30-Aug Maverick PMPS 252|+2 142|+4 79|+5 92|+6 88

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christie & Maverick

Member Since 2017
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...mps-92-1-175-2-167-4-175.183132/#post-2031777

Maverick had a great day yesterday! I was trying to read up on when reductions are given, and I think on the SLGS sticky, it says a reduction would have been given for under 90 at nadir. If Maverick reached 83 just before shooting, then I stalled, does this mean I should have reduced his dose this morning to 1.75U?

ETA: can that PS number technically be the nadir? I guess it was the lowest point in the cycle?:confused:
 
Think of it as "how low does this dose take my kitty?" And yes, the nadir is the lowest point in the cycle, no matter when it happens. On Lantus, I even spotted a Neko nadir at +13. So that 83 does mean Maverick went below 90. You can reduce tonight. That little bit of extra juice today might help him through any bounce.
 
He does seem to be doing better at this dose overall, gave some nice blues starting day 2. And he clears the bounces faster now, which is good. It will be really interesting to see how things progress with a reduction, this would be our first one. We seem to be hitting a lot of "firsts" this week :)
 
Hello green :D, I'll monitor as long as I need to, but am slightly worried. I have supplies and I can manage I think, hope he stays flat now :nailbiting:

Sorry, ETA my question, how long possibly will the drop continue? Usual nadir for Mav is +4 to 6 but yesterday's nadir was +12. Seems a bit wait and see.
 
Last edited:
Yup, it's as long as it'll be. Neko's Lantus nadir was anywhere from +3.5 to +13. Have you given him a couple tsp of LC to encourage a surf? I wouldn't wait an hour, 79 is getting down there with the AT.

You have a couple of options tonight. One is to test again in 1/2 hour and see if he's on his way up. Another option, since he earned a reduction already and this is the depot talking, is to just carb him up with HC. The problem with that option is you have to stay up a couple hours after to make sure he stays up. On the plus side with option 2, if he's still diving you might have to carb him up anyway.
 
Yup, it's as long as it'll be. Neko's Lantus nadir was anywhere from +3.5 to +13. Have you given him a couple tsp of LC to encourage a surf? I wouldn't wait an hour, 79 is getting down there with the AT.

You have a couple of options tonight. One is to test again in 1/2 hour and see if he's on his way up. Another option, since he earned a reduction already and this is the depot talking, is to just carb him up with HC. The problem with that option is you have to stay up a couple hours after to make sure he stays up. On the plus side with option 2, if he's still diving you might have to carb him up anyway.
Hi Wendy, thanks! Could I continue to give LC every hour and keep checking until he starts to rise? And stupid question, once they start going up, is that it for the cycle or can the plummet at +10? I feel the HC will negate the progress?
 
Sorry, rambling a bit with this new low number...ok, he's better, +4.5 =97, but was fed after last BG test I'll check again at +5.
 
Last edited:
Sorry for the delay, just finished dinner. If all he's has is LC, this is a good number. I would hold off on feeding and see if he's up again at your next test. You want two test rising in a row, without influence of carbs.
And stupid question, once they start going up, is that it for the cycle or can the plummet at +10?
I wouldn't call it plummeting, but some kitties will do a double dip at the end of the cycle where they head down again, but not as low as the nadir of the main part of the cycle. Once's he's nadired and on his way up, you are good to hit the pillow.

Yes on the first reduction, you just reduced tonight.
 
He's pretty flat now, just got a +5 =92, last reading was 97 (I made a typo earlier). Ok, this is good, sorry for interrupting dinner, i keep forgetting time zones, though that's still a late dinner :) thanks Wendy. I'm going to see about his +6 just so I'm sure he's reached nadir. Wow..a back to back reduction, another first :D
 
Yes on the late dinner - DH coaches late and doesn't get home until 9.

Sorry, maybe I was unclear. We don't typically do back to back reductions. Since you just reduced to 1.75 units tonight, his greens tonight were courtesy of the 2.0 unit depot.
 
+6 now taken, 88. My mistake, I think I'm a bit overtired, of course, he's still getting the benefit of the 2.0 unit depot, so he will stay with 1.75u, but he's having a very nice run regardless :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top