3/25 Doodles AMPS 351 + 413 +3 439 PMPS 369 +2 430 +5 428

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doodles & Karen

Member Since 2015
Doodles 3/24 - Yellow? After stomping on the meter with another red at PM +2 I think we saw a yellow at PM+5:confused: No R this morning and his +1 is only a 60 pt jump. Unfortunately we're off to the vet for a quick blood test around +3.5 :(

Sending vines and prayers to all the kitties and beans :bighug:
 
Unfortunately it's just blood work to see if the drugs are causing toxicity. With any luck the Acro/ IAA tests will come back later but doubtful. Thanks everyone!
 
Had to leave him they are doing another Eco. Acro & IAA results are in so should know when I pick him up.
 
Finally back. They x-rayed his chest and is showing improvement with the congestive heart failure. There was/is a little fluid but it's clearing up. The Cardiologist Doc did make me feel better by confirming Doodles ins "not at the end". However he really doesn't know anything about Lasix and the interaction with Lantus. We are going to change is dose of Lasix to equal amounts twice a day so 15 units AMPS & 15units PMPS. Unfortunately there is not sign of him stopping the drug anytime soon as our recheck is in 3 months. All pending his kidney values which we'll have on Monday.

Without detail I did squeeze the Internal Med tech out of the Acro/IAA results. It's pretty clear he is not Acro with a test result of 72 (normal is 12-92). I did not get a clear understanding of IAA results but he basically said that's not the issue either. Hopefully Dr. B will call me on Monday to discuss further.

Really bad news...he has lost 1 lb since last week and down to 14.7 :( I know he's not eating enough and with the high BG's it isn't helping with his weight. He simply cannot afford to loose any more. Not sure what to do except give him what ever he'll eat so unfortunately I'm going to start mixing in some EVO with the YA. This will likely make it even tougher to get his BG' down. He simply does not eat enough wet to sustain and hasn't really been eating the YA very well. I will talk to the IM vet next week and see what we can do to possibly correct this but for now it is what it is. I'm sorry.

To top everything else off today, on the 30 minute ride home he pee'd all over himself and since it's a fabric case all over the car seat. I'm not giving R tonight, we both need a break and will start over in the morning.

ETA - I did update my signature to reflect SLGS but will be a modified version to say the least.

Thanks for all the vines and prayers.
 
Overall, basically it sounds like a good vetty visit.

With the weight loss...I know nothing about this sort of thing, but do you think part of it can be contributed to the reduction of fluids in his chest?

You gotta do what you gotta do to get the calories in him - you do not have to apologize!! I wish I had more options with Trix but between the CKD and wanting to keep her in remission, my hands are pretty tied. Hopefully the EVO will help with Doodles appy and weight.

I hope you both can get some rest tonight :bighug::bighug::bighug:.
 
It's good news that the meds are working on the congestive heart failure and that the fluids are clearing up. It's also good news that it's not IAA!

It makes sense to have equal dosages of lasix and will make it easier to regulate his BGS with the lantus and the R. Not sure why they weren't equal doses to begin with?

I think that it's the dr's responsibility, since he prescribed the lasix, to find out about it's interaction with Lantus! But perhaps a pharmacist can help?

Perhaps if you buy a very large case of EVO and get rid of all the fancy feast, Doodles will do "that cat thing" and decide to like fancy feast again!

It's good to start over in the morning. It's been a tough day.

More appy vines coming to Doodles and lots of hugs to you Karen. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hopefully the EVO will help with Doodles appy and weight.
It's temporary and we'll get back to business again but for now I'm exhausted. I do think in part that some of the weight loss is fluid/ water retention. The diuretic has him peeing literally 8-10 times a day. I do feel some relief that he said "he's not at his end"! This week I've literally been thinking I was going to find him gone.
 
It's temporary and we'll get back to business again but for now I'm exhausted. I do think in part that some of the weight loss is fluid/ water retention. The diuretic has him peeing literally 8-10 times a day. I do feel some relief that he said "he's not at his end"! This week I've literally been thinking I was going to find him gone.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
It makes sense to have equal dosages of lasix and will make it easier to regulate his BGS with the lantus and the R. Not sure why they weren't equal doses to begin with?

He was like, oh right, you're doing injections so that's fine. I guess most do liquid med and if it's compounded it's hard to split the dose up. :arghh::arghh::p
 
Glad Doodles is showing improvement. Sounds like you had a hard day. It's good you are both are taking the night off. Tomorrow is another day. :bighug::bighug:
 
Doodles is so mad he won't even eat the belly med or the Enalapril :banghead::banghead: This is why I chose injectable meds. Will try again later.
 
Hope he calms down and takes his meds in a bit. Doodles knows that his Mama Bean loves him, but he's probably not so sure about all of those vets...

I agree with your thoughts on the food. Loosing weight is the last thing he needs and I would try to find something he enjoys and will eat consistently. Lower carb is great, but eating is more important than that. Since he likes crunchy food so much, EVO might be a good option (my cats LOVED the Turkey and Chicken kind and I think Capone is still upset that I eliminated all dry food from his diet).

I am glad that the meds are working and that there's less fluid. Sending more good thoughts for good kidney values!!!

And I hope that you get some rest tonight.
 
EVO might be a good option
Thanks Christina. At the beginning of Lantus in July the vet put him on DM and I then made the switch to EVO...eventually YAZC. We had the dry eliminated for a little while and just feels like such a set back. He gets excited when it's wet food time but just licks it and walks away. You've been around long enough with Doodles to know this has been a huge battle but we'll continue to fight it.
 
Many thoughts and good energy coming your way... I know the food struggle in itself is enough to :banghead::banghead:
You are doing everything you can for him.... he is a fighter :cat:

I know it is not the best food but maybe some cans of AD (11 % carb) from he vet is something that would be new and he would eat? It is high calorie and wet-organ meat. Rico eats it a few times a week to maintain his weight ... unless of course he doesn't eat it:stop:
:bighug::bighug:
 
It's temporary and we'll get back to business again but for now I'm exhausted. I do think in part that some of the weight loss is fluid/ water retention. The diuretic has him peeing literally 8-10 times a day. I do feel some relief that he said "he's not at his end"! This week I've literally been thinking I was going to find him gone.
the fluid thing will definitely cause fluctuation....
 
Just a quick check in. I'm glad you got good news about his heart, the acro, and likely the IAA. Great to be able to cross the latter two off the list.

I think whatever you can get him to eat that is lower in sodium....that's the most important thing right now. It seems the S&C was ok on sodium and he loves it or is he not eating enough of it either?

I hope you take a deep breath, spend time with him tonight, and rest. Many hugs.
 
It seems the S&C was ok on sodium and he loves it or is he not eating enough of it either?
He's doing only OK with the S&C but I'll keep offering all the "good stuff". I name dropped you with Dr. Church and he smiled. Interesting, overly intelligent man which is good thing :)
 
I'm glad you've got more answers - i wouldn't be surprised if a lot of that weight loss was water. Fluid is heavy and it could definitely be part/most of that weight loss.

And Yay for not being acro - really. You didn't want that. That is good news and I'm glad to hear it.

Glad you can get some rest tonight and tackle things again in the morning. We're all cheering you and Doodles on, Karen!:bighug:
 
Water weighs 8lbs per gallon. So if I'm figuring out the math right, one pint (2 cups) would be 1 lb.
So looking at it differently the weight gain could've been just the fluid. It certainly didn't happen overnight and I was kind of puzzled when he gained .6oz is 1 week back in December:confused:
 
Glad to hear the good news. Take it easy and relax tonight.

My hubby had a bout of kidney failure many years ago. In the beginning until the biopsy and treatment got done. He would gain 5 lbs overnight while sleeping, just from the fluid accumulation. So it is possible that was the gain you were seeing. For awhile he had to go everyday to the doctor to be weighed. If he gained 2 lbs they upped his diuretic and sometimes added another.
 
Karen, you and Doodles definitely deserve a night off, good plan to hold off on the R tonight. Really hope you both get a goodnight's rest, hopefully it will all look a little better in the morning.
 
A pretty good report overall! I'm glad you don't have to deal with an acro or IAA diagnosis on top of everything else. Equal amounts of Lasix given at given at shot times should make things a little easier, too.
Really bad news...he has lost 1 lb since last week and down to 14.7 :( I know he's not eating enough and with the high BG's it isn't helping with his weight. He simply cannot afford to loose any more. Not sure what to do except give him what ever he'll eat so unfortunately I'm going to start mixing in some EVO with the YA. This will likely make it even tougher to get his BG' down. He simply does not eat enough wet to sustain and hasn't really been eating the YA very well. I will talk to the IM vet next week and see what we can do to possibly correct this but for now it is what it is. I'm sorry.
As others have mentioned, the weight loss could very well be attributed to getting rid of the excess fluid.

About his diet... do whatever you have to do to get the necessary amount of calories into him to maintain his weight. He has to eat. The insulin will simply have to be adjusted accordingly. Not a biggie and no apologies please! Eating trumps all!

Tomorrow morning at AMPS:
My suggestion is to shoot 5.0u Lantus. If you're up to it and want to resume the use of R as a bolus,

  • give no more than 0.25u R if he's 300 or greater
  • give no more than 0.1u R if he's in the 200s
  • give no R if he's less than 200
My suggestion is based on the morning shot being the 6th cycle at 5u Lantus (we may see a bit more movement), the morning Lasix dose has been cut in half, and the little bit of R data accumulated so far.

We'll have to rethink and tweak the R dosing as we watch what happens with the reduced Lasix dose and the probability of him consuming more carbs.

Shooting R is always optional. Please, don't ever forget that. Things can get intense... especially with a cat who isn't feeling well. Sometimes the caregiver has to take a break and it's the best option they can possibly choose for a variety of reasons. Trust me. We get it.


Just my thoughts...
Hope you can get some good sleep tonight.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:


 
Tomorrow morning at AMPS:
My suggestion is to shoot 5.0u Lantus. If you're up to it and want to resume the use of R as a bolus,

  • give no more than 0.25u R if he's 300 or greater
  • give no more than 0.1u R if he's in the 200s
  • give no R if he's less than 200

Thanks Jill. I was thinking of R @ .25 with the food etc. Hopefully we'll get him back on track soon. Fingers crossed he eats the Enalapril too!
 
(((Karen))) sounds a tough week for you and Doodles but glad to hear good news on his heart and certainly good news on no acro/IAA. You have to do what you have to do to get food into him, but hopefully he will be a typical cat and change his preference back to "the good stuff". Vines for a peaceful Easter :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top