3/3 - Sammy - AMPS 59; +1 76; +4 48; +6 63; +9 58; PMPS 73

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Sammy is doing fantastic!! If you don't believe us, just go back and look at January!!

Not only a sex change, but "something" sure has clicked for him!

LOL! I totally agree, Sammy is doing amazing, compared to the numbers from just two weeks ago. I guess it is the perfectionist in me that wants it to be the perfect environment for healing and potential to return to the falls.


FWIW - Our first reduction based on being all in normal numbers was after 27 cycles at 1.25u; we reduced to 1.0u.
It was a very weird feeling.
The balance of BKs reductions were earned that same way.
15 cycles at 1.0u
37 cycles at 0.75u
17 cycles at 0.5u
21 cycles at 0.01u
It took 2 months to go down the last bit of the dosing ladder to OTJ trial.
I caught about a dozen blues throughout those 2 months, the highest of which was 108.
Yes it makes sense. What you need is to string together a few cycles that are not influenced by anything.
To do that you will need to loosen up on the reins a bit, sit on your hands, observe and keep an open mind. Sammy is leading this dance and it may differ from the last one.
Follow his lead - the numbers will be your guide.

Thanks Sandy, I took a look at Black Kitty's spreadsheet and see how you took your decreases, and I will keep that in mind. Sunday was the first time that we had two cycles in a row that were under 120. I guess we will just have to see how it goes.


When I saw Sammy's AMPS this morning I was really not expecting it. I was a bit nervous about him still dropping so I gave 2 teaspoons of 8% with his regular MM at AMPS. Now at +1 I wish I had waiting for the numbers to warrant the 8% because he rose up to 76 in an hour. I know, I know this is still perfectly fine, but I was hopefully we could keep him surfing in the 60's today. It is still possible because we have insulin in the system.

Fluids are due tonight, but I might wait to see where Sammy is at PMPS, and might hold off until tomorrow morning or tomorrow night.

Thanks for all the support everyone. I really appreciate it.
 
BWAHAHAHAAHA @Chris & China ;)

I'd just take it a cycle at a time, Tina. Overall he looks fantastic. I think if you want to tweak by adding a drop it's ok. I'm saying that specific to YOUR situation with Sammy, not about any other cat (said for lurkers.) You do a great job of monitoring and you know what you're doing.

Apparently that is exactly what I need to do, take it one cycle at a time. Based on Sammy's AMPS this morning, I DID NOT add the drop to the dose. I did not expect him to SLOWLY drop from PMPS to this morning. I will see where we are tonight at PS and make the decision if I will add a drop or not.
 
Apparently the mere talk about an increase, even a drop, worked Sammy in to a bit of a frenzy and he has now dropped below 50 this morning. Even though we are considering Sammy newly diagnosed because of the limited time on insulin and technically he has earned a reduction, I am wondering if we should go more slowly than a reduction of .25 or if we should go ahead and reduce to a 1.25 unit dose tonight.

I guess I will wait and see where Sammy is at PMPS tonight. I my guess is if he is under 80 at PS then I will probably take the .25 reduction, but if he is back in the low 100's I might consider just shaving off a bit, but not quite .25 units. What do you think?
 
Congrats on the reduction, how ever much you decide to take off. Those dosecrease threats are really powerful!:D

The other thing that plays into deciding how much to reduce is how much HC you have to feed and how hard you have to work to keep him up. The harder it is, then lean to a .25U reduction.
 
@Wendy&Neko I would call this one pretty easy to bring him back up. He wasn't dropping fast, so I gave him about 1/4 tsp of HC pate at +4 along with a teaspoon of his regular 4% food. When he had dropping another couple of points 30 minutes later I broke out the HC gravy food and used about a teaspoon of just the gravy. Thirty minutes after that he was back up to 54 and then an hour later he was 63.

I will probably still see how the rest of the day plays out before I make the final decision on what the reduction will be. No matter what I choose I know I will probably be second guessing myself for at least the next couple of days. It is what I do. LOL!
 
Sammy had an amazing day, mostly because mamabean didn't freak out and over carb. He surfed the 50's and 60's for most of the day like I had hoped he would. We are up a bit at PMPS, but this is the BEST PMPS we have this go round, so I can't complain. I did take the full .25 reduction to 1.25 units because he was under 80 and he typically goes lower at night. Like I said earlier I will probably be second guessing myself for the next day or so unless the numbers stay under 80 most of the time. We will see how it goes.

I will be sure to get enough tests to make sure he is safe and if that means a PJ party tonight then that is okay by me, even after Sammy woke me up at 4:00 am this morning a full hour and 15 minutes before AMPS. I guess he was hungry.

Here is a question. If I was to test at +11 and Sammy was 50 or slightly under, should I still go ahead and feed? Would that mean that I would have to wait a minimum of 2 hours after that feeding to get a PS, which would mean that the shot time would be pushed back? Or should I just monitor closely to to make sure he is dropping before I feed. I know we don't shot numbers lower than 50 and if he is dropping at +11 then likely he would be under 50 at PS, which would mean a skipped shot anyway. Is this right?
 
From the Shooting and Handling Low Numbers Sticky:
Some general rules when stalling (ECID):

** 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
** 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.

  • When 40’s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
  • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
If I'm concerned Neko might be dropping, I try to get a +10 test so I can feed her and not have it influence preshot.
 
From the Shooting and Handling Low Numbers Sticky:
Some general rules when stalling (ECID):

** 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
** 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.

  • When 40’s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
  • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
If I'm concerned Neko might be dropping, I try to get a +10 test so I can feed her and not have it influence preshot.

Thanks for this information Wendy. I do give Sammy a snack between +9 and + 9.5 to help curb the appetite until PMPS, I think this would help to keep him above 50 for PS,
 
Good call on the .25u reduction :cool:
I don't think presently there is a need to get any more granular (skinny,fat, drop etc.) than 0.25u changes.
Of course that could change further down the road. . .;)
 
I use the ReliOn Micro....the strips are a little more expensive than the Prime (I think it is), but I now get his strips from ADW, so I can usually get a deal on them :)

Two things I like about the micro.... 1. it takes a smaller amount of blood to test, and even after a year, I have issues sometimes getting enough blood and 2. In some meters you have to take the strip out and put it back in to "reset" it if you don't get the blood on there fast enough, not an issue with the micro....

I got it for about $16 at Walmart.....at Walmart the test strips are $35.88 for a pack of 100...again, I do buy them from ADW now and get a better deal on it.... I was not aware of the rebate thing @julie & punkin (ga) so I will be doing that right away :)

Would you mind telling me what strips you order from ADW for the Relion Micro Meter.
 
I too use the Arkray strips for my Micro meter sometimes. Early on I tested them and they work just fine. I then bought an Arkray for my back up meter.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top