3/1 Dimmu AMPS: 414, +4.25: 340, +9.25: 430, PMPS: 423

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Dimmu & KL, Mar 1, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dimmu & KL

    Dimmu & KL Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2017
    Last condo

    Dimmu's BG's are still high after the dental surgery. He's less flat then before the surgery but his highs are much higher and the lows are not much lower.... :(

    He's bleeding from his upper incisor wounds. Every time he cleans himself, he rubs against the stitches and the wounds will go open. He still enjoys eating, and is OK active (ANTI JINX!), tho. The dental specialist said if he is not "dripping blood" constantly, we shouldn't be too concerned, but it's been almost a week. He is bleeding less, but still. If it stays like that, we'll go to the vet tomorrow. Has anyone had experience with incisor extractions and recovery?

    He's also constipated now, his belly is pretty puffed up and yesterday he was making many unsuccessful rounds to the litterbox. He's passing stools, but very little bit, about 1/4 of his normal amount. I increased his aloe vera juice to 1 1/3 tbs (normally 1 tbs) twice a day, and gave him 1/4 egg yolk/day. I ordered Miralax, but it's not here yet. Anything else I can do in the mean time? Could antibiotics cause constipation?
     
  2. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I found that it took Neko about 10 days after surgery for the inflammation to go down and her numbers to begin dropping. But that was the second dental when she was more regulated so I could tell. Her first dental didn't do much for the numbers.

    Usually Abs cause the opposite problem. Is Dimmu on probiotics?
     
  3. Dimmu & KL

    Dimmu & KL Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2017
    He's on RenewLife Ultimate flora 15bil. 2/3 cap twice a day, and I increased him to 1.5 cap twice a day during AB treatment. His AB treatment ended last night, and I will keep giving him on the increased dose for one more week. Should I bump up the dose even more? Would it help his constipation?

    He's bleeding less now, no new blood stains found, which is good!
     
  4. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    When Cinco had a problem with constipation, I would give him 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of canola or coconut oil in his food. It seemed to get things moving.

    I'm glad the bleeding seems to be letting up. That must be very disconcerting for you to see.
     
  5. Dimmu & KL

    Dimmu & KL Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2017
    Thank you, @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey. Gonna give coconut oil a try, he just made a few more failed attempts, only passing gas, poor guy.
     
  6. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Hi there :cool:

    My Black Kitty had 2 dentals before he went into remission. He had about 8 extractions the first and several more with the second. Both dramatically influenced BG however in both cases BG didn’t start to really move down until about 10 days post dental.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page