3/19 Carbon amps 302 +8 34 Advice

mialia

Member Since 2018
I am SO frustrated. He is IMPOSSIBLE to regulate. There's always new stuff going on, too. He's now on the lowest dose for his hyperthyroid now, and another med for his liver. He spent the night at the vet for being lethargic - they didn't find any cause but a raised WBC. Gave him some antibiotics.

He crashed once at 1.75 but he'd barely gone up there and just got back from the vet so I wasn't sure the reason. Now twice. So obviously I need to go back down to 1.5 but he was high at 1.5. Are there just some cats that will never be below 200?

I'm dealing with the hypo now, and he's fine. eating his gravy and I'll keep testing him. Not my first hypo rodeo with him.

Moving stresses him out and my roommate just moved today so all the boxes and stuff have stressed him.

Last thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-16-carbon-pmps-449.212032/
 
Wow, that scared me! I'm glad you know what to do when a hypo hits. I am so sorry this is being so frustrating for you. Roommates in, roommates out and you having to be gone so much for work. I can't offer any dosing advice but I can send hugs!
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
But, please keep us posted on his numbers.
 
Some kitties BG will skyrocket with stress, some will dive.

No matter, Carbon earned a reduction to 1.5U. See what others say, but I would hold the 1.5U for 8 cycles and be sure to get as many mid-cycle tests as possible (some of his high readings could be bounces but don't know for sure but going from 302 to 34 don't be surprised if he bounces high tomorrow). He should have gone back to 1.5U on 03/17 with the 36 he got at +6.

Sometimes it can take longer for the depot to fill and stabilize (hence the 8 cycles).

Which protocol are you following?

I have no knowledge of hyperthyroid so can't say if and/or how that may factor in.

Really glad you caught the low number and he is eating and numbers are coming up. :bighug::bighug:
 
Hyperthyroidism can make it more difficult to regulate a kitty. Adding the thyroid meds may be breaking though some of the insulin resistance. Good luck with the reduction.
 
Back
Top