4/1 Skooter +13.5 137 PMBG 183 +2.5 142 +8 119

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
SIGH....today is the day.

And let me tell you, Skooter decided that if he wasn't getting any fuds, I wasn't gonna get much sleep. He spent most of the night being naughty.....knocking stuff off tables (more so than usual) and crawl on me and licking me and nuzzling me to wake me up. Today at work should be REAL fun lolol

Picked up some bagels to bring to the clinic, just because. The irony of me bringing carb laden breakfast, which spikes the blood sugar, to the people who will be working on my diabetic cat lol.

His bag is all packed, it has all the stuff in it that goes with him when my sister cat sits for me. I am pretty sure they will not need my karo syrup if he goes low, but it is such a pain in the ass to pack and unpack, so it always just says packed lol....I did put his normal meter in there along with the batteries I just got....it also has a couple jars of baby food, MC, HC food and a can of his regular stuff. His insulated lunch bag has his insulin, open can of food and IBD meds. And yes, before you ask, both bags are embroidered with his name on them :P I got them from 31....

Off to brush my own toofers, and get his stuff in the car and then we are off.....

Sending good dental vines to our dental day buddy, Eddie as well. I think Skooter is looking forward to comparing notes :)

Off for my worried fill day....(seriously, I did not think I would get this worked up over a stupid dental).....
 
He is dropped off and I am feeling a bit better after meeting with this vet.

She looked me straight in the eye when she was talking to me, she said he would be the first one in at 9 as she likes to do the diabetic cats first as she wants to get them eating as soon as possible that day. They were going to test his sugar and I had said I did it around 730 and it was 137, she said perfect, no need to do it again as the stress of the car ride and being at the vet probably would have raised it....SHE GETS IT!!!!! She said if they had him under more than a couple of hours, they would be testing his BG again, just to make sure everything was nice and steady.

So I should get a call in the next hour or so, after the cleaning and xrays are done from the vet, so she can go over what they found and what they want to do. After that, then they will do all the work and the vet tech will call me to let me know that all was well.

I did bring in bagels for the clinic as I didn't want anyone to get hungry before or during any of his stuff LOLOLOLOL.....wanted to make sure they had a snack on hand if need be.

So now we sit and wait. I have an amazing group of co-workers and I came in to a basket of goodies and a card from them that basically they are all waiting with me and everyone is anxious to hear. They wanted to try to make today as stress free as possible. Truly an amazing team of people that I work with....
 
Sending tons of good dental vines for sweet Skooter. It sounds like he's in great hands, and that makes all the difference in the world for both kitty and bean! I hate fasting them, too....fortunately, it is now over with. We'll be watching for updates!
 
So I didn't really understand everything, but something about how under the gum line it is turning to bone or something like that and something about ligaments, I know, so helpful, aren't I?

Bottom line: 7 teeth need to come out, but they will not be able to get them all today. She said that they do not like to keep cats under for more than 3 hours, and her comfort level is a little less than that. So they will get as many as they can today and then in about 6 weeks we will do this dance all over again....I think there are other teeth that are in varying stages of having this happen, but basically due to his age, she said it wasn't worth to do those teeth. (I am guessing that she is assuming he will pass before they become an issue), but he is doing well....

So now I sit and wait for the call that he is out and how many they were able to get
 
Sending loads of dental vines to Skooter and calming vines for you!! You are so nice for bringing bagels, and your coworkers are so nice for doing something special for you...very sweet all around. I hope you and Skooter can enjoy a relaxing evening when you get home together!
 
shadow has it.... it's FORL feline odontoclastic resportive lesions

http://www.avds-online.org/info/felinelesions.html

the teeth crack, are very painful although you don't know it because they hide it, and get reabsorbed.
In Shadow's case, her bottom jaw would "chatter" like shivering when you scratched her jaw line.... or her chin.
that was a sign of pain...

Gabby also has forl.... and a few others....

you just have to keep pulling the teeth as they need it....
 
Sooooooo just got off the phone with the vet.....

They were able to get 6 toofers out, but they ended up having to take a couple incisors that were loose, so at this next appointment he will still have a few more that need to come out.

She said as soon as she heard him hiss at her, she knew he was feeling better :rolleyes::D Dats my boy!

I can't pick him up until 5 tonight, so I guess I will leave only a little bit early today and go to pick up my baby boy.....She said his BG during the surgery and after was in the 200s, not bad considering all he has been through....

I am coming home with pain meds and I am guessing antibotics, I just am not sure what to expect when I do get him home.....
 
glad it's over...

shadow's worst one is when they took all 4 fangs....
she's the only one I know of that it affected her psychologically.... she lost her mojo and was very timid for a few months.
We had to help her re-establish her alpha-ness over our two droolers. She just lost her confidence.
She's back now... she's always been the alpha and we make sure those doggies know it.
I had to do special things so she could re-learn how to eat without fangs.


He should recover...
try not to let him eat too much too fast.... no scarf and barf....\
and remember the anesthesia could lower his bg all evening....
 
I have a feeling that you will be stunned at how well Skooter is doing. The pain meds are wonderful. Mikey has been quite comfortable. Sending big hugs to both of you!
 
Woohoo! Dental done and dusted. :bighug: He will feel so much better without those bad toofies. The dental vet I went to said something over 50% of kitties get FORL. Sending massive feel better and healing vines for the hissy one. You tell em Skooter! I found liquid meds easier to give after Neko's extraction, if they give you a choice for the antibiotics.
 
*whew* so glad to have it done, although boo-hiss on having to come back again later for MORE. That's no fun! Punkin also lost his upper fangs and I think that was a huge adjustment for him.

I liked the sound of Skooter hissing at them, tee hee, YOU GO BOY! hahahahaaha Fingers crossed that it's an easy evening for the little guy. He'll feel better after those bad guys are gone, once he's healed.
 
Gosh what a tuff day for both of you!!
I am so glad it is over and you are picking him up as I write. He will be so glad to see you Mom!!
Lots of cuddles and hugs tonight I am sure. Big healing vines to you both!
 
I'm glad it's over and Skooter is feeling well enough to hiss. You may not want to give his full dose tonight. He may not feel like eating very much. Furball's appy was off the evening of her dental, but back to normal the next day. I gave half a dose that evening and her full dose the next morning.

Don't forget, if you get an AB, it may upset his tummy and you may need to give fortiflora or some kind of probiotic.
 
We just got home and BOY is he a wonky walker! The last time he was under anesthesia was when he had the biopsies done so he didn't feel like moving around. This time he keeps pacing, but can't walk very well. It has me a little worried, but they did tell me to expect this, I am just not sure how long it is supposed to last. I guess it all depends on how long it takes the anesthesia to wear off....

He finally got himself in the upstairs litter box, laid down in it, peed on himself, got out and the pooped on the floor....tonight he can do whatever he wants....I think I will confine the two of us to my bedroom with a litter box, water, food, etc....I don't need to risk him trying to go downstairs.....

I just gave him his first dose of pain meds, so I am hoping he will allow himself to chill out for a bit. He did not get antibiotics for this one, as the vet didn't think it was necessary.

As for what they took out:
UPPER:
one tooth on the left side, looks like form the sheet premolar 2 or 3...

LOWER:
the 4 front incisors...they were only going to take two of them, but when they were extracting those 2, the 2 next to them were loose
left side it looks like maybe a canine tooth, it is right after the "fang" tooth

They want to see how well and quickly he recovers from this before deciding if they will do the rest. He is not really great about letting them look in his mouth, so they will do a phone call on Friday to follow up and then instead of an in office visit next Weds, it will be another phone call. They did not see the point in stressing him out with a vet visit if he was not going to show them his teeth anyways.

I am hoping he will recover quickly and nicely enough from this one to be able to go back for the other 4. They would all be on the lower looks like 3 premolars on the right side and one from the left.....From what they were saying, more teeth could probably come out, but at his age, it is not really worth putting him through that.

The vet tech said, for being 17 and never having a dental before, his mouth wasn't actually in HORRIBLE shape, but I am sure they were just being nice lolol

I am already exhausted from no sleep last night, and I have a feeling I am in for a pretty long night, tonight....definitely an order in kind of night...

I sure am glad to have him home, though. Thank you to everyone just doesn't seem enough, everyone's kind words, thoughts and encouragement mean the world to me.
 
Wow, what a day! I think Skooter did very well, considering how many teeth were bad. I hope that he (and you!) will have a good night, and maybe even get some sleep! Rusty had 6 teeth left when he came to live with us. Now he has 5. Apparently when he was found on the streets in MA in 2008 he had many broken teeth that had to be removed. And later on more were. He still has his two lower canines. He cradles his tongue between them! He does fine with paté foods and has no problem with freeze-dried treats (which he tends to eat whole!).

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty

Yo Skooter, the toof fairy will pay you a visit tonight and bring you some nice treats.
~ Rusty
 
Skooter was a trooper today with 6 toofer extractions. Fingers crossed for uneventful Skooter and Molly snuggle time tonight. Eddie seemed to settle down with food and after the bupe kicked in.
 
Many vines for Skooter's recovery and hugs to you, Molly. What a day. Just feed a teaspoon of food at a time (do you have baby food), with maybe a 30 break between each one. Go slow. Carla's advice is good.
Liz
 
So I will be home tomorrow to monitor Skoots...

If he eats his normal food, would I want to give him .25 or his full .50 units?
 
basically due to his age, she said it wasn't worth to do those teeth. (I am guessing that she is assuming he will pass before they become an issue),

I think she may have meant something more along the lines of "At his age, I'd rather not stress him out any more by trying to do everything at once, so I got the worst ones first"

If he's eating normally and you're home all day, I'd go with the .5. If you only give .25 and that's not enough, you'll just have to shoot the .5 at some point...and at that point you may either not be home or really wanting to get some sleep
 
Molly, no dosing advice from me. Just know that my Boomer had five extractions and a tear in his soft palate repaired. He got bupe that night but continued to pace laps around my single story house all that night through the next morning finally settling down about 24 hours after he got home.

My other cats who have had dentals just came home wobbly, crashed and slept. ECID.

Skoots will be fine. I hope his bean will be too!

Marilyn
 
What a day for the two of you! Max ate baby food after his extractions. He refused Beechnut and has been getting Gerbers ever since. Spoiled? Yep. Does he have stitches? I bet you will be surprised how fast he recovers. Healing vines for him. I hope you both sleep well.
 
I just woke up to find him laying in his unused litter box.....resting very comfortably :rolleyes:

He did have a little bit of "goop" (sorry best term I could come up with) that had a little blood coming out of the right side of his mouth, it looked like it had been there awhile. I am assuming this is nothing huge to worry about and is normal after what he has experienced. (Actually impressed I didn't flip out and feel the need to call the ER vet.

He is now back on the bed, and seems to be navigating the three steps it takes to get up on the bed.....those are the only stairs I want him navigating right now. He is still a little wonky when he walks, but nothing like when he first came home. I think at least for the first part of the day, we will continue to just chill in my room. He finally used his LB as an LB and not as an extra bed, so I think he is getting used to that

I am acutally impressed with how well his numbers are coming down, considering he has not had insulin since Tuesday at 6 pm. I will be curious what his pre shot will be this morning.
 
Do you know what anesthesia they used? His numbers are really good for having skipped a shot. I hope you both can get some sleep now.
 
Awwww poor Skooter going to have to go again! Vyktor had seven out at once on one dental and he was fine in a couple of days. Hope Skooter bounces back as well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top