? 3/20 Uncle PMPS 124, +2 81, +4 143, +7 109, +9 93 *dental this morning*

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara & Uncle (GA)

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-9-72-11-108-pmps-13-116-2-148-5-5-92.174910/

HAPPY SPRING!

Haven't posted in a few days. Extremely busy, working way too much!
Tomorrow is Uncle's first dental as a diabetic. The vet called me this afternoon to go over her plan for him.
She is working on him first thing tomorrow. She told me she will being doing full dental x-rays, and will be monitoring his glucose every 30 minutes. She said if he goes below 100 she will give him some glucose.
I won't feed him anything past midnight tonight and I am really hoping I won't need to steer with food :nailbiting:
Hope it all goes perfectly...
 
We all worry like crazy during those dentals!! I'm sure Uncle will come through with flying colors!!

Sounds like your vet actually knows what she's doing!!.....What a neat thing!!

Sending lots of good dental vines your way!

Yo Uncle....if dey pull any toofs, don't forgets to bring dem home and puts dem under your pillow!!...Da Toof Fairy is paying pretty good dez days!!~ China
 
Sending smooth sailing dental vines!
IMG_4391.JPG
 
We all worry like crazy during those dentals!! I'm sure Uncle will come through with flying colors!!

Sounds like your vet actually knows what she's doing!!.....What a neat thing!!

Sending lots of good dental vines your way!

Yo Uncle....if dey pull any toofs, don't forgets to bring dem home and puts dem under your pillow!!...Da Toof Fairy is paying pretty good dez days!!~ China
I really appreciated that she reached out to discuss the procedure with me today.
She has been really supportive of my involvement with the group here and as a matter of fact I found the FDMB because she had given me the link to Dr Pierson's website after Uncle's dx. It was through catinfo.org that I discovered FDMB!
 
Just checked Uncle's +2 and he dropped from PMPS 124 to 80 at +2.
He's not supposed to eat any more tonight because of the anesthesia tomorrow.
I just gave him some 21% to abort the cycle. I had already reduced his shot a bit tonight.
I hope between carbing him up just now and the reduced shot will work, not sure what I'll do if he goes to low tonight...
 
Thanks everyone :bighug:
Looks like giving him an entire 3 oz can of 21% at +2 did the trick and got him through okay. It's now 5:00 am and it's his +7. The food bump has clearly waned but hoping so is the insulin. What a time for him to pull such a thing!
 
Nothing like a bit of drama before the dental, eh?
You are probably getting ready to take him now - best of luck today, Barbara!!
Hi Carol, I'll be taking him in a couple of hours. Hope he will start coming up by then, I know the vet won't want to give him anesthesia until he's above 100 and rising (on the pet meter).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top