? 30/12 Glen PMPS 205 +2 45

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Islandmomma, Dec 30, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
  2. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    It's good data to have and if you can't monitor shooting that low it's safer to skip. Better too high then too low even for a minute. One thing I can guarantee is there's always a another chance with FD.

    He'll get back on track but it can take 4-6 cycles for the depot to stabilize again. Hope he comes down soon for you.
     
  3. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    He will come down after the bounce.
     
  4. Osha

    Osha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    :bighug::bighug:You did what you needed to do to keep Glen safe. Like Karen said, he will get back on track and it is waaay better to be high than too low.
     
  5. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    I hope so too. I work all day and won't be home to monitor :(
     
  6. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Well, it's like everyone is saying safety first and if you can't monitor it's always best to be cautious. He will come back down soon.
     
    Critter Mom and tiffmaxee like this.
  7. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    He will, we promise but it will take a few cycles. It's a combination of a bounce and skipped shot. We've all been there :bighug::bighug:
     
  8. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Thanks everyone.

    I had a bad start to my morning thinking Glen was having a seizure but he stepped on a sticky fly trap which was under my bed for some reason. He freaked out of course and had me flying out of bed!
     
  9. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    OMG!! It's funny thinking about what it must have looked like to you but I know it wasn't funny witnessing him flailing around. Glad it was just a sticky trap!
     
  10. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    OMG it was funny! He was trying to get up the stairs LOL
    It freaked me out because my other cat has epilepsy and I initially thought it was him - but he had a seizure yesterday so he's usually good for a month.
    But of course it was dark, all my cats are black and I didn't have my glasses on! :bighug:
     
  11. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I'm glad all is well. You did the right thing by skipping although I know it doesn't seem right to you right now. Just remember how long it took to get him back up the other day when you were steering with food and honey. There is a saying around here, it's a marathon and not a race.
     
  12. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
  13. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Well now there is nice bounce clearing!! Get a +2 to see how active the cycle is going to be.

    ETA: A I forgot that you skipped last night.
     
  14. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Will do!
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  15. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Nice after a skipped shot! And a bounce clear. I can feel and see your smile! How fast some of these kitties turn around!
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  16. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    I am very happy! And Glen's automatic feeder arrived today so all good!
     
  17. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    This is all good.
     
  18. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    +2 45...I don't understand
     
  19. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    What food do you have on hand? Anything with gravy?
     
  20. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    If so, open up the can, press the lid down, and feed 1 tsp of gravy.
     
  21. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    I suggest the gravy because you don't have a lot of numbers to go by yet and it's early in the cycle. He could drop further.
     
  22. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Did you give him some gravy?
     
    Red & Rover (GA) likes this.
  23. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Can you take another test about 20 minutes after you took the +2 (45)? This will give you and everyone watching this thread an idea of what's going on.
     
  24. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    How's it going @Islandmomma ? (I'm sorry, I don't know your name. I grew up in Qualicum Beach just north of you.)
     
  25. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Sorry - yes just gave him some gravy

    He has also been picking at his canned food from dinner.

    I also just realized I have 5 strips left!
     
  26. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Great. How much? And can you take another test? It's been 30 minutes since the +2 45.
     
  27. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    43 at 45 minutes +2
     
  28. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    How is he acting? Stumbling, drunk, lethargic?
     
    Red & Rover (GA) likes this.
  29. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Do you have any Karo on hand? You can give him a couple of drops of Karo mixed in with the gravy, if he'll eat it that way (Squallie thinks it's a real treat, lol).
     
  30. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Smokey loved maple syrup off the spoon.
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  31. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Like himself...seems totally normal
     

    Attached Files:

    Critter Mom likes this.
  32. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Karo is what we Canucks call corn syrup. If you don't have corn syrup, honey or maple syrup works as well.

    It's still early in the cycle. You want him over 50 (preferably higher since it's all new) but you want to keep him slightly hungry so that he'll eat for you.
     
    Barbara & Uncle (GA) likes this.
  33. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    They say cats can't taste sweet, I say bs. At least two of mine have sweettooths, if you will!
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  34. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    I have honey....I'll give him some of that
     
  35. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    I'll try syrup. He doesn't like honey LOL
     
    Barbara & Uncle (GA) likes this.
  36. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Anyway, to get more strips?
     
  37. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    He just ate a whole pouch of this stuff..
     

    Attached Files:

  38. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Not much open past 10 around here :(
     
  39. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    I'm not familiar with those.
     
  40. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    If you have a Walmart near you, you may need to run out and get test strips.
    If he doesn't want to eat the honey or syrup, you can try rubbing a bit of it on his gums.
     
    Critter Mom and Red & Rover (GA) like this.
  41. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Are we low on strips?

    The Shoppers Drug Mart in the plaza on the Island Highway near Bowen Road is open until midnight, west coast time, according to their website.
     
  42. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Already getting dressed and heading there now...
     
  43. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    He ate the syrup with some gravy
     
  44. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  45. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Only has 5 strips left.
     
  46. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    My meds kicked in, seeing double. You guys okay? I need to go.
     
  47. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Eating is good. You can add honey to the food. That is quite a drop in 2 hours. I wonder if there was a bad strip?
     
  48. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Haven't taken my meds yet. I can stay up for awhile, but not all night. 1.30 EST for me. Cat is on west coast time - 3 hour time difference.
     
  49. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Oh … litterbox deposit.
     
    Critter Mom and Olive & Paula like this.
  50. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    I used 2 different strips and got 2.4 & 2.5 45 minutes apart
     
  51. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    You need to give some honey now. Rub it onto his gums.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  52. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    East coast too.
     
  53. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    I don't know how long it takes for you to get to that store and back, but if it's more than 30 minutes I'd take him with you, along with your glucometer. He shouldn't go more than 30 minutes at this point without being tested and given more gravy if needed.

    I'm going to leave the advice to others here - it helps a person if there is a lead person giving advice rather than too many, so maybe you folks helping can decide on 2 people to help and others can watch and be ready to step in if needed.

    You are early on in the cycle. You may have to do this for a while. Don't overdo the sugar syrup because you don't want to get him vomiting from too much of it. Doling it out a teaspoon of gravy at a time, alternating with some of the meat to help it sustain the blood sugar longer, will help prevent that.

    Tammy, I'd encourage you to use US mg numbers instead of mmol.
     
  54. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Are you back already from getting strips? If not, is there someone you can send?
     
  55. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    I can't stay on now. Meds kicked in and seeing double now.
     
  56. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    On my way home
     
  57. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    G'night.
     
  58. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    66.6 +almost 4
     
    Critter Mom and Squalliesmom like this.
  59. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    How he last had any gravy or Karo?
     
  60. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Close to an hour, maybe 45
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  61. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Okay, test again in another 30 or so minutes.
     
  62. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    The 66.6 is a food/syrup influenced number. Your cat could easily head down once the food and syrup wears off and it can wear off quickly.
     
    Critter Mom and Squalliesmom like this.
  63. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    You are doing great so far. That must have been one fast drive.
     
  64. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    100km/h down the street LOL
     
  65. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Should I keep feeding him?
     
  66. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    How much was in the pouch that you fed earlier?
     
  67. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    As long as his BG is over 50 I would not feed him any more. Test again 30-45 minutes after your last reading.
     
  68. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Critter Mom likes this.
  69. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    They are 1.4 oz
     
  70. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    I am doing the best that I can. I'm a nurse and worked a full shift and I've been up since 5am :(
     
  71. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    I don't even know why he dropped so much? He ate well at dinner and grazed for a bit before he went to bed. I don't get it
     
  72. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    He's not regulated yet. You are still trying to find the dose that works for him. It could be that his pancreas is kicking in and out again.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  73. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    you go girl!

    Great job Tammy, I agree that you want to keep testing every 45 minutes or so. The shot typically onsets around +2, so you could have several hours of this because you need to get him past the nadir of this shot. I would want him to be over 75 and staying there for at least 1 hour (or more) after you've stopped giving carbs. If you need to sleep, make sure you'll wake up to an alarm. If I was in this situation I slept on the sofa in the living room with the light on and the cell phone alarm turned up loud. Don't go to sleep if you aren't confident you'll wake up.

    Make sure you reduce the dose to 1.25u. The 1.5u is too much now.
     
    Critter Mom and Red & Rover (GA) like this.
  74. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    I used to sleep sitting up against the bookshelves.

    And I have driven that same stretch of highway at 100 km myself - think it was almost the speed limit then.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  75. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    I went on uplands to Rutherford LOL
    Speed limit is 70-80km depending on which section. Around the lake it's 70
     
  76. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    I worry that even 1.25u is too much!
     
  77. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    I'll leave this for more experienced eyes. It depends on how long he stays low, what the depot is, how much you can test tomorrow. Do you work tomorrow?
    I keep forgetting about the new highway. I like the old curvy one.
     
  78. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    You can reduce further if you want.

    What is your situation tomorrow? Will you be home or gone?
     
  79. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    I'm home for most of the day but of course it's New Year's Eve and we are going out!

    I'm thinking if anything he is going to be high after he bounces...again!
     
  80. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Coming up to the next test time, I think.
     
  81. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Since you're going to be home, and since he came up pretty easily tonight, I'd probably go with the 1.25u or 1.0u. I personally wouldn't decrease more than that, but it's up to you.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  82. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    121!
     
  83. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Fabulous. That's roughly +5?
     
  84. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Yes, I put it in my spreadsheet as +5
     
  85. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Tammy, I'm wanting to head for bed now. Red & Rover is going to be up for a little bit longer with you.

    I think you've got the basics down - great job! This is a "lather, rinse, repeat" process - we call it the "poke-carb-poke" dance. You just want to keep Glen over 50.

    Congrats on your first pj party, too! [​IMG]

    See you tomorrow.
     
    Critter Mom and Squalliesmom like this.
  86. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    G'night, Julie. Thanks for all your help. You are fantastic.
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  87. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Thank you everyone for everything!
     
  88. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    I think I am good from here Red & Rover if you want to go to bed.
    I'll check him in another 45. He should be close to his nadir by then. If he is still up I'll check one more time and then get some sleep.
     
  89. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Here are the ingredients of that pouch of treats
    Important Information
    Ingredients
    Water, Tuna, Shrimp, Natural Poultry Flavor, Modified Tapioca Starch, Tuna Extract, Guar Gum, Annatto Extract, Carmine

    Directions
    Feed up to 2 pouches per day for an average size adult cat

    Nite..
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  90. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Thanks, Les.
     
  91. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Sorry, had to make a trip downstairs to raid the leftover Christmas baking. Needed the sugar. It's after 3 a.m. for me. I'll need to take my bedtime meds very soon. The room is starting to spin a bit.

    If the number stays the same or has gone up at the next test, I think you are good. It will have been about two hours since you last fed? You might want to leave a little low carb food out just for your own piece of mind. No food after +10. You don't want a food influenced number when it's time to make a morning dosage decision.

    Now, because of the syrup and because your cat hit a number that was low for him, his numbers may continue to rise and by morning he might have bounced to the moon. That's okay. Bounces are temporary. It might take a couple of cycles to come down from the bounce. Please do post tomorrow morning, asking for dosing advice.

    If you run into trouble or have questions, do holler. Loud, if you have to. I think the east coast has gone to bed (except for me). There should be people on the west coast around. And just as they are going to bed, Europe and the UK wake up.

    You did a fantastic job tonight. Well done.

    I'll be here until I've finished the sugar stash I brought upstairs.
     
    Critter Mom and Squalliesmom like this.
  92. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    @Wendy&Neko Are you up for awhile? Just to check the next number?
     
  93. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Aw thanks! Yes, I am hoping he has come up. I will test him in 30 minutes. He last ate about 2 hours ago.
    And thank you thank you for all of your help!
     
  94. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Here is the sticky regarding a Hypo Tool Box.
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/jojo-and-bunnys-hypo-tool-box.2354/

    It's always good to have plenty of strips on hand just for these situations. And some canned food with gravy. Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers are High Carb (HC), inexpensive and the carb count is known. (No one recognized the one you fed tonight and we stand in pet food aisles a lot). The Fancy Feast Grilled is considered Medium Carb (MC). It too has its place when you want the cat up, but not way up.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  95. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    I thought I had more strips, I blew through 50 in just over a week.
    I do have lots of canned food with gravy...
    They have the Hartz treat I have at Walmart and some grocery stores.

    And I will make sure I have a seperate kit all ready to go! I found this wonderful place last Sunday. It has been so great for Glen and I. I am completely overwhelmed right now because the vet sent us home on 2 u bid and said testing was optional. It's a lot to take in but I will get there. Thank you everyone
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  96. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    It's a steep learning curve, and you've figured out a lot of it so far. There are a lot of experienced people here more than willing to help. As you saw tonight, testing is not something that is optional. You'll most likely go through a lot more strips while trying the find the best dose. One CDN on the forum has a postal box just across the border in the US and uses that to order strips from the States. Strips are much cheaper in the States than here. On the other hand, the US pays 5 times more for Lantus.

    Test time?
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  97. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Yes...112
     
  98. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    I am going to check into the mailbox. I am a 2 hour ferry ride away ($200 round trip with a car) from the border but next time I go over I am totally bringing some home!
     
  99. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Okay, if you squint and allow for metre variance, +6 could be roughly the same number as the +4. Or the syrup could be starting to wear off.

    Feed a decent meal of low carb. Add a bit of medium carb if you have worries. And grab a couple of hours sleep. Just because we don't know which way Glen is going to go, to be extra cautious, set an alarm for +8. Do a quick test and hopefully hop straight back into bed. Occasionally, a cat will continue to drop.

    I can't stay up any longer. I've chronic vertigo. There are a few people on the forum right now if you need help. I hope the rest of you and your cat's night is simple.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  100. Islandmomma

    Islandmomma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Thank you! He isn't interested in any food at the moment but I'll keep trying :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page