3/20 phoebe would not eat am amps 308 pmps 399 still eating baby food

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just in case get some of each flavor and be sure it's the 2nds as it is free of onion and garlic. I had one not like chicken and another not like turkey. You can try Beechnut as well but my cats didn't like it. Some do.
 
Thinking about a vet visit. She's just different today. Her respiration are 34 and 40. It is hot in here so we put on ac to see if it makes a difference. She has gone back to her dish 2 -3 times.
 
Update: she has eaten about 2/3 can of ff since this am. Gave her 125 ml LR. She has had all her meds including a cerenia. She's relaxing better now. But still not herself. We are going to continously watch her today. Bg is 296 +2.5. I have to go get injections in my back so won't be here for a couple of hours. Thank you for all the vines. I think we need them today. I have given her permission to go, if she does not want to fight. But also told her we have more meds coming to help ease her pains, if she does want to fight. I hate these f***king dieases. All of them. Sorry for my language, but I do.
 
I don't know what the minimum would be, but I'd say more than a couple tablespoons for sure. I'd also be worried about shooting when you don't know that you can get her to eat if she goes low (not that she has up until now, but still...).

Is she still showing some interest in food, but turning away? I know she's not acting herself today, but are things like pooping and peeing still happening? Wondering about constipation or something like that setting her off-- it can definitely cause nausea.
 
I don't know what the minimum would be, but I'd say more than a couple tablespoons for sure. I'd also be worried about shooting when you don't know that you can get her to eat if she goes low (not that she has up until now, but still...).

Is she still showing some interest in food, but turning away? I know she's not acting herself today, but are things like pooping and peeing still happening? Wondering about constipation or something like that setting her off-- it can definitely cause nausea.
Lol nope pooping like a goose. Peeping well. Her bms are formed soft, and sending everyone out of the room. She is going to the bowl and eating the baby food, I mixed it with the ff to see if she would eat it. She ate some then gave me the evil eye. She's had 1/4 of a zofram, the vet wrote for a 1/2, she's had 1/4 of pepcid, and a half cerenia. Wondering should we give her a other 1/4 of zofram?
 
sending everyone out of the room
When there is a pancreatitis flare up the poop will stink big time:rolleyes: If she is eating the baby food without coaxing, I wouldn't bother mixing it with the FF for right now . It is okay if all they eat is baby food for a few days to a week but after that you'd want her back on cat food with it's full nutrition

As far as how much food on board to shoot, I would think 2 tbsps. or so at shot time and keep offering baby food like you are doing . Remember that you have a few hours till onset after the injection to get more food on board .
 
Angela, I'd try giving the straight baby food and not mixing FF with it if she was eating that earlier. When Flame wasn't feeling well, I'd give him a little at a time and see if I could get him to eat a whole jar before shot time. I don't really feel comfortable giving advice here, but it looks like her numbers have been mostly yellow. Then again, you did just start a dosecrease and this will only be your 3rd cycle on 4.5 U.
She doesn't look like she's prone to big drops, but I still do worry about her not eating. Hopefully, some more experienced eyes will come along soon. :bighug:
 
Her respiration are 34 and 40.
I would definitely schedule a vet visit to have her heart listened to. Are you giving fluids regularly? Heart conditions (if she has that) and fluids don't play well together. I found out the hard way. :(

If you can get half of her meal in her, you are probably good to give the insulin. Less than that, you can think about a reduced shot. Kitties undergoing anesthesia, and not able to eat, usually get half dose. Not all the injected insulin goes to combat the carbs from food.
 
I would definitely schedule a vet visit to have her heart listened to. Are you giving fluids regularly? Heart conditions (if she has that) and fluids don't play well together. I found out the hard way. :(

If you can get half of her meal in her, you are probably good to give the insulin. Less than that, you can think about a reduced shot. Kitties undergoing anesthesia, and not able to eat, usually get half dose. Not all the injected insulin goes to combat the carbs from food.
She checked her heart in the senior visit she had in january, could it come on that quick? Yes I give her LR about every other day between 75 and 125, depending on how long she decides to stay put. Could her pain levels be causing a higher heart rate? Or nausea? Thank you she seems to like the baby food, so crossing fingers for tonight's dose. Does baby food drive up bg?
 
When there is a pancreatitis flare up the poop will stink big time:rolleyes: If she is eating the baby food without coaxing, I wouldn't bother mixing it with the FF for right now . It is okay if all they eat is baby food for a few days to a week but after that you'd want her back on cat food with it's full nutrition

As far as how much food on board to shoot, I would think 2 tbsps. or so at shot time and keep offering baby food like you are doing . Remember that you have a few hours till onset after the injection to get more food on board .
These poops are Killer!!! I'm glad she's been pooping regular tho. So will continue to open windows and fan it out! Maybe light a candle or 2.
 
If she is hungry and willing to eat, feed her. Just don't fill her up. The "rule" about not feeding for two hours before preshot is so that you don't have an artificially higher number at shot time, making you think it's safe to shoot, when it's not. Phoebe is nowhere near those worrying numbers.

Yes, heart issues can come on that quickly. It took 3 weeks from me starting fluids, 50ml every other day, until we had a heart crisis. Just keep an eye on her resting respiration rate. Paws crossed it comes down. If it stays over 30, you might want to at least call the vet. Heart issues can also cause nausea and inappetance. I never noticed a connection with pain. Neko had bad arthritis.
 
She seems to be hungry now, but trying to wait 2 hours for bg, should I just feed her?
Hey Angela,
Just checking in. Did she eat? I agree with Wendy, heart conditions can come on quickly... or perhaps it's been lurking and seems to come on quickly because it's finally bad enough to be detected or show symptoms. Flame had been spending a LOT of time at the vet because of his breathing issues and kidney numbers and his restrictive cardiomyopathy was not detected until he had an episode of rapid breathing and collapsing that we couldn't figure out. My vet and I discussed it and decided to do an echo cardiogram and I nearly fell over when I was told he had that. I think it's worth getting checked.

Hugs to you and Phoebes :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hey Angela,
Just checking in. Did she eat? I agree with Wendy, heart conditions can come on quickly... or perhaps it's been lurking and seems to come on quickly because it's finally bad enough to be detected or show symptoms. Flame had been spending a LOT of time at the vet because of his breathing issues and kidney numbers and his restrictive cardiomyopathy was not detected until he had an episode of rapid breathing and collapsing that we couldn't figure out. My vet and I discussed it and decided to do an echo cardiogram and I nearly fell over when I was told he had that. I think it's worth getting checked.

Hugs to you and Phoebes :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you Donna. She will be back in office wed. Will make appt. Yes she is eating the baby food. Her pmps is 399! Jezzy pete. Maybe she went low and bounced. Definitely given her the insulin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top