3/15 Milo AMPS 257 +5 223 +9 255 PMPS 319 +2 305 +3.5 281 +4.5 261 +6 230 +7 173

Status
Not open for further replies.

milosmommy

Member Since 2009
Milo yesterday

I slept through feeder going off, so I quickly got the +5 reading 30 min after he ate. Will get a good +6 since he won't be eating.

This is 2nd cycle on 4.5u so interested in seeing where we go.

I have a question. This is start of week 8 on Levemir. We still haven't found that magic dose. It seems so many are on Lantus. Is there a difference between the two that might be worth switching. I know both depot insulin. It seems so many on Lantus have steadier longer lasting nadir.
 
Good morning, I don't know what the difference is between Lantus and Levemir, sorry. I know you stated that he was previously on Prozinc, have you asked your vet about the differences and what the options might be?
 
Vet hadn't even done Levemir before so we convinced him to try that. I know some here have switched between lantus and levemir.

I know he'd read up on, but I was trying to inform myself. I didn't even know if they were that different.
 
Here is a post you might want to bookmark: "Where Can I Find?" If you look in the first section under three of the stickies (one is taking care of your insulin) there is a link that explains the difference between Lantus and Levemir. It's a great post and explains it really well.

Usually we suggest people give 6 months on an insulin before considering switching. I just think you haven't gotten to the right dose yet. Lev is an excellent insulin - I only used Lantus but in retrospect have wished that we'd switched to Lev. The reason I didn't was because of its later nadir - most cats nadir around +5-6ish on Lantus and most nadir about 3-4 hours later on Lev. I would encourage you to stick with the Lev and maybe be a little more aggressive with the dosing, still following the protocol but perhaps leaning towards 6 cycles and increasing the dose until you're seeing green.
 
I too would encourage you to stick with Levemir, at least until you find the right dose. and give it a chance. I've done both Lantus and Levemir and much prefer Levemir for Neko. She was a lot bouncier on Lantus. When she's on the right dose for Lev, she can hover around the same numbers for hours - which reduces the amount of overnight testing. Even though Lev has a later nadir and she's getting better numbers now, I'm getting more, longer stretches of sleep with Neko on Lev. I'm not saying you'll find the same with Milo, but we've not had many people switch from Lev to Lantus. However, ECID and the right insulin is the one that works for your cat. I like Julie's idea of increasing faster. The protocol says to wait 6-10 cycles for blue nadirs so you can wait just 6 cycles per dose.

Lastly, Lantus has an acidic base, Levemir does not. We had reports of kitties on higher doses objecting when they get their Lantus injection. Suki commented how Crystal stopped biting her when she switched to Levemir. And it doesn't have to be that high a dose. Marje noticed Gracie was sensitive to Lantus and she is on a relatively small dose. A number of people have also noticed personality improvements when they switched to Levemir from Lantus. It didn't make any difference to us, but I do think Neko likes being flatter.

About today - sometimes flat yellow cycles mean an exciting cycle to follow. What ya planning tonight Milo?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top