3/3 Purrdy AMPS 211 +3 131 +4.5 124 PMPS 137 increased +2.5 106

Status
Not open for further replies.

purrdydolly

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

Recap
AMPS 137
+3 131
+6 126
PMPS 133
+3 112
+5 108

Last night I was consoling myself with the thought that, although we hadn't seen green for four days, it had been more than a week since we'd seen any yellow, so this morning...

This morning is 6 cycles on the increase so I'm thinking if there's no green today, or even just greens in the 90s I should go ahead and increase again tonight and I'm wondering at what point is the dose considered large enough so that the increases start going up in .5 units? Maybe a larger increase is what he needs to shake him up. He's currently on 3.5 units.

Not a great appy from Vyktor yesterday but he did have a great poop this morning. He's doing so much better at that with the pumpkin and coconut oil and is only having to go once to get it all out instead of his usual two, or sometimes even three, times :)

Meg rabbit seems to be actually stalking Purrdy now. Whenever I go near his door she moves to an appropriate attack position but she will hold off on the attack if I keep my eyes on her. She's also trying for the sneaky ambush by going into his room when he's out of it and waiting for us to come back, but I'm on to her!

Go Blackie go :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
 
Hi Serryn,
Have you considered the possibility that Purrdy is stressed out by Meg rabbit's hostility? Maybe that's why his numbers are rising? If you increase I think I would go with .25.

Good report on Vyktor. Have a good day,

Ella & Rusty
 
We typically move to .5 unit increases at a 5 unit dose. Think 10% increases. So, for now it would be .25 units. Good luck with the increase.

How are Purrdy's 5 P's? Appy OK?
 
I really don't think Purrdy is stressed much by Meg, he's a very laid back cat. Apart from a little hissing at Vyktor in his first few days here he hasn't shown any signs of stress and he still hasn't hissed at Meg at all. He hasn't liked it the couple of times Meg's cornered him but has relaxed as soon as he's been rescued, other than that he's far more interested in getting to his treats than in whether or not she's glaring or growling at him. If it's testing time he'll look to me for a lift if Meg's hanging around but if it's an actual meal time he'll still want to run straight past her, though I do give him a lift if she's hanging about as I don't want there to be actual violence which could turn it into a bigger issue and have one or both of them getting injured.

Purrdy never plays (like Vyktor) but other than that I think all five Ps are all in place for Purrdy - preening, pooping, peeing, doh what is the other one, is it P for clean Plate - never any problems there Purrdy is always hungry and very excited about food, or is it Purring? No worries there either. He has a very quiet purr so that you have to feel his neck or put your head against his chest to catch it but plenty of that going on, particularly at testing/treat time :) he seems well within himself. His poops were getting a little hard for my liking so I've been giving him 1/4 tsp of pumpkin every second day, everyday was getting them a bit too soft. He does pee 4-5 times a day, not large ones but he doesn't have any issues when he's going that would indicate any problems there - trying but not going, jumping in pain etc.

So I guess I'll put one leg back in the patience pants and do the .25 increase then - unless something exciting happens with today's cycle...

Thank you ladies :cat:
 
@julie & punkin (ga) I know! That's why I was thinking a jolt might be in order (maybe next time!) Have you ever seen one like him?? I know ECID but this seems to be ridiculously different to me. Everything about him has been atypical - he got neuropathy at such comparatively low levels but was not drinking or peeing excessively and now he just refuses to budge. It's certainly a lot easier testing wise than starting out in bounceville but... C'mon Purrdy I'm getting really concerned you're going to turn into a 20 unit cat and still be pulling the same numbers!
 
i have seen cats have the same BGs as you increase the dose. Keep increasing and the BGs stay about the same. I spent the summer of 2011 increasing punkin's dose and the BGs basically stayed yellow the entire time. Drove me nuts - i felt like I was running along behind him and simply couldn't get on top of things. I thought afterwards that I should've done larger increment increases. At 9u I was still doing 0.25u increases at times.

But i've never seen it in a blue range. That's what makes this different. Usually if we think there is a need to fast track a kitty it's because they have higher numbers and aren't budging. but it seems a little odd to fast-track a cat that's sitting in blues!
 
Serryn, some of us are talking about purrdy. Sienne is wondering if there is any chance he's poaching food somewhere outside?

Do you have a back-up glucometer that you could compare to the AccuCheck Performa? Or have you already done that?
 
I've done the double check with the meter by comparing it to Vyktor's meter - they were exactly the same which was a little surprising! Also when he first arrived he had a few days on Vyktors meter until mum came over with his.

There is absolutely no way he is poaching food as anytime he's out of his room I am with him.

ETA - unless he's eating the odd cockroach or spider but carbs wise they should be okay ;) I don't think he's even doing that though as I saw him with a cockroach the other day and he just gave it a couple of bats until it was on its back and then watched it flailing its little legs around.
 
I dunno guys, when you think about it, I have joked about Meg Rabbit stress, but consider also, Purrdy had to travel acorss the country to a strange place and that just has to have stressed him out just a little bit?? But I also wanted to ask, when did he last have a complete CBC done? Has he ever had his thyroid checked, for example? I don't want to scare you, but look at my little Tiger's SS- it is a nightmare but she has many underlying conditions that unbeknownst to me, have made it extremely difficult to get a handle on her numbers. ... OTOH, he could just be "being a cat" :eek:

Anywho, so it's back to Patience Pants I guess Serryn, so here ya go(p.s. these have kevlar, so they're uber strong to keep from bursting LOL):smuggrin:
camo-sliders.jpg
 
5 P's are peeing, pooping, preening, purring, playing. Sounds like he's OK on that front. Playing with cockroaches counts. :) How's his weight - close to what he should be? Has he ever had a blood pressure check done? Heart workup? I'm going through a couple of my articles on reasons cats can be stubborn.
 
Huh. Stubborn little Purrdy! I'm very curious to see what the input is on his dose.

If their rooms are close, do you think being able to smell Meg is putting him a little on edge? Do you have access to Feliway?

The cockroach? LOLOL! Practicing....;)
 
Overall, it sounds like Purdy is doing well, despite not giving you the numbers you crave. I have nothing to add to the ideas the others have put forward, so I guess I'll just join them in recommending the patience pants!

Good luck on the dosecrease!

Hooray for Vyktor's poo
icon_lol.gif
. Sending appy vines for him.
 
Vyktor did another poo :woot: considering that his eating hasn't been too good for the last couple of days I don't know how he managed two good sized ones today, maybe he'd been holding some in reserve!

Purrdy is definitely not stressed. The only time he's ever been stressed was when mum moved and he stopped being allowed to free range. I had a chat with her about it today, since he's not my kitty and I thought maybe I could have been missing some clues, but she says no he doesn't sound stressed to her at all. Even when he sticks his head out of his room and doesn't come because Meg is too close he's not stressed about it just waits for a lift and wriggles his way out of my arms purring onto the testing bench as soon as we get there. He had some mild stress when he first arrived in regard to Vyktor when he saw him but he stopped worrying about that (and hissing) after a few days.

His bloods were done a few months ago. I thought I had a copy here but I think I just have his sisters, will have a further look later. He's never had his BP done or a specific heart work up, but the vet does put the stethoscope on him every time he's there. He's not been tested for thyroid either but he is a bit overweight, hopefully a bit less so since he's been here!

The only other weird thing about him is he's got a little bald stripe down part of his spine. The vet thought it might have been flea related but I'm not convinced. Mum found an article today that mentioned in passing that this can happen with diabetic cats but did not elaborate further. I've not seen anyone mention it here before but I've done a bit of research on it and nothing other than fleas (which he has been treated for just in case) or because he's diabetic seems to fit. Certainly he has no other symptoms for Cushings.

@Wendy&Neko thank you so much for going through your articles for us it is so appreciated. What are the issues with BP and heart? Is there something you could direct me to check out? I should think it will be easy enough for his vet to check his BP as he doesn't get stressed there, but probably best he waits til he goes home to his regular vet. Anything in particular we should be looking out for with his heart in addition to the stethoscope listening?


I was out on my bike today to shoot into tbp so I actually had Kevlar pants on! Plain black ones though, not as funky as the camo ones from Ruth.
 
Hyperthyroidism is one of the causes we see here of insulin resistance. For example, Paula's Michael is fairly well controlled now with medication. It'd be a good idea to get a T4 test done for Purrdy at his next blood workup. Here's a paper I found on feline insulin resistance, that mentions most of the causes, except IAA. Heart disease is one they discuss.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top