4/11 TR Jenks AMPS 95 +5 88 +9 57 +10 55 PMPS 60 +3 57 +5 53 +6.5 73 +8 80

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
4/10

I'm soooooo tired from last night's pajama party. Jenks went into the 40s a couple hours before PMPS last night, and we were able to get him raised to do the shot on time. After that it was nothing but a struggle to keep him elevated. He started to drop pretty much right out of the gate, and was deep into the 40s at +6 despite two 9% meals at PMPS and PMPS+3. I gravied him at +6, gave him some more 9% at +7, and while that temporarily pumped him, it still didn't stop him from dropping. He was falling about 10 points per hour in the early morning hours, and if I left him unattended, OH likely would've encountered him in the 50s or 40s with a 4.75U shot on deck. I was still awake at 5:30am, ridden with anxiety about him going too low (he was 65 at the moment, and falling), so I gravied him again. When OH got him, he was 104, but was a falling 90s at AMPS.

We don't have a lot of leeway with these lower numbers he's been exhibiting lately. After last nights 40s, that triggers the 3x rule. Additionally, after having to break out the gravy three times in one day, I made a command decision to make a reduction to 4.50U. I hope it was the right one, and not too premature.

Come on Jenks, hold that dose! Only 18 more to go.
 
Yikes what a night you had! Hope you were able to sleep some today.

One of the signals that a cat is due for a decrease is when you have to work really hard to keep them up. I think that Jenks showed you that this dose is too high and I think it was good you reduced it.

Good luck. Fingers crossed that he holds the reduction.
 
Here we go again. We're in the low end of the 50s as we approach shot time and nothing I can do seems to halt the inevitable. At +9, I gave him some 9% ocean whitefish and tuna with 1tbsp of 21% gravy, but an hour later he's not showing an increase. So he got another tablespoon of gravy and some Temptations.

I don't want to shoot a potentially inflated number just as much as I don't want to delay a shot. But if he drops below 50 late, I don't see any other choice but to hold him.

Could be another late night ahead. Off to the store to restock gravy and strips.

As always, thanks for checking in @julie & punkin (ga). This is uncharted waters for us :)
 
Be careful on just plowing ahead and shooting anyway. If you've carbed him in order to shoot, when the carbs wear off he may plummet.

If I were you I'd consider giving a one-time reduced dose tonight to let the depot drain some, then coming back in the morning with his new dose.
 
I used to do 1/2 doses to reduce the depot. Wendy has said some people find a 2/3 shot does the same thing.

So 2u-3u. I'd lean towards the lower dose since you've been working to keep him up since yesterday.
 
I agree with Julie that this looks like a good case for a one time reduced shot. And doing a half dose is good the first time to gather data and be safe. If he goes too high or takes a long time to recover, then next time try a 1/3 reduced dose. Looks like Jenks has a full head of steam.:D
 
Oh good grief. I had one simple job - do math. A job that I totally bungled, by the way. Apparently in my head, 2.75U is a half dose of 4.5U. Way to go me. I'm just going to blame my sleepless night last night.

Looks like we'll be getting data on a 60% dose instead.
 
I know that a reduced dose is supposed to let the depot drain, but this 2.75U dose may also take him below 50. I've already fed him some 9% at 53, and followed that up with 1tbsp of 21% gravy. What the heck do I do for the morning dose if that happens? Guess it would be nice if I didn't have to ask this question in the middle of the night when nobody will see it before I have to fill a syringe for OH in the morning before going to bed.... Do I go back up to 4.5U?

@julie & punkin (ga) if you're still up, sure could use your insight!
 
Last edited:
Because of the depot effect you often don't see the effects of a reduced dose until the following cycle so you should be okay shooting 4.5 tomorrow. Also given that you started at 60 you can see the insulin hasn't actually dropped him much, just a little dip and holding flat. This is actually how Lantus does its best work - hence the shoot low to stay low slogan. He does seem to be on a bit of a mission though so you'll probably need to keep watching him pretty closely - as you have been.

Also, it is not recommended that you prefill syringes - see the lantus storage and handling guidelines sticky and the article linked therein.
 
Food/gravy bump has given a nice respite. Let's see if it lasts.

@Vyktors Mum - Thank you :) As for filling the syringe a few hours early, that's just one of those compromises we've had to make.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top