3/25 Rusty AMPS 160; +3 100; +4.5 88; +6 259; +9 62; +11 158; PMPS 284

Status
Not open for further replies.

SantaCruzSPCA

Member Since 2017
Looks like he's back from the bounce! But with these numbers I fully expect him to get into the greens and bounce again tomorrow.

Any thoughts on where we go from here? I don't want him to drop too much lower. I'm not there today but have instructed staff to test at +6, +9, and PMPS.
 
What is his current meal schedule? Does he have food available to graze on during the day?

He's in great numbers right now, but with breaking the bounce and only being at +3 (and you not there to monitor personally) it'd be good if he has something to munch on now to help keep him surfing and try to keep him from dropping too much more.
 
Are you using a human meter? If so, he has room to drop for nadir. Looks good!

No I'm using the Alpha Trak 2, so does that mean he doesn't have much more room for nadir?

What is his current meal schedule? Does he have food available to graze on during the day?

He's in great numbers right now, but with breaking the bounce and only being at +3 (and you not there to monitor personally) it'd be good if he has something to munch on now to help keep him surfing and try to keep him from dropping too much more.

He gets fed 1/2 can Friskies plus 1/4 cup dry in the morning and the same thing again at night. He will usually eat only half of both at the meal times and eat the rest throughout the day/night. He's definitely more of a grazer.

However, in a pinch we've got everything from gravy food and high carb dry to Karo syrup and high carb treats if needed. Plus my staff is texting me his numbers and are there to test as much as needed.
 
The "needs high carb intervention" number on an AT meter is 68 so that means you have to monitor closely until at least +6 if not a bit longer.
 
Yes, on an AT meter you have less of a safety buffer below that 100. I'd ask your staff to get some tests before the +6, for sure. +4 would be good if they can do it (I know it's probably busy on a Saturday if you do adoptions from the shelter!)
 
Yes, on an AT meter you have less of a safety buffer below that 100. I'd ask your staff to get some tests before the +6, for sure. +4 would be good if they can do it (I know it's probably busy on a Saturday if you do adoptions from the shelter!)

Yes, it definitely gets busy over the weekend! However one of the animal care is extra wonderful and I can trust her with Rusty's care. Hopefully she can get a +4.5 which would be about now. He still has some of his dry left to nibble on. I'll update when I have an update. Thanks ladies! ☺️
 
That's a pretty steep climb from the +4.5! But yes, normal to bounce back up after a low like he saw (great numbers, but low for him at the moment). Hopefully he'll level off a bit rather than go all the way up to the stratosphere....
 
That's a pretty steep climb from the +4.5! But yes, normal to bounce back up after a low like he saw (great numbers, but low for him at the moment). Hopefully he'll level off a bit rather than go all the way up to the stratosphere....

He's a bit of a stratosphere kitty with a pancreas that's loaded and ready to fire at will! Lol. Will the pancreas ever get the hint to lower its weapon and not shoot at blues and greens?
 
Here is your last post here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-to-lantus-and-post-dka.175264/
We include those links so we can follow what happened previously. To include the link, grab the URL of the old post from a browser, select the link icon on the tool bar, and paste it in there.

Great numbers today. :) As Rusty is eating dry food, it means you would be following the Start Low Go Slow Method for dosing. That sweet little 88 in there, meant he earned a .25U reduction down to 4.75 units. :D How are you doing on the hunt for syringes with 1/2 unit markings? If you haven't got them yet, who is giving the insulin tonight? If you still have the single unit syringes, I might get the caregiver to load the dose to 5 units, then rotate the plunger a couple of times to squeeze a couple of drops off the dose. They might want to practice that trick with an old syringe and some coloured liquid like juice or tea.
 
Will the pancreas ever get the hint to lower its weapon and not shoot at blues and greens?
It's early days yet, so hard to tell. The more time they spend in greens and blues, the more they get used to it. And some cats just keep on loving to bounce. We joke about days you have to hide the trampoline. My Neko loved her trampoline, though as time went on she didn't bounce quite as high. I think it was her arthritis slowing her down. :p
 
Here is your last post here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-to-lantus-and-post-dka.175264/
We include those links so we can follow what happened previously. To include the link, grab the URL of the old post from a browser, select the link icon on the tool bar, and paste it in there.

Great numbers today. :) As Rusty is eating dry food, it means you would be following the Start Low Go Slow Method for dosing. That sweet little 88 in there, meant he earned a .25U reduction down to 4.75 units. :D How are you doing on the hunt for syringes with 1/2 unit markings? If you haven't got them yet, who is giving the insulin tonight? If you still have the single unit syringes, I might get the caregiver to load the dose to 5 units, then rotate the plunger a couple of times to squeeze a couple of drops off the dose. They might want to practice that trick with an old syringe and some coloured liquid like juice or tea.

Thanks! So any day I do a post like this I should include the link from the last one? Makes sense so people can see the previous conversations.

As far as the syringes, I found a place online to order but won't have them until sometime next week. What if I went in this evening and drew up two syringes to the 4.75, capped them, put them in the fridge and animal care used those for tonight and tomorrow morning? Would that be okay? Or is that bad for some reason?
 
Yes on the links in any new post. And thanks in advance.

Here is a quote from the Sticky on Info, Storage and Handling of Lantus:
Pre-filling Syringes with Lantus (see page 3) is NOT recommended. Now if it was just an hour before for tonight, it's probably not a problem as the study described in the paper was for days.
 
Aaaaand we are down again. That 259 could have been food influenced. They said he ate some kibble during that time period. Or maybe just a midday hill? He's acting normal and was just given two high carb treats...and ate them very happily.
 
Hmm, maybe an even smaller dose tonight, just this once, to help drain the depot. Usually there are no mid cycle "hills" unless there were carbs eaten.
 
Hmm, maybe an even smaller dose tonight, just this once, to help drain the depot. Usually there are no mid cycle "hills" unless there were carbs eaten.

Well he's on a blend of dry food (EVO and Acana) so there are some carbs there. however I think his finished his morning feeding at about +5. So he probably hasn't had anything to eat since then. I know you aren't supposed to feed 2 hours before PMPS. Do you advise I let him come up on his own or do a small feeding?
 
I'm going to most likely need some dosing advice in about an hour and a half. Will anyone be around?

Do I need to worry about Hypo this late in his cycle? Is the 62 something to worry about?
 
Okay, he's coming up on his own I think. He was given two Temptation treats at +9 but nothing since. I'm headed into the shelter in about 30 min to do his PMPS, feed, and shot. I hope to have some evening dose guidance by than. ;)

I'm prepared to do the 4.75 but if a smaller dose is called for I'm not sure what that would be. I have a feeling tomorrow will be full of highs and I want to make sure he's getting enough insulin.
 
I am not remotely someone who is comfortable giving dose advice, but: given that it is Saturday night (relatively light traffic) I will go ahead and endorse Wendy's idea of possibly lowering the dose a bit more, like down to 4.5U rather than the 4.75U he has technically earned. I just worry because there's no one there to keep an eye on him in the overnight-- it's great that there's food for him to munch on, but still...

Hopefully some more of the truly experienced folks will weigh in before shot time.
 
I am not remotely someone who is comfortable giving dose advice, but: given that it is Saturday night (relatively light traffic) I will go ahead and endorse Wendy's idea of possibly lowering the dose a bit more, like down to 4.5U rather than the 4.75U he has technically earned. I just worry because there's no one there to keep an eye on him in the overnight-- it's great that there's food for him to munch on, but still...

Hopefully some more of the truly experienced folks will weigh in before shot time.

Thank you :) I understand the hesitation, this stuff is so scary! Well I'm here, his pre shot is 284 (a number I'm a bit more comfortable with). He's eating now and is a hungry fella! I think to be on the safe side, if I don't hear any more feedback within the next half hour, I'll do the 4.5 and leave him with plenty of food. Thats all I can really do! :(
 
Sorry, I was off seeing a dance performance. You are fine with the 4.5 if that's what you did. I am a little worried that as you move to lower carb dry, his insulin needs will drop. You are probably correct that the bounce will keep him safe tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top