4.10.15 Queenie ~ +10 85, AMPS 76, +2 68, +3 75, +10 107 PMPS 149, +2 104

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & Queenie

Member Since 2015


Yesterday

Well Q pulled a fast one on us yesterday and even though it had been 24 hours since her last shot of insulin at a reduced dose (the second one this week) she still dropped into hypo world. Thanks to Julie, Wendy & Chris for their assistance.

I WAS up after the +4 reading and she was looking really great. Walking, talking, purring and eating so I decided to forego another test and set my timer to check her agin at +6. But I fell asleep trying to set my alarm... Oy!

Q never looked even a bit punky through it all and could not understand what all the fuss was about.

Hoping good numbers for all our LL friends today. Wish us luck
 
I just did another reduction. Maybe more than is suggested, but considering how she took that 1U last night I wanted to back off a little more.
 
I think when you've got a number under 50 almost immediately after shooting a reduced dose, that also followed a skipped shot . . . reducing significantly was smart. I would have either gone with 0.5u or even 0.25u. Queenie doesn't seem like she wants insulin for much longer. At least that's what it looks like from my computer screen. :D

Good luck today. Let's hope she'll just surf along for the next 12 hrs. That was a lovely green surf last night!
 
I think when you've got a number under 50 almost immediately after shooting a reduced dose, that also followed a skipped shot . . . reducing significantly was smart. I would have either gone with 0.5u or even 0.25u. Queenie doesn't seem like she wants insulin for much longer. At least that's what it looks like from my computer screen. :D

Good luck today. Let's hope she'll just surf along for the next 12 hrs. That was a lovely green surf last night!


Thanks Julie. The only thing I am now noticing is a change in appetite. Not a huge concern just yet, I still have tricks up my sleeve. But suddenly she's much harder to please. Loves that gravy though :p
 
So I am curious if you see cats who have an "episode" of diabetes when there is just another underlying crisis. And once that crisis is over they return to "normal". And if this is the case, are they considered to be diabetics in remission, or at risk for future episodes or is it just an acute reaction to some sort of stress and maybe just an isolated thing? I would assume that their diets would also play a big role in controlling any future episodes.
 
Once a diabetic always a diabetic and they should always be treated as diabetic in relation to food and medication choices. We have seen a lot of kitties fall out of remission because the beans have got slack about food choices. Some cats will stay in remission for the rest of their lives. Some will fall off the wagon when there's another stressor, eg dental issues, and some of those cats will be able to be brought back into remission a second, third etc time. It's important to keep testing them at least once a month (I still test Vyktor every week) when they're in remission so that you can catch any relapse quickly. The sooner you catch it the better.

ECID but in Vyktors case it seems likely his diabetes was brought on by giving him a human glucosamine mix for arthritis. We followed TR strictly right down to a drop dose and three years later encompassing massive dental issues (rising numbers alerted me to that problem) he has stayed in remission - touch wood, anti jinx etc...

I hope you can have a similar outcome for Queenie, she is looking good :D
 
Once a diabetic always a diabetic and they should always be treated as diabetic in relation to food and medication choices. We have seen a lot of kitties fall out of remission because the beans have got slack about food choices. Some cats will stay in remission for the rest of their lives. Some will fall off the wagon when there's another stressor, eg dental issues, and some of those cats will be able to be brought back into remission a second, third etc time. It's important to keep testing them at least once a month (I still test Vyktor every week) when they're in remission so that you can catch any relapse quickly. The sooner you catch it the better.

ECID but in Vyktors case it seems likely his diabetes was brought on by giving him a human glucosamine mix for arthritis. We followed TR strictly right down to a drop dose and three years later encompassing massive dental issues (rising numbers alerted me to that problem) he has stayed in remission - touch wood, anti jinx etc...

I hope you can have a similar outcome for Queenie, she is looking good :D
thanks for the insights and encouraging words. I'm not going to speculate about where we are going from here. Just keeping all paws crossed!
 
at +2 a little more of a drop than I would like but I'll take it. Gave her a snack. She seems happier with the fish flavor Friskies
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top