Stacy & Asia
Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-10-asia-amps-yucky.193938/
Asia had a vet visit yesterday to follow up on post kidney infection blood work. Should have results tomorrow. As far as her wacky numbers go, vet couldn’t find anything out of sorts upon examination. I’m hoping I just lowered her dose too quickly and that is looking like a good possibility.
Had her anal glands expressed, you know, since we were there anyway. Vet didn’t want to believe me that expressing her anal glands, no big deal, trying to look at her teeth, good luck with that...but that’s exactly how it went.
Still at a dead end addressing her arthritis. Vet recommended some new product she had heard anecdotal reports of being really useful: Antinol. I looked it up, it’s green lipped muscles concentrated by some special patented process and omega 3, which I already give her. I didn’t see many great reviews for it and it sounds like nothing much different from, well, fish oil and green lipped muscles. I don’t recall why I didn’t use green lipped muscles when this all started, but I think it must have had something to do with kidneys as it was before diabetes. She wasn’t opposed to the Adequan but wanted me to try something like this first. I looked in to MSM and it had lots of good reviews about it...but I found something else that said it can cause heart issues as well. I ordered Cosequin instead and will give it go.
I don’t want to accept that there is nothing to be done, this is a sad thing that happens: sometimes Toki will play with her and if Asia ends up on her back, she’s like turtle flipped over on her shell, she cannot get up on her own and she has the “halp me, hooman!” look of distress on her face. It’s only happened a few times, but that’s a few times too many. What if it happened when nobody was home? Also, I’m afraid the arthritis will make her hold in her poo, it is already difficult for her to hunch herself up to go, she often takes breaks in the litter box and then tries again. It’s sad to see. If Cosequin or Adequan or something works, despite it possibly having a little impact on her kidneys, I do think it’s worth it because the arthritis is affecting her quality of life and it doesn’t have to be this way.
I told her I stopped giving fluids and that also the tachycardia stopped with it. That was convincing enough that she agreed with me no fluids for now. I suspect cardiologist to say no fluids for her too. Going to keep adding water to her food and monitor her USG at home with a refractometer which I will calibrate at the vets to make sure the results are similar. I might get some 250mL bags of lactated ringers if I can find them so that I can very occasionally give her fluids if she is particularly dehydrated and not waste a huge bag of fluids that will only keep for 10 days.
Teeth were unremarkable, so that’s a good thing, but I know you can’t see what’s going on below the gum line, so I will always be concerned with them because of her past problems. She was not in favor of pulse antibiotics for teeth, I hope they remain unremarkable. She believes teeth infections stay localized, I told her that was absolutely not my experience and systemic infection is exact my concern.
She laughed at the thought Asia could be hyperthyroid, I don’t want to say she called her fat, but she said she would be shocked if a cat looking like Asia does had hyperT. I’ve heard of cats that were not skinny having hyperthyroid, so it’s not enough to ease my mind about it. If the tT4 value is elevated this time, she will get the fT4.
It’s time to do a heart echo. Vet was surprised her kidney values came down as bad as they were, so she wasn’t concerned with looking at her heart back then (I think she was quite surprised Asia bounced back from that). She said now it’s worth investigating as it’s better to start meds sooner than later. The cardio that goes to this practice and many of the others in the city is absolutely positively not going to let me be in the room with her. Back to this again. I have 2 ER options with cardiologists, if they won’t let me be in the room with her I have no options. Vet said their cardio is really fast and it would only take 7 minutes. Why does this have to be so complicated. At least they don’t want to sedate her!
Asia had a vet visit yesterday to follow up on post kidney infection blood work. Should have results tomorrow. As far as her wacky numbers go, vet couldn’t find anything out of sorts upon examination. I’m hoping I just lowered her dose too quickly and that is looking like a good possibility.
Had her anal glands expressed, you know, since we were there anyway. Vet didn’t want to believe me that expressing her anal glands, no big deal, trying to look at her teeth, good luck with that...but that’s exactly how it went.
Still at a dead end addressing her arthritis. Vet recommended some new product she had heard anecdotal reports of being really useful: Antinol. I looked it up, it’s green lipped muscles concentrated by some special patented process and omega 3, which I already give her. I didn’t see many great reviews for it and it sounds like nothing much different from, well, fish oil and green lipped muscles. I don’t recall why I didn’t use green lipped muscles when this all started, but I think it must have had something to do with kidneys as it was before diabetes. She wasn’t opposed to the Adequan but wanted me to try something like this first. I looked in to MSM and it had lots of good reviews about it...but I found something else that said it can cause heart issues as well. I ordered Cosequin instead and will give it go.
I don’t want to accept that there is nothing to be done, this is a sad thing that happens: sometimes Toki will play with her and if Asia ends up on her back, she’s like turtle flipped over on her shell, she cannot get up on her own and she has the “halp me, hooman!” look of distress on her face. It’s only happened a few times, but that’s a few times too many. What if it happened when nobody was home? Also, I’m afraid the arthritis will make her hold in her poo, it is already difficult for her to hunch herself up to go, she often takes breaks in the litter box and then tries again. It’s sad to see. If Cosequin or Adequan or something works, despite it possibly having a little impact on her kidneys, I do think it’s worth it because the arthritis is affecting her quality of life and it doesn’t have to be this way.
I told her I stopped giving fluids and that also the tachycardia stopped with it. That was convincing enough that she agreed with me no fluids for now. I suspect cardiologist to say no fluids for her too. Going to keep adding water to her food and monitor her USG at home with a refractometer which I will calibrate at the vets to make sure the results are similar. I might get some 250mL bags of lactated ringers if I can find them so that I can very occasionally give her fluids if she is particularly dehydrated and not waste a huge bag of fluids that will only keep for 10 days.
Teeth were unremarkable, so that’s a good thing, but I know you can’t see what’s going on below the gum line, so I will always be concerned with them because of her past problems. She was not in favor of pulse antibiotics for teeth, I hope they remain unremarkable. She believes teeth infections stay localized, I told her that was absolutely not my experience and systemic infection is exact my concern.
She laughed at the thought Asia could be hyperthyroid, I don’t want to say she called her fat, but she said she would be shocked if a cat looking like Asia does had hyperT. I’ve heard of cats that were not skinny having hyperthyroid, so it’s not enough to ease my mind about it. If the tT4 value is elevated this time, she will get the fT4.
It’s time to do a heart echo. Vet was surprised her kidney values came down as bad as they were, so she wasn’t concerned with looking at her heart back then (I think she was quite surprised Asia bounced back from that). She said now it’s worth investigating as it’s better to start meds sooner than later. The cardio that goes to this practice and many of the others in the city is absolutely positively not going to let me be in the room with her. Back to this again. I have 2 ER options with cardiologists, if they won’t let me be in the room with her I have no options. Vet said their cardio is really fast and it would only take 7 minutes. Why does this have to be so complicated. At least they don’t want to sedate her!



Okay, it only feels like that. I’m not the only one testing her. When you see every hour testing in a color that isn’t green, that’s because it isn’t me. 