? 31/5 - Djoko amps 569 +7 630; diagnosed CKD - help please

Marj & Djoko

Member Since 2020
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/29-5-djoko-amps-491-sick-last-night.230240/#post-2577665

Helllo,
I brought Djoko to the vet yesterday as his nostril was bleeding (he has had a discharge from the same nostril for a while and vet said it was fine unless it would prevent him from eating). Vet did urine test and confirmed he has CDK (likely stage 3 but will confirm with results).

Many things require attention:
-Loss of appetite: He vomited on May 28, 2020 and since then, his appetite has not come back to normal although he is on 1/4 of 16 mg cerenia every day. He is also lethargic. I have put fortiflora and parmesan on his food and not a great success. He is not interested by the food he vomited so I opened other cans but he eats couple bites and most likely drinks the juice out of it. He meows for food but dot noes eat. I am thinking about getting apetite stimulant although this is a patcher.

-New diet for CKD
I read that it needs to be low on phosphorus. He was already eating weruva chicken paw licken. However, it also needs to be lowwer in proteins. I was wondering if anyone could suggest any food to manage both diseases.

-uncontrolled diabetes
I am wondering if his uncontrolled diabetes may have contributed to CKD. I tested him at +6.5 and he is at 630 (35 world value) which is not normal for a mid cycle test. Something is up but cannot put my finger on it.

-Ketones - negative last night.

-Amoxicillin: Vet thinks he may have an infection which provokes discharges and nose bleeding so prescribed this antibiotic for 5 days, 2 pills a day. Could it affect his BG level?

-Vet mentioned that heart rate was low but nothing too concerning.

-Vet recommended to see an internalist. I am willing to go but is it worth it at this point? Will she be able to help?

- tips for regulating his BG levels?

Thank you very much.
Marjo and Djoko.
 
Last edited:
35 in world values. Sorry. so 630 in US.
Right - I should have thought to look for a World SS. I use the World as well, but most members on here are in USA so that's what becomes familiar. I found it helpful when I switched to TR because I was testing enough and able to increase dosing faster if needed to avoid Freckles getting use to being in high numbers. You've read the sticky on TR?
 
No problem. I did read it but would refresh my mind. I would also wait until his appetite resumes. I would also like him to have the libre on because he cannot stand his ears being poked these days and I want to spare him some discomfort. Maybe that would help him.
 
How much does Djoko weigh? Vet often under prescribe Cerenia and it might help if he go on the proper dose for his weight.

This post has a lot of useful links on chronic kidney disease. Those links are a bit date - a more recent article is here: (2016) ISFM Consensus Guidelines: Diagnosis & Management of Feline Chronic Kidney DiseaseIt includes a table showing proper dosing for nausea control drugs.
wondering if starting the TR could be useful?
TR allows you to keep your kitty in healthy numbers longer, by having a lower reduction point. The more cats spend time in the healthy blood sugar range, the less they'll bounce.
 
Now I don't know if his loss of appetite is attributed to CKD or pancreatitis. I have food stimulant that I could start tomorrow but hopefully his appetite will come back. He licks his lips, licks the juive out of the food but thats it. I was only succesful with grounded beef. I also have to look for food low in carbs, low in phosphorus and not too high in proteins. This seems challenging. Anyway, I am very sad and discouraged with his uncontrolled diabetes, pancreatitis and now this. I hope I will find solutions and he will have some quality of life. As soon as his appetite comes back, I will try the TR. Nothing to lose at this point...
 
If he likes beef, have you tried the Weruva Steak Frites? Very low in phosphorus.

You don't want to give an appetite stimulant if he is still having nausea, and those symptoms sound like nausea. You need to make sure he is getting the right dose of the anti nausea meds first. Depending on the level of CKD, don't worry so much about the amount of protein (that's old school) what is important is good quality protein.
 
If he likes beef, have you tried the Weruva Steak Frites? Very low in phosphorus.

You don't want to give an appetite stimulant if he is still having nausea, and those symptoms sound like nausea. You need to make sure he is getting the right dose of the anti nausea meds first. Depending on the level of CKD, don't worry so much about the amount of protein (that's old school) what is important is good quality protein.
I went to PetValu to buy it today but it is discontinued. I will see if they have it somewhere else.
 
You need to make sure he is getting the right dose of the anti nausea meds first. Depending on the level of CKD, don't worry so much about the amount of protein (that's old school) what is important is good quality protein.
Is it OK to keep feeding him with grounded boiled beef? This is the only thing he eats. Vet said possibly stage 3.
 
Is it OK to keep feeding him with grounded boiled beef?
It's not a complete meal, you need other nutrients with it. You can buy cat food premixes, or you can make your own. The catinfo.org website has a page on making your own cat food that lists what you need to make your own.
 
Back
Top