3-7 Gizmo PMPS (+13)=117; +2.5=109; +4=66; +4.5=70; +5=77; +6=68; +6.5=88; +8=99 Shot Lev tonight

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chubba (GA)

Member Since 2017
Yesterday

I gave 4 units of lantus this morning ... starting Lev tonight. Thinking 2.5 or 3 units? I’m pretty sure based on Gizmo’s numbers, all the air bubbles in the syringe, and it felt strange when injecting that he didn’t really get 4 units of lantus last night. Of course it could also be that now that he is eating better, 4 units isn’t enough. I guess I’ll see what he does on the 4 unit dose today and decide tonight’s starting dose from there.
 
I think 3 will be fine as long as you can monitor closely for the 1st few cycles. And you can fast track back up quicker than the TR 6-cycle protocol if needed
 
Got a +11 =75 on 4 units

I’m thinking start at 2.5 units lev tonight. Shot will be about an hour late. Had to leave. Went ahead and fed some LC just now.

@Wendy&Neko
 
2.5 or 2.75 is a good idea on the starting dose of Lev. Remember under 5u increases and decreases are done in .25u increments. 70% of 4u Lantus is 2.75 but having a buffer with 2.5 isn’t a bad idea with his appy being iffy and cabergolin in the mix.
 
+13 = 99 (food influenced for 25 more minutes)

Worried to shot Levemir. Is anyone going to be around to help if needed tonight? He’s been so unpredictable lately, I’m just worried about what might happen.
 
How’s his appy? I assume you have all the tools, hc, strips etc? I can check in tonight for a bit. If you’re tired or stressed it’s ok to skip IMHO and start in the morning. ETA some have a marked response and some don’t.
 
How’s his appy? I assume you have all the tools, hc, strips etc? I can check in tonight for a bit. If you’re tired or stressed it’s ok to skip IMHO and start in the morning. ETA some have a marked response and some don’t.
He’s eating again. Did another check when food wore off and he went up to 117. Just shot 2.5 units. Fingers crossed for a successful night.
 
I am on the west coast up for probably 5.5 hours. The Lantus depot will be most of what you see this cycle.

Love the Lev Gizmo.
 
+4 = 66

Here we go again ... and I was just ready to head to bed for a few hours until +6. :banghead:

2tsp MC given
 
Me too ... I just remembered that I have an 8:45 meeting in the morning. :(

I have to leave early too for an appointment for my daughter. They always seem to know when we need to sleep and pick those times for funny business. :rolleyes: A very cat thing to do, if you ask me!
 
+5 = 77

Do I take a reduction in the morning? Not sure with the switching of insulin.

That's a tough call since you have both insulins still in the mix, but you can always go back up in dose if the reduction doesn't work out, what you can't do is take away too much insulin. My two cents is to play it safe, especially with all of Gizmo's recent super reduction wackiness.
 
+6 = 68
Gave another 2tsp MC

I have no idea when his nadir will be. :(

ECID so I have no idea if this will apply to you or not since cats like to foil us when we apply a formula, but Asia had a pm nadir at around +5 on Lantus, her onset was often right away (until she started eating like a pig). Nadir with Lev is around +8 and onset is about +2.5, so I feel like the difference in onset pushed the nadir out by that amount, her new nadir is roughly 2.5 hours later than it was for Lantus.
 
Do I take a reduction in the morning? Not sure with the switching of insulin.
I'd see where he is in the morning. The higher Lantus depot is in play, maybe even some influence from the 6 unit shot 5 cycles ago. Plus you could be seeing the "some cats have a strong reaction to the switch" effect. Typically the strong reaction is just an initial reaction. If you consider this a reduction from the 4.0 Lantus depot, that would be 3.75 units of Lantus. 70% of that is 2.6 units of Lev. I think I'd decide to reduce in the morning or not based on ability to monitor and whether he drops any more tonight.

Neko's Lev onset was a couple hours later than her Lantus one. Typical nadir was 2-3 hours later. She moved her nadir around a lot so it was seldom at the same time each cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top