Squalliesmom
Member Since 2015
AMPS 243
Wish I could get his AMPS to come down. Seems like he always runs higher at night.
Wish I could get his AMPS to come down. Seems like he always runs higher at night.


It's actually +9 but that works when almost other numbers are in normal range.I think other people have had luck by feeding around +8 - depends on when you shoot at night but that would most likely be the wee hours of the night.![]()
I think other people have had luck by feeding around +8 - depends on when you shoot at night but that would most likely be the wee hours of the night.![]()
+8/+9 after the night-time shot? For Squallie that would be about 4:00 AM but I could give him a snack, or even a meal, then, if it would help?It's actually +9 but that works when almost other numbers are in normal range.
It's weird, because for the first few months after he was diagnosed he was always lower at night. Now, for the past few months, he's been higher at night; I wonder what made that happen.There is something called Dawn Phenomenon where the AMPS number is the last number to come down. Just keep following the protocol and those numbers will eventually come down. Squallie is looking good.
Lol, so do I!I know a lot of people use the timed auto-feeders to give food while they are out/sleeping. Would not work in my house since I have 4 hoovers!
I should have checked the other cats' dishes, 'cause I think he scarfed some of Candy's trial food. Oops, sorry! I will correct that!I agree with Carla, just hang in there and the amps will come down as his body heals. The +8/9 snack works in many cats - the idea is that a little bite, like 2 teaspoons of his low carb food, will stimulate his pancreas to put out a little insulin. That will lower the blood sugar about 3-4 hours later.
There's no dose in last night's pmps dose column. I'm thinking that you did give a shot then, so you might want to double-check.
Ummm, he's a cat?It's weird, because for the first few months after he was diagnosed he was always lower at night. Now, for the past few months, he's been higher at night; I wonder what made that happen.
Well, right now she's eating VeRUS Beef and it seems to be helping a lot, except it does seem to cause quite an odor. But at least no more liquid diarrhea. I also bought Wellness Core with beef, buffalo and venison, but it makes two of my other civvies vomit, so that's going to be a no-go. Can your IBD civvie eat chicken? Candy can't eat chicken and is shaky on turkey, and so many foods labeled beef or other meats actually have chicken in them, as well, so I have to be super vigilant about reading labels. The pet stores think I'm a nutter, lol, because I spend a long time in the cat food isles with my phone's calculator and my bifocals, peering at cans and muttering to myself!What low carb IBD friendly food have you found? (asks she who also has an IBD civie).
Sounds like me!The pet stores think I'm a nutter, lol, because I spend a long time in the cat food isles with my phone's calculator and my bifocals, peering at cans and muttering to myself!
Would be interested in the results with the Wild Calling.Well, right now she's eating VeRUS Beef and it seems to be helping a lot, except it does seem to cause quite an odor. But at least no more liquid diarrhea. I also bought Wellness Core with beef, buffalo and venison, but it makes two of my other civvies vomit, so that's going to be a no-go. Can your IBD civvie eat chicken? Candy can't eat chicken and is shaky on turkey, and so many foods labeled beef or other meats actually have chicken in them, as well, so I have to be super vigilant about reading labels. The pet stores think I'm a nutter, lol, because I spend a long time in the cat food isles with my phone's calculator and my bifocals, peering at cans and muttering to myself!
My next trial is probably going to be Wild Calling, it's a little cheaper than the VeRUS.
Ah, I didn't know that, thank you for the heads-up! Did your vet tell you why he doesn't like SEB for cats? Just curious.The Wild Calling has a lot of guar or xantham gum in them (often gums are an ingredient IBD kitties can's handle)
If I try it out I'll post about it here!Would be interested in the results with the Wild Calling.
I know! And it's so frustrating - upsetting, really! When my little girl eats chicken the results are just devastating to her GI system, it makes me furious to buy a food that says it's beef or duck, etc, and find out it's loaded with chicken!lots of foods seem not to keep the the protein listed on the label....
lots of chicken ( have some trace of seafood )
you just have to remember those food companies aren't really that interested on the overall health....
just getting you to buy their food....