? 4/12 Oren; AMBG-70, amps+0.5-71; +1-69; +2-58;+2.5-58;+3-71;+4-89;+8-350;PMPS-471;pm+3-324;+4.5-140;

Status
Not open for further replies.

Megan & Oren

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

well, after a dip in the lagoon, and a bit of a bounce, this a.m we're back in green, a bit lower than yesterdays start!
@Dyana should i do the same, stall w/o feeding until 7.00 a.m, test again, then go from there?
 
As long as you can monitor you can go ahead and shoot Megan. Oren is surfing.

P.s. It you haven't shot yet it's a BG (blood glucose) on the end instead of a PS (preshot) that helps alert us that you haven't shot yet. Your PS is always the reading just before you shoot.
 
Good work :D

For Oren at this point I would start with a +1 and +2 and then see where he's at. I will come back to check in ;)
 
As long as you can monitor you can go ahead and shoot Megan. Oren is surfing.

P.s. It you haven't shot yet it's a BG (blood glucose) on the end instead of a PS (preshot) that helps alert us that you haven't shot yet. Your PS is always the reading just before you shoot.

thanks, i just fixed the line (will eventually get the hang of this!) and how do i delete a double post? not even sure how that happened, sorry!
 
I'm not sure you can delete the double we could then we couldn't then we could again but I think maybe you can't again now. Doesn't matter you've labeled it a double so hopefully no one posts in it and it just fades off into the distance.

On your subject line can you put, after the AMBG 70, +0.5 AMPS 71 -so viewers know that you shot it.
 
suddenly, he's liking the warm waters of the lagoon. He's making me crazy w/ his timing though! I'm back to work tomorrow and can't do the follow up tests. then on Thur I have to go out of town for several days. Pet sitter is a vet tech, but these low numbers will FREAK her probably! She will do AM/PM tests, but can't be here in between.

I'd appreciate advice on how to advise HER! I do have medium carb and high carb foods available (will get more in fact) and an auto feeder, but anything about reducing dose at a shot or something else would be appreciated. I hate for him to lose this momentum now!
 
I'd be getting a +2.5 since he's in the 50s already, especially since we can't be too sure how he operates yet since he's spent most of his time bouncing around so far.

ETA - safety always comes first so regardless of the loss of momentum I expect you will have to drop the dose while you're away, you may need to drop it in the cycle preceding you going away too so don't forget to start asking about the dosing for that around Tues.
 
Last edited:
He's doing great, I'd like to see a +3 to make sure he's still surfing. Is he all good with testing these days?
 
well, he's pretty patient w/ it. Even does jump up on the couch next to me when i sit down and gather up supplies, but sometimes he darts off when he hears the beep of the strip starting the meter!;) I feel badly hitting him so hard like this (every hr to 1/2 hr) but he seems to be surviving it. switching to the neosporin ointment from the generic brand cream style helped a lot! that stuff took the hair off his ears!! its grown back, and the ointment seems to keep his ears in decent shape. after a day like this i can't believe they're not sore tho. I do try to alternate b/n ears and edges when it's this many in a row..
 
I'm still counting that as surf :Dat least he now gets to wait an hour now before another test ;) if he's headed off into bounce territory by then you can call it quits for the cycle. If he's surfing or rising just a little you probably want to recheck in another hour or two from then. I'll be heading off to bed soon but others should be around. Great job Megan.

ETA and Oren of course, green looks great on him :D
 
Megan, just thinking about your back to work situation tomorrow. I think you've got Oren eating from the timed feeder at night, right? It might be a good idea to get him used to it during the day too. You've got 2 days of data showing what he does when you shoot low, now, and after this, he's no doubt going to keep giving you normal preshots. It'd be good to have a plan and try it out asap for covering while you're at work.

One person on here got 2 timed feeders (the PetSafe 5 Compartment ones) and had them opening 8 times during the day. I don't know that everyone needs to do that, but when punkin was alive and I'd gone back to work, either DH or I ran home at +3 or +4 and checked on him, then reset the timed feeder if we thought he still might go low. If I'd thought of having 2 feeders at the time I'd have gotten another one.
 
Hi Julie; thanks so much for your note; I was indeed worrying about these next two days while i'm here, and even more about while I'm gone. I actually have used the timed feeder during the days when i work already, so he is a bit used to that. I was only feeding +2 and +4, sometimes +5 , prior to these normal preshots, because he had not been getting anywhere close to normal or low numbers. i should probably set it for 4 hourly feedings tomorrow a.m, starting at +1-4. Should those hourly feedings be just teaspoon size?

I MIGHT be able to get home at +5 for a check, but its very hard to tell. He seems good by +4 or 5 these last 2 days, but 2 days isn't enough of a pattern yet.

I did order a 2nd one after realizing even w/ Amazon prime, it won't be here till Wed, and I leave Thur., but it might help the pet sitter to have them both.
 
Last edited:
I'd probably put a tablespoon in each one. Might be too much but with him skating in normal numbers, I'd rather err on the side of too much food. Or you could do a combination of those amounts if you don't want him to have too much food.

You might be able to start at +1.5 and do hourly after that until your second one arrives. For Monday and Tuesday, maybe put extra in the +4.5 slot and let it just stay open if you think you might not be able to make it home to check on him. I think that's what I'd do.
 
@julie & punkin (ga) and @Wendy&Neko ; Ladies; anymore suggestions for tomorrow should I be faced with another green AM shot? I understand I can leave food in the autofeeder which most likely will carry him through as it has last two days, but I'm still somewhat nervous; would it perhaps be wise to reduce the dose as well? What other options might I consider? I am going to be testing him very soon (about 1/2 hr from now) to see if tonight follows last night, as this morning mirrored yesterday morning... Oh I am going to be a mess tomorrow!!

edited to add: left him a meal for +5.75 and pm+8.75 since he seems to be doing the same as last night. i gave him 1 tsp ea. at +3 and +4.5 also after the tests.
 
Last edited:
I don't think we can just know what to do tomorrow.

It looks like he's willing to surf in the greens after a green preshot, but as he does that at some point he's likely to need a dose reduction.

One option is to assume he'll do the same thing tomorrow as today and leave food accordingly.

Another choice is to reduce his dose. For it to make a difference in the same cycle you may need to make a significant reduction, not just 0.25u less. When I wanted to interrupt action I did a one time reduced dose of 50%. Wendy has said some people are finding reducing by 1/3 is enough to accomplish this.

I don't think it's going to be a huge setback if you decide to reduce.

So that's another option for you.

You'll have to consider the pros and cons to figure out which direction you want to go.
 
Another choice is to reduce his dose. For it to make a difference in the same cycle you may need to make a significant reduction, not just 0.25u less. When I wanted to interrupt action I did a one time reduced dose of 50%. Wendy has said some people are finding reducing by 1/3 is enough to accomplish this.
If I need to reduce the dose to keep Neko safe for a day (like today), I reduce it for a couple of cycles before hand, not just the cycle I want to make sure she's safe. The action of the depot can still influence the current cycle. So the options are either to reduce by a larger amounts as Julie suggested or reduce before hand. Since you are worried about tomorrow and shot the regular dose tonight, you'll have to go with the larger reduction and leaving food out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top