3.30.15 Zoey 490 amps // pmps 329 +4 105 +6 285

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Rose, Mar 30, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rose

    Rose Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Monday... ugh.

    Started Zoe on her new dose last night and she's just all over the place. She goes high, she drops back down but stays in higher numbers. I'm wondering if the chicken broth isn't causing it. There was a little skin on the legs when I cooked them and maybe the fat from that is kicking her over now.

    On a more positive and perplexing note, the spots on her belly are considerably better after the coconut oil. I also stopped using the Neosporin Cream with Pain Reliever. ?? She's also sneezing again, even though she's on Clavamox; but she did spend the early part of her day on the front porch where her paws were green/yellow from all of the pollen. DH pressure washed yesterday afternoon so hopefully we've seen the last of it with all of the rain we've had.

    Going back to only water being added to her food. Will make sure to cook the next chicken with no skin at all.

    Best wishes everyone!

    yesterday's jousting...
     
  2. rhiannon and shadow (GA)

    rhiannon and shadow (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    I've heard of some kitties here being allergic to the neosporin.....

    I doubt that the broth is doing anything negative. I think that's just her cycle....
     
  3. Linda and Bear Man

    Linda and Bear Man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Hello,
    I'm popping in because Julie asked me to yesterday. I have not had a chance to read all of your posts, so my knowledge of your situation is not complete. I understand that there is a concern that Zoe may have Cushing's disease.

    My Bear Man had what is known as Iatrogenic Cushing's disease, that is, it was caused by long term use of steroids rather than being a naturally arising case caused by a tumour. As such, we did not pursue any diagnostics or treatments (the treatment would have been to stop his steroids), so I can't comment too extensively about those. His disease was diagnosed by his history and by his clinical signs of hair loss, poor hair coat, pot-belly, thin fragile skin, and muscle wasting. I have seen your photos, and to some extent Zoe's appearance is similar, except that her belly seems to be a lot more swollen that Bear's was. Bear did not have petechiae. I am wondering if the broken capillaries are a result of the pressure on the skin caused by swelling.

    I understand that Zoe has elevated white blood cells and low red blood cells. Those are two items that I would like to see the vet address. I also wonder if the belly swelling is due to fluid in the abdomen. Has that been ruled out? It would not explain the hair loss - has the belly been shaved in the past, or has the hair fallen out on its own?

    There is a test for feline Cushings - the urine cortisol/creatinine ratio. There are others as well, and the vet may also want to pursue with other tests and diagnostic imaging. There is also a medication called Trilostane that is sometimes used.

    A big concern for cats with Cushings is skin tears. You should try to do everything you can to protect the skin from trauma. I understand that you have been trying different ointments on the skin. I can't comment if they would be helpful or not, but I would use extreme caution with anything that might irritate the skin or cause her to want to try and lick it. Does your kitty go outside? I would be concerned that, if so, that she might hurt her skin on something sharp outside.

    I understand that you are going to see a specialist shortly. I'm glad to hear that. I hope that you are able to get a diagnosis and some ideas about what can be done to help Zoe. Best of luck, and I will be interested to hear what the vet says.
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2015
  4. Rose

    Rose Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Thank you, @Linda and Bear Man

    I'm not trying to get ahead of the diagnosis and claim her as having Cushings. We've just talked about the "what-ifs" and if so, then what we would do. Her blood work is high in all of the right areas and lower in the right areas, too. The vet was the one who was going to meet with an internist and see what they thought he should test for or treat for based on the tests he's already conducted. I would say that with all of the information we now have, she's got more tics in the Cushings boxes and it is a worry. Having said that, I'm having hopeful beliefs that it's not Cushing's though. Since I've been putting CO on it, it's clearing up. Seems to me that's something topical and not so much her skin breaking down. She is shaved (less than 60 days' growth) and her stomach (as you can see in her avatar) has always been thick with hair. I'm starting to wonder if all of the spraying DH has been doing for fleas (on the outdoor rugs and concrete, mulch ... places she likes to sun) is not what might be causing the problem. I mean, I would think that's a very sensitive area having had all that hair acting as a barrier for all of her life and now her little belly :)rolleyes:) is touching stuff it's never touched before. Either that, or perhaps the Neosporin Cream with Pain Relief. (I'm claiming that scenario so keep her in your prayers.) As far as her belly's size: I have definitely been over feeding her and I also think she was so super hungry because of tape worms. Three vets have said they didn't think it was worms but I've seen them and she's been treated and they've been seen after treatment and this second treatment I do not see any more. Her stomach does not seem as bloated and she's eating half the food she was eating. ... she's lucky I've not killed her already. :banghead:

    I will definitely tag you in a post if it turns out that's the path we travel next. Your experience and willingness to share is appreciated. And BTW, I watched Bear Man's tribute; he was so sweet and precious and it is such a touching tribute. I had a little boy baby like him (some of the pictures where Bear Man appears more gray could be my Rocky boy's twin) and seeing those pictures brought back wonderful memories. Sure do wish we could have kept them longer.
     
  5. Rose

    Rose Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Woo Hoo!! 96. ??? Going to buy a lottery ticket!

    I'm keeping coconut oil on her belly and I've got her wrapped up with an Ace bandage. (I need to post a picture). It's keeping her belly protected when she lies around on stuff so we'll see if that clears the issues up before her next vet visit. For now, she's eating, pottying, grooming and sleeping so we'll count those blessings and monitor the rest while she continues to heal.
     
  6. Rose

    Rose Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Plan is to shoot 3.5 units at anything above 150, then monitor. I will, of course, check back here before doing anything and I will not shoot if it's under 150 until I've fed her, tested, and waited for the BG to rise above 150 ... then shoot.

    Please let me know if that plan is confirmed or denied. :) :D:D:D
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2015
  7. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Woohoo! :D:D:D Go Zoey!! I'm so glad Linda stopped in, she's a wealth of information on so many things cat related.

    If Zoey's under 150 at test time, DO NOT FEED, and post here for help. There are a few options at that point (check out the Sticky on Shooting or Handling Low Numbers), and one of them is the stall option. But you want to stall 20-30 minutes before retesting, without feeding, to see if she's rising naturally without influence of food.
     
  8. Rose

    Rose Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Thanks @Wendy&Neko ... I'll go re-re-reread the sticky on shooting or handling low numbers. (Sure do wish it would stick to my brain!) ... I'll for sure post here if she's below 150 and not feed before I do anything else. 5:30 ET is our shoot time ... just fyi for those who may be in the area and wish to drop in.
     
  9. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I'll try to stop in but not 100% sure where I'll be then. You can always test at +11 to give you a heads up as to what might be happening at PMPS time.
     
  10. Linda and Bear Man

    Linda and Bear Man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Thank you for the kind comments on Bear Man's video. I'm glad to hear that she was shaved and that the hair didn't fall out on its own. That makes her sound a little less Cushingoid. I think that the parasites could also be a plausible explanation. I am interested to hear what the vet says.
     
  11. Rose

    Rose Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    So, no worries on it being too low. ... One day she'll get there..... And we'll be ready. :D
     
  12. Rose

    Rose Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Here's how it works: If I post that it may go low, it won't. If I don't give someone a heads up, it will. :/ We're at +4 and she should continue to drop for a few more hours. I'll be up for a while. I'm not really sure where her nadir is anymore and just because she starts climbing before +8 doesn't mean she's not going to drop at +9. She's really been all over the map lately so .... I'll be up and keeping her spreadsheet current. :)
     
  13. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Your last longer post was full of good info about possibilities. I think worms are a very possible reason for her enlarged belly. I'd also worry about the flea treatments. We had a terrible infestation when my kids were little and we sprayed the heck out of everything, including the yard and the house. I hate to think now what it might have done to everyone.

    Hopefully your fleas are now under control and the exposure to those toxins is done. I'd worry about that and i do think it could affect her skin if she's sensitive to those particular chemicals.

    I'm looking at her ss and see a 105 at +4 tonight. Looks like she's clearing her bounces in one cycle - that's fantastic! I'm around and will look back in a couple of hours.

    You're doing great.
     
  14. manxcat419

    manxcat419 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    I'm about on and off for at least another 4 hours tonight. I'll mark this post watched so I get updates so I'll know to look back in if you post needing help, and I'll check back periodically too. She's looking really good so far though! :D

    And I agree - if I say anything about Rosa dropping quickly or maybe going low, she surfs or goes back up a bit. The days I didn't mention anything, especially when she was on a higher dose and racing down the scale, she'd drop and drop some more...and some more. I'd always go with giving people a heads up as early as you can - that way more of us will see it before it gets late and people start disappearing for the night.
     
    Rose likes this.
  15. Rose

    Rose Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Oh, good! Neighbors who are awake. Good to know who they are so you can scream in their direction if needed. :)

    I posted so Zoey is climbing. +5, 183. I'll check her again before her 11:30 (+6) and see where we are. Will let y'all know.
     
    julie & punkin (ga) likes this.
  16. manxcat419

    manxcat419 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Of course she is, she's a :cat: and they don't like to do anything predictable!

    I agree, checking her again at +6 sounds like a good idea - just in case she decides to head back down mid-cycle. The little troublemakers do like to throw random numbers at us occasionally. ;)
     
  17. Rose

    Rose Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Ain't that the truth and something we can all agree on?! LOL. It looks like Rosa's doing really well, April! :bighug:
     
    manxcat419 likes this.
  18. manxcat419

    manxcat419 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Thank you :) She's certainly off to a good start this evening even with another skipped shot this morning! I might be in the running for a late night myself at this rate (and now I've said that she'll come right back up to 120 or more at her next test)!! I'm really just waiting for next week when I can start working on her numbers in earnest and figure out exactly what dose she really needs at the moment but at least she's not getting completely out of control with her numbers while I'm having to skip doses most mornings. :)
     
  19. Rose

    Rose Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    It amazes me how we're all in the same boat but on entirely different journeys or excursions. I'm almost afraid to voice/write any well wishes since it'll just come back to jinx both of us. ... here, I'll send them to you telepathically. LOL
     
    manxcat419 likes this.
  20. manxcat419

    manxcat419 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Thank you - and some telepathic well wishes for you and Zoey too. :)

    Yes, our circumstances are all different and the ways our cats get to the numbers they need to be at are too - but we all have the same aim for all the extra-sweet cats here and one way or another we get them where they need to be. :)
     
  21. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I'm in the same time zone as April - I'll be up for a couple of hours yet too. But looks like you don't need any eyes - time to change the subject line.
     
  22. Rose

    Rose Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Yes, I will go and change it. Thought she'd go back down like she's been doing ... but I just shouldn't think. She's now at 285 :/
     
  23. manxcat419

    manxcat419 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    She's being considerate and letting you get some sleep is all - she'll be back to business tomorrow :)
     
    Rose likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page