3.18.15 Zoey 466 INCREASE?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Looks like it's time to increase Zoey's dose again, Rose

You don't want him sitting in those higher numbers any longer than 3 days (6 cycles) since that can cause some glucose toxicity

Happy Hump Day!!
 
Hi, Chris!

I'm probably confused but I thought @julie & punkin (ga) told me not to be surprised if I saw a bounce and to not change doses unless it stayed in the 300s/400s for at least 3 complete cycles. Is it not considered a bounce because it's gone flat again, even though she did dip to the 200s 3 cycles ago? Also, I changed food to the Friskie's Special Diet Turkey dinner from the Special Diet Whitefish dinner. We were going to switch it back to the whitefish tonight and see if the food was maybe causing the higher numbers in the cycle. Do you think the food could be causing it?

I hate seeing those high numbers because it is obvious how it effects her so I'm willing to dosecrease if that's what y'all think we should do.
 
If she bounced off the 187, she's had enough time to clear any bounce and she still isn't coming back down, so if she were mine, I'd probably go ahead and increase, but if you have time before your PMPS shot, you might want to edit your title line and add something like "increase?"....or "dose question?" to get some more opinions

This morning was the 6th cycle after the 187 and that's usually enough time to tell if they're going to come back down from a bounce

One of the best things about this board is getting lots of other opinions to help make decisions!
 
When you're watching for a bounce to clear - look at the lower number that set the bounce off, (the 187 on 3/15) then count forward three days. That would've been mid-cycle today. If she didn't come down by then, then you can increase. Which is what Chris was suggesting. I think it's fine for you to increase tomorrow morning. You've got nadirs in the 200's for most of the cycles, so per the TR protocol, you would increase by 0.25u.

If you possibly can, try to get at least one mid-cycle test in the pm cycle. looking at the spreadsheet, i'm wondering if she cleared the bounce last night and if today's higher numbers are a whole new bounce. Hard to say, but i do think she needs an increase.
 
I third that - kitty needs more juice.

And please do get that before bed test each night because there is a question mark around what may have happened last night but I suspect it was like today's cycle or maybe just to yellows. I don't think you were looking at blues or even greens but without that test we just don't know for sure. Particularly since we don't have too much data on Zoey yet.
 
Good luck with the increase.

As Dr. Pierson has mentioned before, don't get too hung up on the precise %carb of a food. There can be differences in the supply or manufacturing that can make a particular can be up or down a bit in % carbs from what is listed. As long as you are using foods in the same ballpark, you should be fine.
 
2.75 it is; thank you all for checking in! And I'll get more tests. I was giving her a rest from the pokes since she was so high at the start but I can see where more information would be useful. I've added some cooked chicken to her feedings in an effort to bulk it up a bit and get an extra hour out of her to reduce her feedings from 8 times a day to ONLY 6. We'll see how it goes through the night hours. That extra hour of sleep would be something wonderful.

g'night all!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top