete blood panel. They put her under to do all tests & ultrasound. Weight= 7.53kg/16.6lbs. BG reading by lab shows 420 at mid-day so my test readings w/ Alphatrak2 are good. Do not have the IGF growth hormone test back yet that looks for acromegaly but she is not showing any physical signs in face. Also did ultrasound and image along w/ PSL level shows pancreatitis. Urine shows glucose & protein, no UTI's. Cholesterol is elevated. Ultrasound showed "thickening of small intestine wall" which indicates a bit of irritable bowel. All other blood tests were within normal range. Dr. said to raise lantus to 6u 2x day.
She's been getting 6U for 5 days now and AMPS today is still 452. It's like she's not responding to insulin at all. Her hind legs are weak, she walks a few yards then rests, still squatting in her poop, usually early in morning or evening. On Zobaline 50mg 1x evening meal. Attitude is good, bright and cheerful, wants to be around us all the time, appetite is good but she just lays around. We are keeping her on 1 3/4 can of Purina DM canned and nothing else. We found if we give her Fancy Feast tuna feast (the one w/ good carb #'s) or any other different food, we have a big mess to clean up the next day and she mopes around like she has upset system. So DM it is from here on out. Her thirst has dropped dramatically since we put her on all canned food and that's about the only good thing to report at this time.
I'm very disappointed at this point, not seeing BG#'s coming down while insulin keeps going up. Why is this cat so insulin resistant? Watching her hobble around knowing what's going on inside her is very upsetting and I feel like we are not aggressive enough w/ her treatment while she's slowly declining. Is Lantus not the right stuff? I will give latest curve to the Dr. tomorrow.
She's been getting 6U for 5 days now and AMPS today is still 452. It's like she's not responding to insulin at all. Her hind legs are weak, she walks a few yards then rests, still squatting in her poop, usually early in morning or evening. On Zobaline 50mg 1x evening meal. Attitude is good, bright and cheerful, wants to be around us all the time, appetite is good but she just lays around. We are keeping her on 1 3/4 can of Purina DM canned and nothing else. We found if we give her Fancy Feast tuna feast (the one w/ good carb #'s) or any other different food, we have a big mess to clean up the next day and she mopes around like she has upset system. So DM it is from here on out. Her thirst has dropped dramatically since we put her on all canned food and that's about the only good thing to report at this time.
I'm very disappointed at this point, not seeing BG#'s coming down while insulin keeps going up. Why is this cat so insulin resistant? Watching her hobble around knowing what's going on inside her is very upsetting and I feel like we are not aggressive enough w/ her treatment while she's slowly declining. Is Lantus not the right stuff? I will give latest curve to the Dr. tomorrow.
