3/7 Purrdy AMPS 167 increased +3 131 +4 131 +6.5 142 PMPS 185 +2 153 Chia seeds?

Status
Not open for further replies.

purrdydolly

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

Recap
AMPS 133
+2 135
+4 126
PMPS 151
+3 140
+5 115

No surprises here - flat blue. I know this is a problem many of you might like to have but grrrrrrr, very little time spent in the healing range at this dose - none yesterday. Increased to 4 units this morning. Will have to ring his vet at home today and explain why I'm ignoring her instructions to increase less frequently. I may as well discuss the possibility of doing a urine culture with her too and see what she thinks. I might even take him to get it done here as I suddenly thought this morning why wait. If that is causing a problem with his numbers I'd rather get it sorted and have the numbers break while he's here although it might already be a little to late for that, I suppose the culture takes a few days and then if there is a problem ABs would take a few days to kick in, hmmm that would put him right about on the plane home... Do they have to sedate them to take the urine?

Meg has been behaving since she thought Purrdy was chasing her. Purrdy has been chasing everything while on his walks. He chased off an interloper cat yesterday, the force he dragged me after him with he could have been a german shepherd! He really enjoys his outside time :)

Vyktor was at 3/4 rations again yesterday but given how little he is moving around maybe that's about right. He seems to be sore round the hips/lower back and also a bit stiff in the back legs. It's really warm (read hot) here right now so arthritis shouldn't really be giving him any trouble but I'm going to get some stuff to treat for it anyway and see if that will pick up his activity levels. Hopefully he'll not mind it on his food, I don't need any more difficulties getting that into him!

Congratulations Blackie and Angela :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
 
Good luck with the dosecrease. Sorry, I don't know about the urine culture. I hope what you give Vyktor helps him feel better.
 
Sure am sending vines, Serryn, that everything gets sorted out with Purrdy. Sure sounds like he's feeling pretty good if he's doing a GSD impersonation!

I've had urine drawn with the needle...well, may cats have!...and none of them needed to be sedated. Not even my Charlie who was once brought out to me from the back of the vets with the announcement, "You have a mean kitty." He did hate the vet!

My Boomer has the back end stiffness. Awkward gait. Discomfort when nesting. Seems to be lower back just before the tail and above the hips. Vet suggested gabapentin but I haven't tried it yet. Soon, I think.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Has anyone tried chia seeds with their diabetics? I was just reading that they can help and they're full of antioxidents which I understand can help with insulin resistance. Thinking I should try those on Purrdy... Waiting for a call back from the vets here as to whether they think the urine culture is a good idea.

Meanwhile we now have weruva cats in the kitchen in Oz so I'm off to get some for Vyktor and the joint guard - he'll probably hate both!

@pollydoodle do they think Boomers issues stem from arthritis too? I haven't got time to check into gabapentin right now - on my dead computer I used to have a great favourite that gave you all the pros and cons of various cat medications, I don't suppose anyone knows a site like that? - but if it is I'm wondering whether you wouldn't be better off trying the natural alternatives first too.
 
Serryn, Tanya's site has a lot of info on medications. It's my go-to place when I need to find out about something like that.

I know nothing about Chia seeds, so can't help you there.

Good job, Purdy, in putting Meg in her place! Even if you didn't do it on purpose! ;):joyful:

Sending healing vines for Vyktor's back end pain.

Is it really almost time to send Purrdy home? It doesn't seem like he's been with you that long! Time flies.
 
but if it is I'm wondering whether you wouldn't be better off trying the natural alternatives first too.
I've tried Cosequin. I've tried Welactin Omega 3 fish oil for its anti inflammatory properties. Right now we're going for pain relief. My vet suggests gabapentin as the next step.

Marilyn
 
hang on.... if my memory is correct....
a recent post for Pua the anteater.... she was feeding chia seeds..... and it turned out they were high carb....

i'll come hunt the link for you in the morning.....
 
Should cats be eating seeds???
Hi Serryn, Good luck with Purrdy's dosecrease, and I hope that you can get the possible UTI diagnosed correctly. No sedation is needed for a cystocentesis (needle into the bladder). Vines for Vyktor's mobility issue. I can see that it might be a problem if the weather is so hot.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Good luck with Mr. F L A T.

Duplicating a bit of what I wrote on your Health post. You treat the arthritis separately from the pain. I use the Nordic Naturals Omega-3 fish oil (anti-inflammatory), a glucosamine supplement, and Hyaflex (hyaluronic acid). I've also got a Duralactin trial going on with "meh" reults so far. That's Neko's daily meds, plus she's on cartrophen (Adequan like) injections, now monthly. Once we discovered treating the arthritis itself was not enough, we moved to pain control. For pain she's on buprenorphine twice daily, compounded chicken flavour. We tried gapapentin but it just made her sleepy. Neko's vetty's choice of pain meds is bupe first, then gapapentin, then tramadol. Pain meds seem to be a bit ECID. Zener (Anne/Liz) and Buster (Tara) also tried gapapentin for a bit. A lot of beans with acro-kitties, who commonly get arthritis, swear by gabapentin.

There are also alternative medicine options. Neko gets acupuncture every 3-4 weeks, and I do daily acupressure. Some people have tried laser therapy, but I'd be cautious with that one, depending on where the arthritis is located.

I also got Neko a memory foam bed that she quite loves.
 
Look at Purrdy now-- all full of confidence in himself now that he has tamed the beast (Meg Wabbit) ! :smuggrin::smuggrin: They will not need to sedate for a cystocentisis, the results take a few days though. My experience was that the AB given to Tiger kicked in right away and her BG went crashing down, this happened twice! So if your Mum is taking him home soon, I might wait until she gets home before starting AB's.

If only there were a magic formula to sort through all the pros and cons of all of these drugs! if you find what you were looking for, please share it here! :confused:

Gentle hugs for Vyktor- I am glad Wendy responded. If you do try bupe, keep in mind that it causes constipation for Tiger! Is it an option to look at accupressure/accupuncture? Don't laugh, but Tai Chi/Yoga type exercizes really helped my bad back- I think the accupressure is sort of the same thing.
 
Definitely not laughing about the 'alternative medicines' I always think they're worth a try, at least there's rarely side effects from those and they do try to treat the cause rather than the symptoms. They are always the first port of call for me and I love Vyktor a whole lot more than I love myself so would always rather try natural first. Problem is how to find a good acupuncturist. I do believe it can work so I also believe they can screw things right up. Also Vyktor can be more than a little difficult - but he doesnt have many teeth left so acupuncturist should be fairly safe ;)Will start making enquiries. I had a lot of difficulty getting Bupe to take home even after Vyktors dental and jaw scraping and it does send him into lala land so hopefully we don't have to go there. I don't think we can compound here, I've never heard of such a place (except on the board) - perhaps more enquiries are in order...

On the plus side got lots of new fuds to try Vyktor on - weruva cats in the kitchen has made it to Australia! Also a variety of wellnesses, some holistic, advance and some sort of raw freeze dried stuff from NZ that I need to add water to to turn it into food. I got the joint guard too. I let him smell the container. He didn't want to start eating it out of that but nor did he look disgusted so I'm hoping he'll accept it in his food.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top