3/29 Davidson PMPS 283, +3-270, +6-241, +9-282

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shawna & Davidson (GA)

Member Since 2014
Well, I increase Davidson to 1.25 and see how he does over the next 2 cycles.

Here's yesterday's condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-28-davidson-pmps-281-3-301-6-288.193256/

When I look back to 2014 Davidson had similar numbers and within days increased the dose to where he was 2.75u before he started seeing greens. I'm home 24 hrs a day if need be and been thru this rodeo before, so there is absolutely no risk for his safety.........maybe risk of me running out of test strips LOL, but I can zip out for more............if need be I will bump up the dose again knowing my comfort level is there.

Perhaps TODAY Mr. Davidson will bring greens and brighten the dull and gloomy rainy day.

Hope you all have good vines coming your way!
Shawna
 
Nice drop to +2, looks promising.

Following up from yesterday, you can't buy Zobaline in stores in Canada. You can only buy it online from the US manufacturers, and they out a large shipping premium on it. If you have a US post box, use that. Or you can make an alternative. If you search for "zobaline in Canada" in the Feline Health forum, you'll find what people have used before.
 
Thanks Wendy, I did check and they have it at Walmart so I will check when I go get test strips. Good thing I bought 400, as I certainly go thru a lot, LOL. But I have a US post box too. I don't think he'll reach greens as he's already slowed down and I'll check at +4 as well. I've done some extensive comparisons on the doses given to Davidson in 2014 and the increases made. I was doing .50 at a time every three days and he was fine............so if no green today I'm increasing to 1.5 tonight AMPS and please remember, I know my Guy and have all supplies and here 24/7/365..........haha, which I hope I don't have to do for a year, but if so - not a problem. He's never gone close to a hypo in the past and I shot at some pretty low numbers. Let's wait and see what the next test brings........
 
Make sure you have HC food and corn syrup or honey around if you increase again tonight. It takes a few cycles for the depot to build so you can see what this dose can do. One cycle is not enough. TR is aggressive but safe. Increasing sooner is not recommended. I know you want to go against this Shawna, but I am also saying this for any lurkers.
 
Thanks Wendy, yes - I have mentioned in the past Davidson and myself are taking a rather aggressive approach........I should have increased the .5 this morning and I do have everything here in two places (overkill) but I am absolutely prepared. I will leave him on this next dosecrease min. 3 cycles to let his depot build again. I look at his test from last week and feel very safe with the increase. I want him to build the depot on the dose that's right for him and again, probably should have started a bit higher but it is what it is............

THANK YOU all for constant support, I too am confident (not overly) and not doing this for me - I have hired a professional company to be here at Davidson's disposal when I leave May 10th and so she's learning about TR and FDMB at this time. You can all come over for the PJ party tonight if you like, hope you like hockey cuz there's always a game on.
 
Davidson tried but still no green, but he's a good boy and he knows it............lol. Still had better numbers on the am of the 26th..........see how he does tonight and I'll decide to increase or remain here. Still a gloomy day out here, but no snow!
 
Just want to throw my 2 cents in...
  • This is only the first cycle @ 1.25u.
  • Davidson dropped to 108 @ +5.
  • The effects of Lantus are cumulative.
  • That means there's a good chance he'll drop into green once the depot fills.
I know you want to be aggressive (I get it) and you're around to monitor carefully, but I think taking the dose up tonight might be a mistake. However, keeping your wants and circumstances in mind, I'd like to suggest an alternative. How about giving this dose a minimum of 4 consecutive cycles before increasing to 1.5u? At least you'd have a better idea of where he'd go on the current dose. Re-evaluate after the 4th consecutive dose at 1.25u to decide if it'll be necessary to take the dose up to 1.5u.

What do you think? Make sense?


PSA: Increasing after only 4 cycles is not the norm, but under the right circumstances may be implemented on occasion. My thoughts/suggestions are specific to Davidson... not any other cat.
 
Hi Jill;
Yes, I agree with you and will evaluate tonight.

Question: (so I get a better understanding)....On Mar 26 it was Cycle1 for the 1u increase and Davidson had very similar numbers, if not better overall dropping to 108 as well. Each subsequent C2-C6 was higher..........so today with the increase we are again facing the same scenario - drop to 108. He was at the same 108/107 on the first day of insulin Mar 17th with .25u............So, why with the increase doses has he not dropped lower with more insulin? He's building the depot, and does the previous days not count for the cumulative amounts? Maybe I should ask, how long does it take to fill the depot, where is it located any way, inside the pancreas??

You are much more experienced at this then myself, and I will hold the dose for tonight, and tomorrow and then make the decision.

I also know that the has NDW as well as he free feeds and when I test each hour I can assure you that he has eaten prior to the test, so the numbers are influenced a bit (which I take into account). I also have no experience on what occurs when cats fall out of remission, so new to me - but the testing and monitoring is not. Nor am I afraid to shoot low.........that's a good thing.

I'll hold the dose, it's not a rush thing I'm trying to achieve as you know, and I can also appreciate where you are coming from. Thanks for looking at this thread and providing your thoughts...........keep looking as tests are being done frequently so I can better read how he is reacting to the doses.

Touche
Shawna
 
Question: (so I get a better understanding)....On Mar 26 it was Cycle1 for the 1u increase and Davidson had very similar numbers, if not better overall dropping to 108 as well. Each subsequent C2-C6 was higher..........so today with the increase we are again facing the same scenario - drop to 108. He was at the same 108/107 on the first day of insulin Mar 17th with .25u............So, why with the increase doses has he not dropped lower with more insulin?
Contrary to how this sounds, I'm not being flip when I say, "Who knows!" or "I wish I knew!".

Overall, Alex's numbers often went higher before they came down when restarting insulin. I'd see NDW in the second or third cycles (or both). Usually, I wouldn't have a good idea of what the dose could do until the 5th cycle... sometimes the 6th. Conversely, it took about 5 cycles for the effects of the depot to diminish after a reduction... even on the tiniest of doses.
He's building the depot, and does the previous days not count for the cumulative amounts?
Depot building begins again at each dose increase. In other words, his 1u depot has been built. Now he's working on building that 1.25u depot.
Maybe I should ask, how long does it take to fill the depot, where is it located any way, inside the pancreas??
Generally speaking, it can take up to 6 cycles to build the depot for a particular dose, but it can vary some. I've seen some cats show the effects of a new dose sooner than the completion of 6 cycles and I've also seen cats that take 5 - 7 DAYS to show what a dose can do. ECID. The 5th cycle was usually the magic number with Alex.

After injection, Lantus forms a precipitate under the skin (the depot). The precipitate then dissolves slowly. This action is why Lantus is called a long-acting insulin. Each subsequent dose builds upon the next.
I also have no experience on what occurs when cats fall out of remission, so new to me - but the testing and monitoring is not. Nor am I afraid to shoot low.........that's a good thing.
When a cat falls out of remission we want to be as aggressive as is safe. That varies depending on the caregiver's availability, capability, strengths, and fears. Not being afraid to shoot low is a definite plus, but at the same time one wants to always have accumulated the necessary data to support the decision.
I'll hold the dose, it's not a rush thing I'm trying to achieve as you know, and I can also appreciate where you are coming from. Thanks for looking at this thread and providing your thoughts...........keep looking as tests are being done frequently so I can better read how he is reacting to the doses.
You're welcome and I will pop in as often as I can!
 
Good information Jill....geesh, I designed and built my own new house in 3.5. Months last year. Davidson should have inherited my genes and take after me. Not sure why it’s taking him so long to “build” his depot, but if he doesn’t hurry up he’s gonna loose me as his contractor......haha, just kidding. He can take his time, I still WUV him and Harley!
 
Well, I'm not overly happy about Davidson's highest AMPS to date since starting insulin, but I am happy for the low blues he had today and I'm hoping that his depot is being built so that tomorrow brings some nice low blues. Maybe even a green. In spite of me wanting to increase the dose tonight, I did not.............I felt even if I am taking an aggressive stance on his dosing, I still want to follow the TR, albeit a little altering here and there for Davidson - understanding this is NOT for the majority here. We'll see how he does this evening and throughout the night. I do know for one thing that I can at least get some sleep as highly unlikely he will drop so much in the next few hours, so it's rest time for me.

Hope today brought some nice curves, colours and readings for you all.
 
No greens yet..........high evening numbers again, Davidson has to pull the rabbit out of the hat today (or maybe a mouse, but he never had one of those) or dosecrease time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top