Stacy & Asia
Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-9-asia-pmps-166-3-156.192341/
Didn't get around to posting yesterday, nothing eventful happening. Asia is trucking along, being a cat. We are nearing the end of her 6 weeks of antibiotics. Vet thinks 8 weeks is overkill, I sure hope she's right about that. Asia has tolerated the antibiotics well enough that I'd rather do the 8 weeks than risk 6 weeks being just under what is needed and being right back where we started some time later, likely with more resistant bacteria.
This reduction is looking like a failed reduction thus far, trying to be patient as I drained the depot a bit and want to give it 6 cycles to build back up, but the trend is not looking good, she will be pink in an hour if she isn't already.
This has been a recent pattern of hers, waffling between doses where the lower isn't good enough and the higher is great for a time, until she builds up momentum and the depot is overly full and she earns a reduction. I wonder if it makes any sense to keep her on the working dose and intentionally drain the depot a bit every 8 cycles or so (or when I see the momentum building, which is apparent) to see if she can maintain without careening downhill into lime greens? Or I might try the 3 under 50, but I don't see how that will change much as a reduction would decidedly happen in short order if the depot was overfull regardless, right? Does having multiple under 50s on a dose make a reduction more likely to stick? Not sure why it would, but since it's in the protocol, I guess some have had success with it?
Seems to me, strictly following TR would have her be at a good dose for a time, earn a reduction, be at an insufficient dose for a time until raising it right back up again. Alternating 8 cycles (ish) good numbers and 6-8 cycles of higher numbers, rinse, repeat. To what end? I realize she can change things up on me at any time, but until that time, as long as she's waffling, what's to be done about it?
This is her first reduction on Lev, so I'm giving it due time to see what happens, but just musing on what to do if this pattern continues like it did with Lantus as I don't see how it would be an insulin specific issue.
Didn't get around to posting yesterday, nothing eventful happening. Asia is trucking along, being a cat. We are nearing the end of her 6 weeks of antibiotics. Vet thinks 8 weeks is overkill, I sure hope she's right about that. Asia has tolerated the antibiotics well enough that I'd rather do the 8 weeks than risk 6 weeks being just under what is needed and being right back where we started some time later, likely with more resistant bacteria.
This reduction is looking like a failed reduction thus far, trying to be patient as I drained the depot a bit and want to give it 6 cycles to build back up, but the trend is not looking good, she will be pink in an hour if she isn't already.
This has been a recent pattern of hers, waffling between doses where the lower isn't good enough and the higher is great for a time, until she builds up momentum and the depot is overly full and she earns a reduction. I wonder if it makes any sense to keep her on the working dose and intentionally drain the depot a bit every 8 cycles or so (or when I see the momentum building, which is apparent) to see if she can maintain without careening downhill into lime greens? Or I might try the 3 under 50, but I don't see how that will change much as a reduction would decidedly happen in short order if the depot was overfull regardless, right? Does having multiple under 50s on a dose make a reduction more likely to stick? Not sure why it would, but since it's in the protocol, I guess some have had success with it?
Seems to me, strictly following TR would have her be at a good dose for a time, earn a reduction, be at an insufficient dose for a time until raising it right back up again. Alternating 8 cycles (ish) good numbers and 6-8 cycles of higher numbers, rinse, repeat. To what end? I realize she can change things up on me at any time, but until that time, as long as she's waffling, what's to be done about it?
This is her first reduction on Lev, so I'm giving it due time to see what happens, but just musing on what to do if this pattern continues like it did with Lantus as I don't see how it would be an insulin specific issue.



