3/3/19 Olive AMPS 440; +4=302 (x2); +6=333; PMPS 534 L ear 540 R ear; +3.5=345

Status
Not open for further replies.

Olive & Paula

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

Preshots are just getting higher. This lady is hard to crack. I'm going to start looking for levemir off market. My vet is against it unless I can show him it works (had to do it with Lantus).

Wednesday she is suppose to have u/s we are expecting another snow storm that day. If it happens we won't make the appt. That really bums me out.

Interstate 84 is closed, that 46 miles because idiots were on the road and are now stranded. Serves them right to being stuck all night. It's because of them the road is closed.
 
@Wendy&Neko @Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) @Chris & China @Doodles & Karen

What do you think since although not ideal but better than it has been leaving the 3.5 for a day or two to see if she can adjust to it? Or would it put us back?

Only thing different today was she didn't get +3 meal. She wasn't begging and I was vacuuming. I gave 1/4 can at +4 and she ate half.

Is it possible that she is getting to much food for insulin to work? She's not begging but by now she normally has 2 cans in her.
 
I think it's fine to switch between every 4 to every 6 cycles with the increases but wouldn't hold it more then 6 unless you see blue. Once you see a good yellow switch from every 4 cycles to 6 cycles. On Lantus I fed Doodles at preshot and +4 with a snack if needed later in the day but not after +6 unless it was needed for low numbers. I might also try to grab a +2 here and there to see if she's doing any steep drops as sometimes she down a good 100+ pts by +3. +4 just for data.
 
Well that was a nice drop by +4!
Those PS numbers though! :p
It may take a while to find a good dose for her; you don't know how long she has been diabetic. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
I hope the weather cooperates with you and you're able to get her ultrasound done.
 
What do you think since although not ideal but better than it has been leaving the 3.5 for a day or two to see if she can adjust to it? Or would it put us back?

Only thing different today was she didn't get +3 meal. She wasn't begging and I was vacuuming. I gave 1/4 can at +4 and she ate half.

Is it possible that she is getting to much food for insulin to work? She's not begging but by now she normally has 2 cans in her.
The idea of fast tracking is to increase every 4 cycles until you see yellow. Close, but not quite there yet. Of course, if at any time you want to take a break and go to 6 cycles that's perfectly fine. You'll get there eventually with either 4 or 6 cycle increases until you see yellow. But something, and we don't know what, seems to be causing some insulin resistance in Olive. With some types of resistance, it's better to be more aggressive.

The food's not the issue, unless you were giving her super high carb food or she was ordering pancakes with syrup on the side. Like one of the older saying around here - she's flat as a pancake.

I hope your weather turns ASAP!
 
The idea of fast tracking is to increase every 4 cycles until you see yellow. Close, but not quite there yet. Of course, if at any time you want to take a break and go to 6 cycles that's perfectly fine. You'll get there eventually with either 4 or 6 cycle increases until you see yellow. But something, and we don't know what, seems to be causing some insulin resistance in Olive. With some types of resistance, it's better to be more aggressive.

The food's not the issue, unless you were giving her super high carb food or she was ordering pancakes with syrup on the side. Like one of the older saying around here - she's flat as a pancake.

I hope your weather turns ASAP!

No food over 4% carbs. I'm in contact with Alan to get some lev. Will keep the 4 cycle change. But I'm thinking it's gotta be more than 1 yellow or blue to show before holding the dose correct?
 
Sigh. :( Bouncing from low pink, or maybe it was size of the drop. On the plus side, when Neko was giving me black I knew the insulin was finally doing something for her. :rolleyes:

If you see a blue, definitely hold at least 6 cycles. If she just dips her toes in yellows, I might still increase faster. In other words, 290's won't do it. But if you were to get a single nadir in the mid 200's, I'd hold 6 cycles.
 
Sigh. :( Bouncing from low pink, or maybe it was size of the drop. On the plus side, when Neko was giving me black I knew the insulin was finally doing something for her. :rolleyes:

If you see a blue, definitely hold at least 6 cycles. If she just dips her toes in yellows, I might still increase faster. In other words, 290's won't do it. But if you were to get a single nadir in the mid 200's, I'd hold 6 cycles.

I think it will be awhile before the rose color glasses come off.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top