3/29 Elizabeth +6 116, PMPS 99, +2 65, +2.5 84, +3.5 88, +4.25 85 , +5 68, +5.5 73

Status
Not open for further replies.
I checked Liz at +1.25, because I was reading where aggressiveness and restlessness may indicate low numbers. She's hasn't been restless in the past hour - resting/sleeping under my desk, but she has been doing some serious licking at times. I am probably just being paranoid. Her number is good, and as I mentioned before, Elizabeth's personality is "feisty" (a nice way to put it), rather than nice. Over the years she has affectionately been called ElizaBitch, and that pretty much tells it all.

Still, my question is do cats react different to the numbers. Are there cases where a cat does better with numbers a bit higher?
 
Many people report that their cat initially feels better in higher numbers, like 200's, and when they first get into normal numbers, 50-120, they seem to feel crappy and lethargic. Then as their cat gets used to normal numbers, they start to get spunky again and feel best in that range.

I think of it like caffeine - anyone used to caffeine feels best when they've had some. Skip a morning coffee and you feel crappy. Caffeinated isn't a human's normal state, but when you're used to it you want it. But when a person gets used to not having caffeine then they feel great that way.
 
I am still having trouble with the syringe and deciding what is .25. I am just barely over the zero mark, that way I can keep it consistent. I went back to the single unit syringe, as the half unit with more lines made it hard to see. Anyway, I felt nervous giving her shot at 99. Advice please on how often to test. Although I slept last night I find myself exhausted still. Too many late nights! o_O
 
Yes, it means a reduction. Here's the question though, you've got the dose listed as 0.1 -0.25u. From 0.25u the reduction is to 0.1u.

Can you take another look at your dose, compare to the pics in the New to the Group sticky and decide what you're shooting?

The second part is then deciding if you can reduce that dose. Can you count how many drops are in the dose?

Or do you think you've already been giving 0.1u?

Test about every 30 minutes when she's in this phase.
 
Okay - I will look and let you know on the dose. and/or count drops. I'll be back when I determine if I can give you a better idea of dose. Did you see she's up some? Can I test in an hour or two after the +3.5 or is that too long?
 
If you gave high carbs at that +2, I'd test again at 2 hours after she ate that high carbs. The high carb food can wear off after two hours and you want to make sure she's not dropping back down.

Congrats on the reduction. Liz is doing so well! :D
 
Looking at the two types of syringes I have used the last couple days (both are BD brand and the units match up), I realize why I didn't like the one with half unit marks - the plunger doesn't glide as well and so it's harder to get the right amount. So I switched back to the single unit 2-3 shots ago.

I would say that the shots I have given today and yesterday, 3/29 AM and PM, and 3/28 PM had a tiny bit of daylight between the zero line and the plunger. As little daylight as you can get - like the photo.
01unit-1.jpg



However, on the sticky notes it says daylight over the line is .2U. If the plunger was touching the line it was touching the top, but I think there was that tiny bit of daylight.
Fine dose gradations from Steve and Jock:
0.5U = exactly half a unit
0.4U = skinny 0.5 touching the line
0.3U = skinny 0.5 with daylight under the line
0.2U = fat zero with daylight over the line
0.1U = fat zero touching the line

When I count drops, it seems to be one large drop, but it could be two small drops. Yesterday I know I pushed two very small drops out before giving the shot.

Help! Thank you for the millionth time! :cat: Also, should I test again, and when? +4.25 85 was 45 minutes ago.
 
I think if you get one test now before bed and she's still around the same or up, you can head to bed. Leave out some LC if you are worried.

Have you tried the dose where you push the plunger in hard, insert the syringe into the pen/vial, then let go of the pressure on the plunger and let the vacuum pressure pull in the small dose? Compare that to what you have been dosing and see if it's any smaller.

The one thing I don't like about some batches of BD's is that often there is a different amount of space between the bottom of the syringe and the zero line.
 
She's 68. More HC? She has eaten quite a bit of her regular d/m canned in the last couple hours so I'm really surprised. Should I retest or wait 1/2 hour?
 
Looks like that's how long it takes the HC to wear off for her. She's right on the border of whether or not you feed her HC. The problem with feeding HC now is that you'll have to wait a couple hours again to see what happens when it wears off. If you don't feed HC and test in 1/2 hour and she's on her way up, then you know she's over her lows and on the way up for the night. The other options is to feed her a lot of HC to get her really high (say over 120) so you will know she's safe.
 
Okay - I'm not feeding the HC at this point because she has eaten a lot of her other food, so hopefully that will kick in shortly.

I tried the push the plunger dose and it didn't work. Not enough came back into the syringe.

What am I going to do about her AM shot?
 
If you can't get a smaller dose than what you've been doing the last couple of days, I'd skip and wait for advice from others.
 
If you've been having a sliver of daylight above the line (which is what I count as a .25 when I'm dosing) you should be able to get a smaller dose by having the plunger on the line, or even into the line a tiny bit, with no daylight showing. Try that with some water or something and see what you push out of it with the plunger at that level.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top