3-3-20 Moey AMPS=211 PMPS=207

Briere Fur Mom

Member Since 2019
3-2-20(Yesterday). Good morning. Everyone have a lovely day. Kitties be good and surf safely:D:cool: Prayers for all.

Yep, Moey didn't try to hide that yellow this morning. He said, "Look at what I can do!" :rolleyes:
Now, I'm trying to find the culprit of these higher than normal #s. I switched back to my preferred syringes last night PMPS. How long should I wait to let the depot "readjust" before opening a new pen and thus ruling the insulin out as being a culprit? In my mind it can be 1 of 3 things causing the increased #s.
1) Different syringe was being used temporarily.
2) Insulin is losing potency
3) Moey...something going on I don't know about healthwise.

I'm sorry for being persnickety about his #s. I just want Moey to be as close to normal #s as possible. I've given up on remission but, I still want what's best for him.:)
 
Last edited:
ruling the insulin out as being a culprit?

In 2 years I've never had a problem with the insulin. I use every pen to the last drop. Come to think of it I don't recall anyone saying their insulin caused any problems??
Sometimes they just need a bit more insulin. Ravan was regulated on 1/2 unit for quite a long time. Recently his BG started going up. Vet examined him & lab work came back,everything came out OK. He went from green to over 400!!:eek:
Increased his dose & he started coming down again. I'm not happy about it but I've decided to just try to go with the flow. One day at a time.
It does seem that the seasons or weather affects the BG some how. I hope he comes down as the weather warms up.
upload_2020-3-3_17-3-25.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-3-3_17-3-25.jpeg
    upload_2020-3-3_17-3-25.jpeg
    11.7 KB · Views: 76
Are you using calipers with the syringes? If so, did you adjust them for different syringe type?

I'd wait six cycles for the depot to stabilize, unless the numbers start trending higher. In which case I'd increase.

The only time my insulin when bad was when I was on a three day car ride with it in a cooler, but outside temps were in the 90's. Otherwise the numbers were either the cat, or me.
 
Are you using calipers with the syringes? If so, did you adjust them for different syringe type?
Yes and yes.
I ran out of Moey's normal syringes so, began using the leftover "off" brands we have. We already had the caliper measurements for Relion brand but, not the BDs. We got the measurement for the BDs. Moey started trending higher the cycle we began using the BDs. He did have a higher than normal +11.25 prior PMPS cycle(thought I missed a low # mid-cycle). I've been assuming the BD caliper measurement was off and had destabilized the depot.

I'm in denial that it could be Moey. Trying to blame everything else I suppose.:oops: We used every last drop of the previous pen with no problems. I wanted to confirm no one has encountered viability issues.
I'm hoping the revert to the syringe brand we've used consistently will bring #s back to normal. Paws crossed.
I'll hold this dose, then if his #s get too wonky I'll increase him before the 6 cycles.
Thanks for your input Wendy. It means alot!
 
Back
Top