3/29 Edward 287@AMPS, 282@+3, 216@+6 (increase tonight)

SnowKat

Member Since 2020
Yesterday's condo

Sorry for posting so late; it was a busy day of working on a new large painting, dying my hair purple (cuz why not at this point?), and cooking mole enchiladas for meals for hubby and me for the rest of the week.

So... I consider the last 6 cycles to be a failed reduction, and am increasing back to 1.5 u tonight. At this point, I am considering going with the TR modification of seeing 3 neon greens before reducing. I'm also considering switching to Levemir in the next month or so, if Ed's colorful pattern continues; I'm hopeful maybe a different insulin might work better for him?? I can only imagine how awful it must feel for him to swing so wildly every day. Poor lil guy.

Experienced members... any input on my plan / thought process is welcome. Thank you.
 
Here is my boy under his heating vent, laying like an upside-down superman...
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0886.jpg
    IMG_0886.jpg
    78 KB · Views: 47
Last edited:
Good plan on the increase. As for the three lime greens, it's three 40-49 or one under 40 that earns the decrease. So he would have earned that last reduction anyway. And usually the reductions are by 0.25 units. We don't both skinny/fatten the dose and do the three unders until you have a lot more experience, like a year.

I would try this technique for a while before considering Levemir. Often it's enough to get them seeing more green and flattening. That and getting used to shooting green nadirs, as long as you are around to monitor. Typically we say to try one insulin for 6 months before switching.
 
Good plan on the increase. As for the three lime greens, it's three 40-49 or one under 40 that earns the decrease. So he would have earned that last reduction anyway. And usually the reductions are by 0.25 units. We don't both skinny/fatten the dose and do the three unders until you have a lot more experience, like a year.

I would try this technique for a while before considering Levemir. Often it's enough to get them seeing more green and flattening. That and getting used to shooting green nadirs, as long as you are around to monitor. Typically we say to try one insulin for 6 months before switching.

Thank you for chiming in, Wendy. OK, so I'll stick with the 1 drop under 40 at this point, since I am more comfortable with the skinning/fattening of doses. As for shooting greens... in your opinion, should I have shot that 83@AMPS on 3/24, assuming I would have been home to monitor? I had to work that day, so it's kind of a moot point. But if I see one of those over a weekend, should I shoot a full dose??
 
Back
Top