? 3/19 Markies numbers are not improving. Need dosing help please.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Silvina

Member Since 2015
This is last thread. Today no vomit.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/markies-with-brown-vomit.174919/#post-1920783

Please girls, look his ss. Mostly pinks. I Know I may need to test more, and less fasting (some days I have to leave to go with mom to the supermarket or doctor and we take a long time from 4 to 5 hours).

But anyway, mostly Im home and his numbers are still pink. Usually Markies was better in 1.25 not in 1.5.. I mean, Markeis has been coming down in numbers, but then things got complicated due to hospitalization due to hemobartonella, then my own stress doing things wrong and now not really knowing what is going on, I still don´t know which one is his dose.

I have the feeling his dose is lower not higher.

What do you think? Could I be wrong? Obviously I should do a curve to assure that.

Tomorrow being Sunday I may be able to do a curve. Let me know.

Silvi
 
Except for the day cycle of the 17th when I can not see where he went, it looks like he is bouncing from the 110 and bounces can take 3 days to clear. It looks like this morning's AMPS may be something we call the "high before the break". I would do another test around +4.
If you are following TR, then depending upon today's numbers, you may want to increase the dose tonight.
 
I agree. It could be a bounce, but he's up to the 6th cycle now from when he had that 110. I think you could increase to 1.75u tonight unless he comes down significantly during the day.
 
Look tonights AMPS ge went in two hours from 470 to 368 little more than 100 points in only two hours not using R, just with L.

Tested got little steady and I guess it went down lower at nadir. I put the alarm but couldnt wake up. Unfortunately sometimes I just cant make it. Then I left for some errands and couldnt make it on time for shooting time.

Some other issues I have is that I need to find a safe dose, one that I can feel ok if I have an emergency and don´t show for a long period. That happend with dad that he got hospitalized for three days and I was with him and I had to ask to my nephew to come feed my cats after many hours of no food and no insuline. At that time Markies was on 18 hours schedule. So far Markies schedule is ok in 12 hrs. and we will be able to make it except for some exceptions like today or may be some ER situations that I hope are few, but I still need to feel save with a dose that I can not be at the ER praying for Markies if he doesn´t get enough food.

So far I will stay like this and will keep testing. Today I will keep doing the curve. I will try to bring mom to have dinner with me here at home so I don´t have to leave and can keep testing. If I leave to her house all will be again stopped.

But I would like if you can see today´s AMPS numbers.
 
By the way, thank you for your advise.

I have to recognize that Im very scared of dose increases. Brings in to my head my father´s moments issues and mom situation I don´t know when will explode. Its so difficult this.

I didn´t even took Markies to the vet. I just can´t come out from bed in the morning. S H I T.
 
Remember, there are things you can do if you have Markies on a good dose to keep his numbers level but have a sudden emergency (which can happen to any of us at any time). I would be a lot more comfortable leaving a cat on Levemir, with some extra carbs if you're suddenly going to be out for several hours with no warning, than maybe having to leave them an hour after shooting a dose of R. Even when you get to the dose of Levemir that keeps his numbers stable, you always have the option of giving him some carbs to boost his number if you suddenly have to leave. I understand that emergencies have happened more often for you than for most of us, but we all have to have a plan in place that we can put into action should something happen unexpectedly.
 
Sending hugs Silvinia:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Going up is scary, especially with your memories so recent with your dad, but as the saying goes here, sometimes you have to go up to come down. You are getting advice and help from the most knowledgeable folks when it comes to this dance, they never steered me wrong when I needed help knowing what would best help Gussie. I didn't always understand the why of the increase or process, but did know I trusted them to keep Gussie safe with what they were recommending..and they did:bighug::cat:

Remember you are doing the best you can, right in this moment..and there will be more moments where you will be able to do things a bit differently ...be kind to yourself too:bighug::bighug::bighug:
(it will help make getting up and out of bed a little bit easier too)

Big hugs to you and give Markies a cuddle for me.:bighug::bighug:
 
I find cats get a lot flatter, and hence more predictable, when they get close to a good dose. If they aren't in those ugly high numbers, then they can't do steep drops. As April said, you can always leave high carb food out if you need to leave suddenly.
 
I have been using Levemir for 2 years with one of my kitties ( switched from Lantus after 3 months) and almost 1 year with my other kitty. It is a lot more "forgiving" than Lantus when other things suddenly arise and you have to leave for long periods of time. Because it usually has a later onset and nadir than Lantus if a situation arises that you suddenly will have to be away for an unspecified period of time, it allows more time to abort a cycle using HC food or syrup because of the later onset and nadir. I also find it much easier to shoot low numbers at preshot time with Levemir compared to Lantus, because there is a longer time period before it starts taking effect.

Prayers and ((HUGS)) sent your way :bighug::bighug:
 
Something that I was asking before is to check my ss, and see how fast is dropping during the first two hours. Yesterday he dropped 100 points and today 26, not much but he ate groud meat and I was expecting a food spike and didn´t happened. Usually he has a late onset.

Well, this is good for us. Im not sure what is indicating, if this is the reasong for all thos pinks and the caus of bouncing or may be he is stabilizing. Or a third reason that I need to find out.

Hope he stabilizes here. ;)
 
That big drop yesterday does look as though he was coming down off a bounce. He dropped back into the 300s, which seems to be where this dose gets him to the majority of the time...and then stayed there. Today, he's come down a little further into the 200s which is great. Something I've noticed with Roxi is that, when I give an increase, there often seems to be little effect on the first cycle, but on the second cycle I'll see a bigger drop. Which fits exactly with that 110 you got a couple of days ago. That seems to be a form of 'new dose wonkiness' because I'll often find that after that, her numbers level out again after that second cycle...and that's where, when we weren't close to her ideal dose, I'd see the numbers head back up again and settle at a higher level. Her spreadsheet isn't quite so indicative of that on her latest doses because we are in the region of her ideal dose at this point, but it was definitely something I noticed when she was first here and we couldn't test her much. I'd give an increase, and on day 2 it would look as though we were close to having it right from the one or two tests we could do. Then by Day 3 she'd have gone back up again and she'd just stay there! I don't think I would hold off on doing an increase because of that single 110 you saw - his other numbers really haven't been in the range you need him to be in. If you can give R, which honestly terrifies me under most circumstances, at varying doses for several months, then you absolutely can increase his Lev dose - you just need to have the confidence in yourself to go ahead and do it.
 
That big drop yesterday does look as though he was coming down off a bounce. He dropped back into the 300s, which seems to be where this dose gets him to the majority of the time...and then stayed there. Today, he's come down a little further into the 200s which is great. Something I've noticed with Roxi is that, when I give an increase, there often seems to be little effect on the first cycle, but on the second cycle I'll see a bigger drop. Which fits exactly with that 110 you got a couple of days ago. That seems to be a form of 'new dose wonkiness' because I'll often find that after that, her numbers level out again after that second cycle...and that's where, when we weren't close to her ideal dose, I'd see the numbers head back up again and settle at a higher level. Her spreadsheet isn't quite so indicative of that on her latest doses because we are in the region of her ideal dose at this point, but it was definitely something I noticed when she was first here and we couldn't test her much. I'd give an increase, and on day 2 it would look as though we were close to having it right from the one or two tests we could do. Then by Day 3 she'd have gone back up again and she'd just stay there! I don't think I would hold off on doing an increase because of that single 110 you saw - his other numbers really haven't been in the range you need him to be in. If you can give R, which honestly terrifies me under most circumstances, at varying doses for several months, then you absolutely can increase his Lev dose - you just need to have the confidence in yourself to go ahead and do it.
thank you dear.
I didn´t test at nadir.. However Ive been testing close to nadir and every stayed on pinks. Lets see today. If things stay the same tomorrow I will increase to 1.75
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top