3/4 Ming PMPS = 288, +2 = 344

Crista & Ming

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-3-ming-pmps-268-2-180-4-49-4-5-92-5-56-6-52.211431/

Ming dropped to 49 at +3 last night. I gave him HC mixed with LC and he went up to 92 and then dropped back to the 50s.

Does the 49 count as the second time he’s gone under 50? So one more time and he earns a reduction? However, I’d be really hesitant to reduce if he’s breaking a bounce. He seems to dive quite dramatically. Is that something to consider as well when it comes to reductions?
 
In my opinion it counts towards your 3 drops below 50

49 could have been 58 with the 20% variance. If it was a bounce breaking cycle, I don't think it should be counted since it's just under 50 cut-off.
or by that reasoning it could have been 39.
I'm not sure about the reasoning behind it being a bounce breaking cycle it shouldn't count not something I have come across. Also Cristas mom fed at +3, and that didn't stop him, with the dosing we need to look at the lows and our dosing decisions need to be governed by them, not taking reductions when they are earned can lead to an overfull depot and a situation where CG can be fighting to keep numbers up. In Mings case we are already being more aggressive by waiting for 3 drops below 50 so ignoring a number below 50 could prove problematic.
Probably bouncing or food but maybe the insulin will kick in later

+1.5 = 320
Looks like he is dropping back with onset. Looking at the feed last night the HC at +6 was probably not necessary, he was holding steady the previous hour with the LC, so I would have stuck with that. Using HC later in the cycle will bump up numbers more than when you use it early in the cycle and using it later in the cycle can shorten the duration resulting in the numbers zooming up.
 
I'm not sure about the reasoning behind it being a bounce breaking cycle it shouldn't count not something I have come across. Also Cristas mom fed at +3, and that didn't stop him, with the dosing we need to look at the lows and our dosing decisions need to be governed by them, not taking reductions when they are earned can lead to an overfull depot and a situation where CG can be fighting to keep numbers up. In Mings case we are already being more aggressive by waiting for 3 drops below 50 so ignoring a number below 50 could prove problematic.
All valid points. Crista, I would listen to Gill instead of me as she does have a lot more experience than I do.
 
I agree with Gill. The three times under method is already a more aggressive method for earning reductions. You don’t wNt to make it more so. Believe me, with a depot the size of Ming’s, you do NOT want to be caught with an overfull depot. Been there, done that, seen the 20’s. :eek:

Nice amount of green time last night. :)
 
Thanks everyone for the advice :) I'll count yesterday's as the second time.

Maybe he went blue during the AM cycle but no one was home at the time to monitor.

PMPS = 288
+2 = 344
 
Back
Top