3/30 Noodle AMPS 372 +4 304 PMPS 278 +3 283 +5 313

Status
Not open for further replies.
Noodle could just be bouncing some more. Furball used to drive me crazy with her bouncing. She would bounce from clearing a bounce. Then one day she stopped bouncing so much and started giving me lots of blue. Hang in there. :bighug::bighug::bighug: Focusing only on the numbers can drive us crazy. Remember, it's more important that Noodle feels good.
 
Awww a hug for me :)

C'mon down Noodle, time to put a big smile on mombean's face. If you can't manage that just now then a good supply of purrs and headbutts are called for.
 
Thanks Elise, Serryn, and Carla! I'm hoping that 304 was a good sign for the rest of the day. Since she was eating PM meals well, but not her AM, I split her 1/4 tab of Cypro into 1/8 and gave her that in the morning, helped immensely! CPC for every feeding from the autofeeder without my audience and prodding and when I was getting ready to leave before the feeder had turned to the last meal, she meowed and led me to it like "Hey! Make it go again! You can't leave yet!" I don't think she realizes it's not me turning it just yet. ;) We even had time for a little playing this morning with her very hi-tech shoelace toy. Her nanner doesn't seem as potent (and she can't possibly play with the rainbow or fish), so maybe she'll get that tomorrow if she's good! :cat:
 
Nausea question: would it be a sign of nausea if she's burping/hiccuping after eating? She's had 1/4 tab (4mg) Cerenia before PMPS since Friday, but I still catch her doing this weird gassy burp after she eats. No vomiting aside from her adventures in scarf-n-barf last night. Wondering if I should increase the Cerenia dose.
 
Nausea question: would it be a sign of nausea if she's burping/hiccuping after eating? She's had 1/4 tab (4mg) Cerenia before PMPS since Friday, but I still catch her doing this weird gassy burp after she eats. No vomiting aside from her adventures in scarf-n-barf last night. Wondering if I should increase the Cerenia dose.

Yes that could definitely be a sign of nausea. I'm not sure what you are saying but if she hasn't had any cerenia since Friday, it's long since worn off. It lasts about 24 hours. If giving it every day she might need a larger dose. Another drug that many of us find work better for nausea is ondansetron, a human drug.
 
I just saw the previous post. What strength are your cerenia pills? How much did your vet say to give? They don't absorb the pills as well as the shots but I much prefer the pills as the shots sting most cats.

I think I gave 16 pound Max 8mg so that would be too much.
 
Last edited:
Yes that could definitely be a sign of nausea. I'm not sure what you are saying but if she hasn't had any cerenia since Friday, it's long since worn off. It lasts about 24 hours. If giving it every day she might need a larger dose. Another drug that many of us find work better for nausea is ondansetron, a human drug.
Oh, she's been given the 1/4 tab every day since Friday! So Fri-Sun she's had 4mg each evening. Think it's safe to try 1/2 tab tonight? ETA: Theyre 16mg, I think it says 1/4 tab once daily, but I could be wrong...

Also, I've seen things saying cats shouldn't get Cerenia daily for more than a short period of time, but her script doesn't mention that. Any ideas on if I should give a day off?
 
They used to say not to give cerenia for more than 5 days and then take a 2 day break. Now more and more I see that not being followed. Those that do give the break often use ondansetron. That is what I give Max when he gets nauseous. How much does she weigh?
 
They used to say not to give cerenia for more than 5 days and then take a 2 day break. Now more and more I see that not being followed. Those that do give the break often use ondansetron. That is what I give Max when he gets nauseous. How much does she weigh?
At the vet a few weeks ago she was 8.1lbs, I've gotten between 8-9lbs on holding her on my scale (within the same minute!). Her vet is out of town or I'd ask her about ondanestron. Plus, I bought the whole package of Cerenia, so it feels wasted just giving up after 3 days!
 
I would use the cerenia. Ondansetron is a human drug. I get the prescription and buy it at Costco. If you are ever nauseous you can use it too. I hesitate to say increase a dose without your vet's okay but I'm going to look at the recommendations made by a vet I know that responds on a list and will be back. I trust his guidelines 200%.
 
I would discuss this with your vet. I'm not a big fan of overusing prescription meds. Is this nausea or a tummy upset? Would your vet think that Pepsid might help if this is just an upset stomach? Ondansatron is expensive -- at least in pill form. It's also a powerful anti-nausea med -- it's what is often prescribed for chemotherapy patients. (And I wouldn't take it if there's any chance you or your cat is pregnant. There's a class action suit going on for it's use during pregnancy.)
 
Noodle would be a little over 3.5 kg, so the dose of 4-8 mg would be right. Neko is, ahem, heftier, and was prescribed 1/2 a pill a day. Any chance you could put a quick call into the vet to confirm the dose?
 
Noodle would be a little over 3.5 kg, so the dose of 4-8 mg would be right. Neko is, ahem, heftier, and was prescribed 1/2 a pill a day. Any chance you could put a quick call into the vet to confirm the dose?
Oh I have a dose on the script, I'm just not at home to look at it and sort of brainstorming about her weird burp/hiccups and if it could warrant looking closer at her Cerenia dose.

I would discuss this with your vet. I'm not a big fan of overusing prescription meds. Is this nausea or a tummy upset? Would your vet think that Pepsid might help if this is just an upset stomach? Ondansatron is expensive -- at least in pill form. It's also a powerful anti-nausea med -- it's what is often prescribed for chemotherapy patients. (And I wouldn't take it if there's any chance you or your cat is pregnant. There's a class action suit going on for it's use during pregnancy.)
Thank you for the input! Thankfully neither of us are at risk of pregnancy. ;) I do appreciate the info that ondanestron is so powerful, I don't think its right for our situation in that case. She was showing signs of nausea and inappetance most of last week. There is a chance it is dental related pain (she needs one, I have to wait about a month to afford it), but in the meantime she needs to eat (without me hovering and prodding her, I have to leave for work) and eat mostly her same food. I can't just offer new foods to see if she wants something else because she gets diarrhea pretty quickly; possible allergies, but we can't nail it down yet. I didn't want to go the route of appetite stimulants without giving an anti nausea med on the chance her signs of nausea really are nausea as well as some pain. Pepcid was not working and her vet agreed that a stronger anti nausea could help. I've discussed this all with her, too, I was just wondering about others' experiences with Cerenia and if her burping could mean she's still nauseous. At least this weekend it was more like once after a meal, rather than a couple times that leads to me following her with something to catch it if she did vomit :confused: I think I'll stick with the 4mg and reach out to her doctor again about the 5 on/2 off dosing.
 
I must disagree with Sienne. Ondansetron is used for nausea associated with pancreatitis, kidney disease, and cancer. It is not associated with a lot of side effects. Ask your vet.
 
Ok, let's try the yellow PMPS again Noodle, this time work the juice like you mean it!

Thanks for the input about the meds, I'll bring all the info to my vet next time we speak and see what she has to say! I really appreciate the wealth of knowledge that I've found here.

I had a very hungry cat on my hands when I got home, her last mini meal was set to go at 11am... except I scheduled it for 11pm! At least her begging for food involves lots of loving and purring and snuggles :cat: I opted against the second split dose of Cypro tonight since she seems to want to eat pretty well. Maybe it will just work better for us in the morning!
 
At least you're getting yellow and pink on this bounce instead of pink and red like the last time - and hopefully with a preshot in yellow, she'll slide down a little into some blue numbers for you tonight! :)

It's a shame she's feeling nauseous. Rosa had her dental done about 4 months before she was diagnosed, but she definitely vomited less after it - I think she was gulping food down to avoid chewing much. Which might also explain Noodle's hiccuping after she eats if she's gulping down food and air. It's so difficult to tell with cats - Rosa showed no real signs of obvious discomfort from her mouth even though she badly needed a cleaning (and 1 extraction and they found one tooth that had been almost fully resorbed which they left - there was so little of it still there they reckoned it would be gone completely a week or so later). She's the first cat I've ever had that needed a dental (or at least I think she is - my old vet in the UK who also took care of all my previous kitties never mentioned there was anything wrong with her teeth, so I had no idea there was a problem until I registered her with the vet here) so I had no clue what to look out for either which didn't help!
 
Glad to hear Noodle ate well tonight. When you give Cerenia, it is my understanding that the stomach should be empty, and it should not be given with even a pill pocket as this negates the absorption. I give it at least an hour, preferably 2 hours before AMPS feeding to give it time to kick in. My vet said to give 4mg(1/4 tablet and Tiger weights 12 pounds now), but I cut that in half once she has had a day or 2 in her system. Pepcid is great for stomach acid but not necessarily nausea. Tiger has early stage CKD, by morning she can have stomach acid, which causes white foamy vomit. I am more concerned with her diarrhea, what has your vet said about the diarrhea issue?

RE:burping.....she may not be digesting her food very well and there is a lot of gas building up from the digestion process. Any food whether that be a dry food or a wet food can cause this in cats. It may be more the specific brand that you are feeding her. I would ask your vet about this- is he aware of the belching?
 
Glad to hear Noodle ate well tonight. When you give Cerenia, it is my understanding that the stomach should be empty, and it should not be given with even a pill pocket as this negates the absorption. I give it at least an hour, preferably 2 hours before AMPS feeding to give it time to kick in. My vet said to give 4mg(1/4 tablet and Tiger weights 12 pounds now), but I cut that in half once she has had a day or 2 in her system. Pepcid is great for stomach acid but not necessarily nausea. Tiger has early stage CKD, by morning she can have stomach acid, which causes white foamy vomit. I am more concerned with her diarrhea, what has your vet said about the diarrhea issue?

RE:burping.....she may not be digesting her food very well and there is a lot of gas building up from the digestion process. Any food whether that be a dry food or a wet food can cause this in cats. It may be more the specific brand that you are feeding her. I would ask your vet about this- is he aware of the belching?
Thank you for such a thoughtful response. I hadn't heard Cerenia shouldn't be given with even a pill pocket, it's really the only way I can get her to take pills without a lot of stress but I will definitely try pilling her (she'll be mad though, the duck pill pockets are her favorite!). I even asked specifically if I could use it!

The diarrhea is only when I change her food. We thought it was fish, but I realized the Pro Plan kitten food she's been eating has fish and she's fine on it! I've been mixing in the adult version for two days now and so far so good, the only ingredient difference is a lack of fish and rice compared to the kitten food. She had a CBC done about 1 week after her last food related diarrhea episode, so one week only on the Proplan again, and had a mild elevation in her Eos. value, which the vet said could indicate an allergic reaction. We're pretty sure it's a food allergy, I just haven't had a chance to figure out the culprit.

The hiccup-burp is just odd. I haven't discussed with the vet, yet, but what April said makes a lot of sense now that I consider it all. I wonder if she's gulping food and swallowing air, too. When it happens, it's pretty much directly after she eats and sounds the way I sound when I'm trying to hold in a burp after drinking soda too fast. It would explain why she's had a few scarf-n-barfs, too. I wish she could just explain it all to me!
 
Last edited:
I'm sorry you guys are having such a bad time. I think you're right on with the explanation about her BGs, though. I think it's as simple as a failed reduction. She was doing ok at 1.0u and when she got a reduction, she lost the green numbers. You've gone back up in dose so hopefully, she'll get back on the green track before too long. It looks like tonight she's starting in yellow and maybe she's leaving the pink numbers behind.

The beauty of this site is the wealth of experience from a variety of people - sometimes it can be hard to figure out how to move ahead when information conflicts. I say that because I'm about to give conflicting experience on the cerenia, hahahahaha. I gave it to punkin in a duck and pea pill pocket and it definitely was effective. I liked using it a lot. Perhaps it reduces its efficacy some, but it may be that in spite of that, it's still effective. It was for punkin.

Try not to obsess about the dental. You are doing a heroic job with Noodle, far more than many people would do for their cat. Just do the dental when you can and know you're doing your best for her in the meantime. :bighug:
 
I'm sorry you guys are having such a bad time. I think you're right on with the explanation about her BGs, though. I think it's as simple as a failed reduction. She was doing ok at 1.0u and when she got a reduction, she lost the green numbers. You've gone back up in dose so hopefully, she'll get back on the green track before too long. It looks like tonight she's starting in yellow and maybe she's leaving the pink numbers behind.

The beauty of this site is the wealth of experience from a variety of people - sometimes it can be hard to figure out how to move ahead when information conflicts. I say that because I'm about to give conflicting experience on the cerenia, hahahahaha. I gave it to punkin in a duck and pea pill pocket and it definitely was effective. I liked using it a lot. Perhaps it reduces its efficacy some, but it may be that in spite of that, it's still effective. It was for punkin.

Try not to obsess about the dental. You are doing a heroic job with Noodle, far more than many people would do for their cat. Just do the dental when you can and know you're doing your best for her in the meantime. :bighug:
Thanks! This weekend was tough for me as a caregiver, but today feels much more positive overall. She's eating great with just 1/8 a tablet of Cypro given at 6am, she's more active and affectionate, seems to be drooling less (maybe because I had to work and couldn't stare at her face all day, haha). We just had a nice half hour long lap snuggle session which she didn't bother with all weekend. As much as I love her and would do this forever, I think I needed the mental break a workday offers. I was spiraling a bit.

Hearing about everyone's different experiences is actually nice, it gives me a better understanding that normal is all relative and gives me good questions to take to the vet, things to look out for, etc. I'm a person who does much better with more information, I like to know what I'm dealing with in a broad sense, so it does help even when the information conflicts. I have a LOT of questions that come to me and its not always easy to find the answers on the forum search! Thank you for taking the time to answer some of them!
 
One important take-away from this is that cats really are different, and what works best for one might not work best for another. This way you know the various options and can work through them to see what works best for Noodle.

I'm glad today was better. It is a tough disease.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top