3/8 Ming PMPS = 166, +2 = 200

Crista & Ming

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-6-ming-pmps-356-amps-301-2-286.211597/

Ming puked twice at +8 (food). So I gave him bupe and ondansetron. I didn't want to pill him cerenia in case he puked again. He started asking for food, so I gave him 1/4 of can of FF. It seemed like he ate a few bites. Then puked it all out again. So I gave him about 100 mL of SQ fluids and tried to pill cerenia but it stayed in his mouth and the taste was too bitter so he started foaming. The rest of the pill flew outta his mouth haha.

At +9, I let him rest, observed him as he continued to lick his lips and knew he was going to vomit again which he did. Vomited twice but it was clear liquid. Observed that he wasn't licking his lips any longer so I pilled cerenia again and was successful! That was about 5 minutes ago. Now he's on my bed, curled up with his eyes closed.

So I have a few hours before shot time and I hope by then, he'll still eat so I can shoot. If he doesn't eat, I'm guessing i should give him a reduced dose. But I'll post his numbers as shot time gets closer and ask for advice :)
 
PMPS = 182

He’s eating but not 100%. And dropping. Any suggestions?

If there’s no replies I think I’ll give a reduced dose of 8 units instead haah. Just to give myself some safe space :)
 
I don't have an answer. You have dka to think about, but then kitty isn't eating and it's unknown if Ming will eat later. Although you could assist feed if necessary.

Ming you don't make it easy do you?
 
Thanks @Olive & Paula. True, I can assist feed. He’s still dropping.

Half an hour later he’s at 166. He’ll eat treats though but not too much of his regular food so I think if I gave him HC, he’d eat it.

I’ll shoot 8 units this cycle and hope for the best. He might even bounce haha
 
Last edited:
No vomit but not really eating. He’ll eat a few bites if I hand feed him but not his usual. He’s probably only eaten like... 3/4 of a 3 oz can. Hoping the HC keeps him safe. he’s almost not interesting in treats anymore.
 
For future reference, if you ever want to interupt a cycle you think will be active, you need to do at least a third or half off the dose, and even then the first part of the cycle could be active due to the depot.

I hope he eats for you soon. What type of treats are you feeding? Wondering if he wants something new.

Any chance he's constipated? That can make them throw up and not be hungry.
 
Thanks @Wendy&Neko and @Bellasmom

I think the active part of his cycle via depot might be about over and he did it quite nicely. But I know he’ll dip down again later so I’m watching him.

I gave him a variety of freeze dried LC ones and then busted out the temptations. Same reaction to all of em. Also offered three different flavours of canned food. The response is all the same: sniff and looks like he wants to eat and mouths the food but then stops. He’s eating A BIT. But I’m more worried about his numbers and not being able to feed enough to stop them if things get too much.

Hmmm maybe it is constipation because he puked in front of the litter box the first time. He hasn’t used the box since. I’ll bust out the florastor when he decides to eat regularly.
 
And thanks! I’ll remember that it’s half or third dose for next time. I probably would’ve given a third dose if Ming didn’t eat some of AMPS meal. But he did so I was feeling brave. Maybe a little too brave because now I’m scared lol!!! But I’ll assist feed if needed.
 
I found some tube paste food I bought from japan. It’s probably HC but it’s also “natural” flavoured and bonito flavoured. Anyway, he ate the whole tube and about 1.5 tbsp of LC with some persuasion/with the tube stuff on top. Not much in comparison but something.
 
I probably would’ve given a third dose
1/3 off the dose, or 2/3 of the dose in total. Especially if a higher dosed cat.

Glad he ate some food. Have you given him bonita flakes as a treat? Or used them as a topper? His symptoms sound nauseous. Has he had ondansetron lately? You can give it every 8 hours if needed.
 
Yes I gave him 0.5 ml of ondansetron at around noon and when I gave him the tube treat, it was an hour later. I decided to up 0.1 ml from the dose my vet recommended. But I suspect I could give more. I don’t know how to do the calculation. Do you know how? He’s 17.5 lbs since three weeks ago. And I have 2mg/ml ondansetron.

I don’t have any bonito flakes right now but I do have fortifora. I might go out to the grocery store and get some since I only have one pack of 50 strips left.
 
I have 3 more 0.5 ml doses left since I used all the ondansetron I have already. I might call my vet for another prescription.
 
108 @ +7.5

I suspect it’s the tube food. He also ate another 2 tbsp of LC out of my hand :) this is promising! I think I’ll be calm down with the food now in case I spoil his appetite for dinner. But I’ll leave out 2 tbsp of FF for him
 
+9 = 151

He ate the 2 tbsp I left out on his own :) still probably feeling bad but yay!!!

And he’s obviously still feeling a bit bad because he’s in a loaf position and using febreeze as a pillow
6AA91FEC-6DCF-46DF-A41D-EF2D660EF92D.jpeg
 
Subq ondansetron, 0.2 mg/kg. He is almost 8 kg, so a total of 1.6 mg. For oral ondansetron it’s 0.5 mg/kg so more like 4 mg.
 
Woo! Just ate another half can. He prefers food delivery service. I must present his food in front of him where he has chosen to lounge or he won't eat. :rolleyes: He's still acting off (loaf-y and staying in my sister's room which is his room of choice when he feels bad. I wonder why he does that???) but he's eating.

I went to the pharmacy to get more ondansetron but Shoppers wasn't going to have any until March 22nd. So I think I'll keep the 0.5 mL dose for now until I can find a pharmacy that has it in stock.
 
Back
Top