Tina & Sammy
Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo
Hi Julie, thanks for the visit last night. I appreciate you insight. You say you think Sammy isn't quite ready for the +9 MiniMeal and probably shouldn't be eating post mid cycle, but I have been feeding Sammy right up until +10 since the very beginning. Even prior to the MM I would give food right up to +10 if he seemed like he wanted more, and most of the time I left food out for grazing.
The recent change is I have been allowing him to eat past +10 up until +10.5 especially if he hasn't eaten well earlier in the day/night. But this would not affect his +9 reading, only his PS number, and that has been going down from +9. So I don't think that could be the problem.
You also mention a possible lower number after +9.5 from 3/30, but again I personally don't think that is the case. I know I don't have detailed notes on my spreadsheet about what he eat and when. But he ate at +9.5 that night, and it was quite a big portion which was slightly larger than is regular MM portion because I am always nervous that he is going to wake me up before AMPS, and I really need my sleep. I am pretty sure that he polished off the snack all at once, but occasionally he will leave a small bit that he will eat 30-60 minutes later at +10-+10.5. So I really think the +9.5 to AMPS on 3/30 - 3/31 was more of a surf.
Which brings me back to the inverted curves and the big drops from +9 to PS for the last several days. I still think that he might be working on his own power and the insulin is just screwing with the numbers. Pretty much from the time he went on MM at 2.25 units to the .5u dose his numbers seemed to be fine and look stable and with a normal curve. Sure there were a few higher numbers, but nothing that was really wacky. But even going from the 1 unit to .75 he did have some higher numbers late in the cycle and then made big drops before PS. Once the dose was dropped to .75 and the depot was cleared of the 1 unit dose the numbers seemed to stabilize again.
Until 3/21 when the numbers started to be all over the place. He had lots of flat cycles, cycles with mid to late highs followed by lower PS, and cycle with straight up climbs. There weren't many cycles over the last week to 10 days that have made much sense.
Last night was the first cycle that seemed more right, but that was with fluids and a reduced dose.
I am still wondering if he is ready to come off insulin. My thought is that if I see another similar cycle to yesterday where he just climbs up the ladder all day and then makes a huge drop at PS then I will probably discontinue insulin. I know that there is still technically one more smaller dose we could reduce to, but at this point I think it would be better to just stop the insulin. Or the other option is if he gives me a low this morning then I will also discontinue insulin tonight.
If I see a more normal curve with out those spikes mid to late cycle then I will continue with this dose for another couple of days. It is possible the the .5u depot has been depleted and he is not working only on the .25u dose which might make a difference with his numbers. The last thing I want to do is discontinue insulin too soon and have to start back up again, but these inverted curves are freaking me out almost as much as the high numbers did in the beginning.
Hope everyone has a fabulous day!
I'll just throw out what I'm thinking and let you consider it. Hopefully others will add their 2 cents worth as well.
I don't think i'm seeing an inverted curve. Most of the time it looks to me like a rise at the end of the cycle. Today is a little bit different and it looks to me a little like a mini-bounce. I wonder if he got lower last night. It looks like he was coming up at amps/85 and since he was at 82 at pm+95, he may have gone lower after that 82. Sometimes cats give a last hurrah on bouncing and you'll see something like this, just a few hours of being higher. No way to know and I certainly wouldn't stress about it, but it just makes me wonder.
If I were guessing, I'd guess he has an early nadir. I see several around +3-+5. Nadirs do move, though, and it's rarely consistent all the time. I'm just wondering if his eating post mid-cycle during the days is contributing to the higher numbers later in the day cycle. Feeding at +9 is one of those things that can work sometimes and not other times, depending on the phase the cat's in. I'm just wondering if maybe Sammy isn't quite ready for that +9 feeding at this point. You might try feeding him everything before +5 or so in the day cycle tomorrow and for a couple of days and see if it changes the second half of the cycle. Sometimes if cats eat in the second half of the cycle it drives up the BGs towards pmps because the insulin is waning at that point.
As far as the difference between the day and the night cycles, so many cats have their lowest numbers at night that it might explain the difference between the 2 cycles.
Anyway, some musings from looking at his ss. See what you think.
Hi Julie, thanks for the visit last night. I appreciate you insight. You say you think Sammy isn't quite ready for the +9 MiniMeal and probably shouldn't be eating post mid cycle, but I have been feeding Sammy right up until +10 since the very beginning. Even prior to the MM I would give food right up to +10 if he seemed like he wanted more, and most of the time I left food out for grazing.
The recent change is I have been allowing him to eat past +10 up until +10.5 especially if he hasn't eaten well earlier in the day/night. But this would not affect his +9 reading, only his PS number, and that has been going down from +9. So I don't think that could be the problem.
You also mention a possible lower number after +9.5 from 3/30, but again I personally don't think that is the case. I know I don't have detailed notes on my spreadsheet about what he eat and when. But he ate at +9.5 that night, and it was quite a big portion which was slightly larger than is regular MM portion because I am always nervous that he is going to wake me up before AMPS, and I really need my sleep. I am pretty sure that he polished off the snack all at once, but occasionally he will leave a small bit that he will eat 30-60 minutes later at +10-+10.5. So I really think the +9.5 to AMPS on 3/30 - 3/31 was more of a surf.
Which brings me back to the inverted curves and the big drops from +9 to PS for the last several days. I still think that he might be working on his own power and the insulin is just screwing with the numbers. Pretty much from the time he went on MM at 2.25 units to the .5u dose his numbers seemed to be fine and look stable and with a normal curve. Sure there were a few higher numbers, but nothing that was really wacky. But even going from the 1 unit to .75 he did have some higher numbers late in the cycle and then made big drops before PS. Once the dose was dropped to .75 and the depot was cleared of the 1 unit dose the numbers seemed to stabilize again.
Until 3/21 when the numbers started to be all over the place. He had lots of flat cycles, cycles with mid to late highs followed by lower PS, and cycle with straight up climbs. There weren't many cycles over the last week to 10 days that have made much sense.
Last night was the first cycle that seemed more right, but that was with fluids and a reduced dose.
I am still wondering if he is ready to come off insulin. My thought is that if I see another similar cycle to yesterday where he just climbs up the ladder all day and then makes a huge drop at PS then I will probably discontinue insulin. I know that there is still technically one more smaller dose we could reduce to, but at this point I think it would be better to just stop the insulin. Or the other option is if he gives me a low this morning then I will also discontinue insulin tonight.
If I see a more normal curve with out those spikes mid to late cycle then I will continue with this dose for another couple of days. It is possible the the .5u depot has been depleted and he is not working only on the .25u dose which might make a difference with his numbers. The last thing I want to do is discontinue insulin too soon and have to start back up again, but these inverted curves are freaking me out almost as much as the high numbers did in the beginning.
Hope everyone has a fabulous day!
Last edited: