? 4/13 Asia AMPS 173 Figuring out Adequan dose help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stacy & Asia

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-10-asia-amps-yucky.193938/

Asia had a vet visit yesterday to follow up on post kidney infection blood work. Should have results tomorrow. As far as her wacky numbers go, vet couldn’t find anything out of sorts upon examination. I’m hoping I just lowered her dose too quickly and that is looking like a good possibility.

Had her anal glands expressed, you know, since we were there anyway. Vet didn’t want to believe me that expressing her anal glands, no big deal, trying to look at her teeth, good luck with that...but that’s exactly how it went.

Still at a dead end addressing her arthritis. Vet recommended some new product she had heard anecdotal reports of being really useful: Antinol. I looked it up, it’s green lipped muscles concentrated by some special patented process and omega 3, which I already give her. I didn’t see many great reviews for it and it sounds like nothing much different from, well, fish oil and green lipped muscles. I don’t recall why I didn’t use green lipped muscles when this all started, but I think it must have had something to do with kidneys as it was before diabetes. She wasn’t opposed to the Adequan but wanted me to try something like this first. I looked in to MSM and it had lots of good reviews about it...but I found something else that said it can cause heart issues as well. I ordered Cosequin instead and will give it go.

I don’t want to accept that there is nothing to be done, this is a sad thing that happens: sometimes Toki will play with her and if Asia ends up on her back, she’s like turtle flipped over on her shell, she cannot get up on her own and she has the “halp me, hooman!” look of distress on her face. It’s only happened a few times, but that’s a few times too many. What if it happened when nobody was home? Also, I’m afraid the arthritis will make her hold in her poo, it is already difficult for her to hunch herself up to go, she often takes breaks in the litter box and then tries again. It’s sad to see. If Cosequin or Adequan or something works, despite it possibly having a little impact on her kidneys, I do think it’s worth it because the arthritis is affecting her quality of life and it doesn’t have to be this way.

I told her I stopped giving fluids and that also the tachycardia stopped with it. That was convincing enough that she agreed with me no fluids for now. I suspect cardiologist to say no fluids for her too. Going to keep adding water to her food and monitor her USG at home with a refractometer which I will calibrate at the vets to make sure the results are similar. I might get some 250mL bags of lactated ringers if I can find them so that I can very occasionally give her fluids if she is particularly dehydrated and not waste a huge bag of fluids that will only keep for 10 days.

Teeth were unremarkable, so that’s a good thing, but I know you can’t see what’s going on below the gum line, so I will always be concerned with them because of her past problems. She was not in favor of pulse antibiotics for teeth, I hope they remain unremarkable. She believes teeth infections stay localized, I told her that was absolutely not my experience and systemic infection is exact my concern.

She laughed at the thought Asia could be hyperthyroid, I don’t want to say she called her fat, but she said she would be shocked if a cat looking like Asia does had hyperT. I’ve heard of cats that were not skinny having hyperthyroid, so it’s not enough to ease my mind about it. If the tT4 value is elevated this time, she will get the fT4.

It’s time to do a heart echo. Vet was surprised her kidney values came down as bad as they were, so she wasn’t concerned with looking at her heart back then (I think she was quite surprised Asia bounced back from that). She said now it’s worth investigating as it’s better to start meds sooner than later. The cardio that goes to this practice and many of the others in the city is absolutely positively not going to let me be in the room with her. Back to this again. I have 2 ER options with cardiologists, if they won’t let me be in the room with her I have no options. Vet said their cardio is really fast and it would only take 7 minutes. Why does this have to be so complicated. At least they don’t want to sedate her!
 
My two cents: the arthritis and the limits it puts on her mobility is something I'd address with Adequan sooner than later. It's a risk/benefit wrt kidneys but quality of life is important. :bighug:
 
Vines for the bloodwork :bighug: , that is hard to hear about the arthritis, I cannot imagine having to deal with that on top of everything else. I hope you find something that works for her. PS - when do you sleep?!?! :eek:
 
My heart hurt reading about Asia stuck on her back.......... All is all she is quite remarkable for her age. And she is so lucky that you are her advocate and are so hands on with her. You really know your baby! :bighug:

How much of the omega 3 are you giving? I have read up to 500 mg a day for cats and arthritis. I give both mine omega 3 daily.
 
My two cents: the arthritis and the limits it puts on her mobility is something I'd address with Adequan sooner than later. It's a risk/benefit wrt kidneys but quality of life is important. :bighug:

How long did it take to see results with it? She wasn’t opposed, but wants me to try a natural supplement first. She also thought it was to be given IM and I told her I know lots of people that give it sub q at home and she has heard of doing that too.
 
How long did it take to see results with it? She wasn’t opposed, but wants me to try a natural supplement first. She also thought it was to be given IM and I told her I know lots of people that give it sub q at home and she has heard of doing that too.
I don't have Adequan experience with my cats. I'm more familiar with friends using it for their horses. I've given Teasel Cosequin for cystitis but it didn't really do much. I'm going by the members here who swear by Adequan (subQ): @jayla-n-Drevon @JanetNJ
 
My heart hurt reading about Asia stuck on her back.......... All is all she is quite remarkable for her age. And she is so lucky that you are her advocate and are so hands on with her. You really know your baby! :bighug:

How much of the omega 3 are you giving? I have read up to 500 mg a day for cats and arthritis. I give both mine omega 3 daily.

I know, it’s really sad. I don’t think it has to be that way, even at 21.

The omega 3 pet I give .75 mL as per dosage instructions for a cat of her weight mixed in with her pm +9 meal. So that’s a whole lot less than 500 mg. I will have to read up on that .
 
I don't have Adequan experience with my cats. I'm more familiar with friends using it for their horses. I've given Teasel Cosequin for cystitis but it didn't really do much. I'm going by the members here who swear by Adequan (subQ): @jayla-n-Drevon @JanetNJ

My old vet completely wrote it off as being worthless for cats. But like you said, I’ve heard a different story from members on this board. I don’t know why such a disparity. Maybe it’s not following a protocol to give it? Most people would have to trek to their vet to get the injections, and perhaps they miss appointments or come later than they should for some? Like allergy shots, they aren’t very useful if you don’t go get them regularly. I really can’t understand why so many vets don’t see similar results to what we see here.
 
I know, it’s really sad. I don’t think it has to be that way, even at 21.

The omega 3 pet I give .75 mL as per dosage instructions for a cat of her weight mixed in with her pm +9 meal. So that’s a whole lot less than 500 mg. I will have to read up on that .
I'll try to see if I can find my source where I came up with the 500 mg for cats
 
My old vet completely wrote it off as being worthless for cats. But like you said, I’ve heard a different story from members on this board. I don’t know why such a disparity. Maybe it’s not following a protocol to give it? Most people would have to trek to their vet to get the injections, and perhaps they miss appointments or come later than they should for some? Like allergy shots, they aren’t very useful if you don’t go get them regularly. I really can’t understand why so many vets don’t see similar results to what we see here.
I think those two members I tagged give it at home as subQ injections. FWIW - in a general conversation I had with my vet a while back we talked about kitty arthritis and she brought up Adequan as a therapy. Vets - and human doctors - sometimes poo poo things that we learn for ourselves can help. And those professionals will disagree among themselves about various therapies. My stance is to learn as much as I can and then try it if it isn't laden with dangerous side effects.
 
Honestly if her arthritis is that bad them I don't think cosequine or dasuquin will do a lot, but you could give it in addition to adequan. I think you are eating your time with these other products. With adequan you will start to see more or improvement after the first 2-3 weeks, then better improvement after the loading dose of 4 weeks. The first 4 weeks it's shots twice a week, then maintenance dose of a shot every 3-4 weeks. For my cat u actually give it every week or she starts limping again. I may go to every two weeks when the warmer weather comes in. A testament to how it works is that my arthritic girl got to the top of her cat tree on her own this morning!


Another member that is very familiar with both adequan and msm (which she sent me a sample of) is @jayla-n-Drevon
 
Hi Hun,
I am a big fan of adequan and recommend it with confidence. If given at intervals that work for each cat it is very effective with no side effects. Dasaquan is good but not so much for a diabetic... My 20 year old flys around the house .... he is not diabetic and gets adequan dasaquan and MSM which I also would highly recommend and I would be happy to send you a "sample" as the kind I get is the best I have ever seen as far as purity.

https://www.theholistichorse.com/shop/animal-products/cats/su-per-msm-ultra-pure-powder-2/

I put the MSM is capsules for them as it does have a bit of a taste they may not like.
The company also has kelp and other products that may help and the staff is very customer friendly and will help you choose. They are also connected with a DVM.
If you are interested in the green lipid I personally the Moxxor is one of the best and they are small gel caps.

https://www.moxxor.com/product/

PM me if you would like to try the MSM :cat:

I think vets should be required to tell people about adequan as it greatly improve quality of life in my experience.
 
My 2 cents, cosequin should be started before they have arthritis or with mild arthritis. I don't think it helps with moderate or worse arthritis. Rufus was jumping on the couch the day after his 1st Adequan injection. ECID though. And, I'm starting to wonder if the cosequin is giving Rufus his tummy aches. I've heard rumblings about it on IBD kitties FB.
 
Vines for the bloodwork :bighug: , that is hard to hear about the arthritis, I cannot imagine having to deal with that on top of everything else. I hope you find something that works for her. PS - when do you sleep?!?! :eek:

Neveeeeeeeer!!! :joyful: Okay, it only feels like that. I’m not the only one testing her. When you see every hour testing in a color that isn’t green, that’s because it isn’t me. :p

I am the only one testing her at night, however, my sleep is severely impacted, I don’t call what I do sleeping, I take naps. :facepalm:
 
My 2 cents, cosequin should be started before they have arthritis or with mild arthritis. I don't think it helps with moderate or worse arthritis. Rufus was jumping on the couch the day after his 1st Adequan injection. ECID though. And, I'm starting to wonder if the cosequin is giving Rufus his tummy aches. I've heard rumblings about it on IBD kitties FB.

I read that too about tummy aches. o_O
 
@JanetNJ @jayla-n-Drevon

Thank you so much. I guess since long term studies have not been done in cats, they get hung up to try it. I shared what you wrote with my vet and asked if I could just start the Adequan. She agreed and I could pick it up as soon as today if I wanted, but I will wait until tomorrow as I have to figure out dose.

My vet said this and I said I would ask around try to figure out a good dose. I think I read somewhere that CKD cats have more conservative dosing with the loading doses, do you know anything about that? How do you calculate the dose? Asia is 10 pounds 7 ounces currently.

Jayla, I have a whole bag of MSM from holistic horse. I didn’t start it because I read something contradictory about heart, wouldn’t you know I can’t find that reference at the moment when I need it. :rolleyes:
 
I too was using Adequan for Shadow.... I think it helped her a lot. Each time it was shot time with it, she would have such a wonderful deep sleep because her joints weren't aching as much. According to her IM vet, it wasn't helping her hip socket as there was no joint there anymore, but she had arthritis all over. Her spine, her front legs. It was proven on the xrays.
She got 25 u every 3 weeks, for her every 4 weeks was too far apart.

I previously tried dasuquin and it did diddly squat for her...

I also can tell a story on a 12 year old golden retriever that a friend had who was almost lame. The dog could not walk, had a miserable time getting up off the ground and I told the owner about adequan. He hurried to the vet to give it a try as he was comtemplating letting
him go. The only joy the dog had anymore was sitting next to it's owner and getting carried to the truck to go for a ride. The owner did that daily, rode around his ranch.... ( lol)
He told his vet about it, got some immediately, and the dog is back to normal now. He can walk, and get up and has more time to go.

It's just like all medications, you have to try to find out if it's worth it.

I ask my rheumatologist why he wants to give me all this possible horrible side effects, and his answer was that if a patient comes in
to complain about pains they want relieved, then he will offer something even with worse side effects....
it becomes a quality of life issue, and doctors gamble that something else will take you out before your liver fails, or whatever the detrimental effect is.
 
My civvie started adequin a few months ago. It is a game changer for her. She gets in IM not subq. We did it twice a week for 2 weeks, then once a week for 2 weeks. Now monthly. I think we cut back to quickly and would like to talk to the vet about giving it more frequently. I swear we saw improvement after just one shot. She gets 0.22 (not sure on label) and she is around 12 pounds.
 
@JanetNJ @jayla-n-Drevon

Thank you so much. I guess since long term studies have not been done in cats, they get hung up to try it. I shared what you wrote with my vet and asked if I could just start the Adequan. She agreed and I could pick it up as soon as today if I wanted, but I will wait until tomorrow as I have to figure out dose.

My vet said this and I said I would ask around try to figure out a good dose. I think I read somewhere that CKD cats have more conservative dosing with the loading doses, do you know anything about that? How do you calculate the dose? Asia is 10 pounds 7 ounces currently.

Jayla, I have a whole bag of MSM from holistic horse. I didn’t start it because I read something contradictory about heart, wouldn’t you know I can’t find that reference at the moment when I need it. :rolleyes:

I forgot to quote my vet!

From my research, 2mg/kg to 5 mg/kg SQ twice weekly for 4 weeks, followed by once weekly for 4 weeks, followed by once monthly long term seems to be the accepted routine.
 
I am also a huge fan of Adequan..it significantly helped our civvie, Mario, who was on it for nearly 2 years, and it also help Trixie in her last several months. We're about to start it with our civvie, Noah, too. With Mario and Trix, I only saw positives, but that's not to say some kitties can't have issues.

I don't know the dosing formula, though - my vet always told me what to shoot. We always did it SubQ and it worked perfectly. Noah is only in the 8lb range, and she told us to shoot .2ml.
 
I am also a huge fan of Adequan..it significantly helped our civvie, Mario, who was on it for nearly 2 years, and it also help Trixie in her last several months. We're about to start it with our civvie, Noah, too. With Mario and Trix, I only saw positives, but that's not to say some kitties can't have issues.

I don't know the dosing formula, though - my vet always told me what to shoot. We always did it SubQ and it worked perfectly. Noah is only in the 8lb range, and she told us to shoot .2ml.

Thanks, Amy. Trixie was CKD as well, do you recall what dose you gave her, how much did she weigh? And do you recall if there was any noticeable impact on her kidneys, from dehydration or behavior to lab values?
 
Don't wish to highjack @Stacy & Asia .
Can someone please say if this Adequan is OK for a cat with CKD ?
Or perhaps what poss. side effects are.
I am trying to see if this med is allowed here in NZ. If it is I am in with a long shot of perhaps getting this for Ty if I can make it convincing enough.
 
Rufus started Adequan about a month ago, and Atopica 2.5 weeks ago. His bun increased from 31 to 45 and his creatinine form 1.4 to 2.2. I found that the Atopica can raise kidney numbers but haven't seen any info about Adequan doing it.
 
Don't wish to highjack @Stacy & Asia .
Can someone please say if this Adequan is OK for a cat with CKD ?
Or perhaps what poss. side effects are.
I am trying to see if this med is allowed here in NZ. If it is I am in with a long shot of perhaps getting this for Ty if I can make it convincing enough.

I don’t know that it’s “okay” per se, but it’s a risk/reward decision. If it works for Asia, sadly, I would trade a little kidney for more mobility and better quality of life. If it doesn’t work well enough, I will stop it because it won’t be worth it.
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-10-asia-amps-yucky.193938/

Asia had a vet visit yesterday to follow up on post kidney infection blood work. Should have results tomorrow. As far as her wacky numbers go, vet couldn’t find anything out of sorts upon examination. I’m hoping I just lowered her dose too quickly and that is looking like a good possibility.

Had her anal glands expressed, you know, since we were there anyway. Vet didn’t want to believe me that expressing her anal glands, no big deal, trying to look at her teeth, good luck with that...but that’s exactly how it went.

Still at a dead end addressing her arthritis. Vet recommended some new product she had heard anecdotal reports of being really useful: Antinol. I looked it up, it’s green lipped muscles concentrated by some special patented process and omega 3, which I already give her. I didn’t see many great reviews for it and it sounds like nothing much different from, well, fish oil and green lipped muscles. I don’t recall why I didn’t use green lipped muscles when this all started, but I think it must have had something to do with kidneys as it was before diabetes. She wasn’t opposed to the Adequan but wanted me to try something like this first. I looked in to MSM and it had lots of good reviews about it...but I found something else that said it can cause heart issues as well. I ordered Cosequin instead and will give it go.

I don’t want to accept that there is nothing to be done, this is a sad thing that happens: sometimes Toki will play with her and if Asia ends up on her back, she’s like turtle flipped over on her shell, she cannot get up on her own and she has the “halp me, hooman!” look of distress on her face. It’s only happened a few times, but that’s a few times too many. What if it happened when nobody was home? Also, I’m afraid the arthritis will make her hold in her poo, it is already difficult for her to hunch herself up to go, she often takes breaks in the litter box and then tries again. It’s sad to see. If Cosequin or Adequan or something works, despite it possibly having a little impact on her kidneys, I do think it’s worth it because the arthritis is affecting her quality of life and it doesn’t have to be this way.

I told her I stopped giving fluids and that also the tachycardia stopped with it. That was convincing enough that she agreed with me no fluids for now. I suspect cardiologist to say no fluids for her too. Going to keep adding water to her food and monitor her USG at home with a refractometer which I will calibrate at the vets to make sure the results are similar. I might get some 250mL bags of lactated ringers if I can find them so that I can very occasionally give her fluids if she is particularly dehydrated and not waste a huge bag of fluids that will only keep for 10 days.

Teeth were unremarkable, so that’s a good thing, but I know you can’t see what’s going on below the gum line, so I will always be concerned with them because of her past problems. She was not in favor of pulse antibiotics for teeth, I hope they remain unremarkable. She believes teeth infections stay localized, I told her that was absolutely not my experience and systemic infection is exact my concern.

She laughed at the thought Asia could be hyperthyroid, I don’t want to say she called her fat, but she said she would be shocked if a cat looking like Asia does had hyperT. I’ve heard of cats that were not skinny having hyperthyroid, so it’s not enough to ease my mind about it. If the tT4 value is elevated this time, she will get the fT4.

It’s time to do a heart echo. Vet was surprised her kidney values came down as bad as they were, so she wasn’t concerned with looking at her heart back then (I think she was quite surprised Asia bounced back from that). She said now it’s worth investigating as it’s better to start meds sooner than later. The cardio that goes to this practice and many of the others in the city is absolutely positively not going to let me be in the room with her. Back to this again. I have 2 ER options with cardiologists, if they won’t let me be in the room with her I have no options. Vet said their cardio is really fast and it would only take 7 minutes. Why does this have to be so complicated. At least they don’t want to sedate her!

Adequan really does work. If the cosequin doesn't help, can you insist on it? That's truly alarming about the turtle stasis.
That vet does not sound up to date. It's too bad she laughed at you. Maybe she was having a rough day?

Are the cardiologists Cornell or Ohio State U trained? I ask because I've had a cat at both universities, and they are adamant about seeing the animal sans human caretaker. I've no idea why. Have you asked the cardiologist in person about staying in the room? I would think that given Asia's age, and your skills, an exception could be made.


Hugs
 
Oddly or perhaps not so oddly given Ty's back leg/hip I have been trying to find out . This is about Pentosan. I believe this is same/similar.
When CKD is in play it always seems best to err on the side of caution with dosing. So perhaps less than recommended here.

Pentosan.jpg
 
Last edited:
Adequan really does work. If the cosequin doesn't help, can you insist on it? That's truly alarming about the turtle stasis.
That vet does not sound up to date. It's too bad she laughed at you. Maybe she was having a rough day?

Are the cardiologists Cornell or Ohio State U trained? I ask because I've had a cat at both universities, and they are adamant about seeing the animal sans human caretaker. I've no idea why. Have you asked the cardiologist in person about staying in the room? I would think that given Asia's age, and your skills, an exception could be made.

My vet is great, she did give me the Adequan rx today, she just wanted to try something less potent first and I decided I’ve already been down that road. She didn’t laugh at me, she was laughing at Asia the pudge bowling ball in reference to cats with a little extra are not hyperT. ;)

Have I asked the cardiologist...no. He is somewhat of a diva, he refuses to even speak to the humans of pets. o_O It was made explicitly clear that he is uncompromising, temperamental but good at his job.
 
Thanks, Amy. Trixie was CKD as well, do you recall what dose you gave her, how much did she weigh? And do you recall if there was any noticeable impact on her kidneys, from dehydration or behavior to lab values?
Trix had pretty advanced kidney disease when we started Adequan - quite honestly, so much so that I can't saw for sure if the Adequan had an impact on her kidneys or not. And, she was only on it for a couple months. My big regret is that we didn't start her on it much sooner than we did. I believe her dose was about .15ml - she was tiny at about 7lbs when we started. Mario did have renal insufficiency when we started him on it - so not actual CKD, but his kidneys were borderline. Through the 2 years he was on it, his kidney values stayed stable.
 
Not sure if you read Tanya's site or not so if you do just ignore :p

https://www.felinecrf.org/treatments_general_health.htm#arthritis_treatments
It does mention Green Lipped Mussels

Green Lipped Mussel
Green lipped mussel is one source of chondroitin which some people think is more effective than other sources.

Moxxor
Moxxoris a product made from green lipped mussels, kiwifruit oil and grape seeds. I'm not convinced cats require the latter two ingredients.

You can buy Moxxor here. It costs US$39 for one bottle containing 30 capsules (the usual dose is one capsule daily), and two bottles cost US$36 each, plus shipping (if you are in Europe, it will be shipped from the USA).

This product seems to be well liked on Tanya's CKD Support Group. The capsules are small and easy to give to cats

I tried Adequan with Gizmo but discontinued. Not sure if it was the Adequan or something else but his appy dropped considerably so I eliminate it. I think it did help with his arthritis. How much? Couldn't say it was a great improvement.
 
My vet is great, she did give me the Adequan rx today, she just wanted to try something less potent first and I decided I’ve already been down that road. She didn’t laugh at me, she was laughing at Asia the pudge bowling ball in reference to cats with a little extra are not hyperT. ;)\

Ahhh. lol. Well, that's a great relief!

Have I asked the cardiologist...no. He is somewhat of a diva, he refuses to even speak to the humans of pets. o_O It was made explicitly clear that he is uncompromising, temperamental but good at his job.

I think you mentioned that there were 2 cardiologist possibilities? Like you, I can't understand why they make it so hard. When my Freya had her echo, I was allowed to be with her. It made it easier for everyone. But it came about in a roundabout way. The Tech said I wouldn't be allowed in. When I was introduced to the cardiologist, I asked if I could be in the room with Freya, and she said, sure. The tech was a bit put out, but eh.
Bengals do much better when their human is with them. I think all animals do better, but from what I've seen, Bengals are even more so.

Again hugs. I've grown very fond of Asia.
 
I've tried everything for Bronx's arthritis and so far the adequan is the only thing that seems to work well. He walks better with less of the spinal hunchback and moves faster. I also recently started bupe shots and that seems to help a bit too. Other things I am still using is cosequin, fish oil, CBD drops and turmeric "golden paste".
 
@JanetNJ @jayla-n-Drevon

Thank you so much. I guess since long term studies have not been done in cats, they get hung up to try it. I shared what you wrote with my vet and asked if I could just start the Adequan. She agreed and I could pick it up as soon as today if I wanted, but I will wait until tomorrow as I have to figure out dose.

My vet said this and I said I would ask around try to figure out a good dose. I think I read somewhere that CKD cats have more conservative dosing with the loading doses, do you know anything about that? How do you calculate the dose? Asia is 10 pounds 7 ounces currently.

Jayla, I have a whole bag of MSM from holistic horse. I didn’t start it because I read something contradictory about heart, wouldn’t you know I can’t find that reference at the moment when I need it. :rolleyes:
I have not heard any contraindications on the heart with MSM--I will email and ask as I am curious now. I will say I just did BW and my 20 year old who had a previous heart condition and gets the MSM has the BW of a 2 year old cat:cat: It is crazy considering the cardio told me he had 2 weeks about 2 years ago. He also had fd from the budesonide and has been in remission for a very long time. Did I mention early ckd since 11 and fluids until 17 when the heart thing happened but he is getting a little now again. He has good genes:smuggrin:

The dose for adequan as per my vet is to round up --
so Shadow would round up to 11 pounds X2 =22 and the dose would be 0.2.2 o a 1ml syringe.
Some people use a insulin syringe and I think that would be 22 units but @Larry and Kitties is more educated with the insulin dosing.

I never heard the need for conservative dosing for a diabetic.
 
Don't wish to highjack @Stacy & Asia .
Can someone please say if this Adequan is OK for a cat with CKD ?
Or perhaps what poss. side effects are.
I am trying to see if this med is allowed here in NZ. If it is I am in with a long shot of perhaps getting this for Ty if I can make it convincing enough.
I have never seen negative side effects with CKD and adequan . I would be lost without it for my chubby diabetic it helps him so much:cat: I actually give a drop more than his dose and he gets weekly shots.
 
Stacy , you are absolutely correct ab hyperT symptoms ... when Elmo was first diagnosed hyperT 5 years ago he had hyper numbers and HYPO symptoms !!! Vet said it was only the second time in all her years that she had seen it . Your instincts are correct :)
 
Has anyone tried Slippery Elm for Arthritis ?

Slippery elm is said to relieve inflammation of virtually any mucous membrane and is used in the treatment of inflammatory conditions of the lungs (bronchitis, asthma), kidneys, bladder (cystitis, FLUTD symptoms), throat (tonsillitis) and joints (arthritis). (5)

Sometimes the simple things work!
 
Neko was on Cartrophen, what we use in Canada for arthritis. Similar but not exactly the same. Also used off label in cats. It helped Neko some, but I had amazing results with a civie. @PussCatPrince you may find Cartrophen available in NZ. It is in Oz.

Alternatives that are more natural are hyaluronic acid (my brother takes it too), Hyalflex is a good brand. Duralactin really helped Neko. It's an anti inflammatory. But talk to the vet first as it's contraindicated in some cases, specifically high calcium. Acupuncture/acupressure really helped, as did the regular buprenorphine. Neko's arthritis was pretty bad, even I could feel it. So she needed pain relief. :(
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-10-asia-amps-yucky.193938/

Asia had a vet visit yesterday to follow up on post kidney infection blood work. Should have results tomorrow. As far as her wacky numbers go, vet couldn’t find anything out of sorts upon examination. I’m hoping I just lowered her dose too quickly and that is looking like a good possibility.

Had her anal glands expressed, you know, since we were there anyway. Vet didn’t want to believe me that expressing her anal glands, no big deal, trying to look at her teeth, good luck with that...but that’s exactly how it went.

Still at a dead end addressing her arthritis. Vet recommended some new product she had heard anecdotal reports of being really useful: Antinol. I looked it up, it’s green lipped muscles concentrated by some special patented process and omega 3, which I already give her. I didn’t see many great reviews for it and it sounds like nothing much different from, well, fish oil and green lipped muscles. I don’t recall why I didn’t use green lipped muscles when this all started, but I think it must have had something to do with kidneys as it was before diabetes. She wasn’t opposed to the Adequan but wanted me to try something like this first. I looked in to MSM and it had lots of good reviews about it...but I found something else that said it can cause heart issues as well. I ordered Cosequin instead and will give it go.

I don’t want to accept that there is nothing to be done, this is a sad thing that happens: sometimes Toki will play with her and if Asia ends up on her back, she’s like turtle flipped over on her shell, she cannot get up on her own and she has the “halp me, hooman!” look of distress on her face. It’s only happened a few times, but that’s a few times too many. What if it happened when nobody was home? Also, I’m afraid the arthritis will make her hold in her poo, it is already difficult for her to hunch herself up to go, she often takes breaks in the litter box and then tries again. It’s sad to see. If Cosequin or Adequan or something works, despite it possibly having a little impact on her kidneys, I do think it’s worth it because the arthritis is affecting her quality of life and it doesn’t have to be this way.

I told her I stopped giving fluids and that also the tachycardia stopped with it. That was convincing enough that she agreed with me no fluids for now. I suspect cardiologist to say no fluids for her too. Going to keep adding water to her food and monitor her USG at home with a refractometer which I will calibrate at the vets to make sure the results are similar. I might get some 250mL bags of lactated ringers if I can find them so that I can very occasionally give her fluids if she is particularly dehydrated and not waste a huge bag of fluids that will only keep for 10 days.

Teeth were unremarkable, so that’s a good thing, but I know you can’t see what’s going on below the gum line, so I will always be concerned with them because of her past problems. She was not in favor of pulse antibiotics for teeth, I hope they remain unremarkable. She believes teeth infections stay localized, I told her that was absolutely not my experience and systemic infection is exact my concern.

She laughed at the thought Asia could be hyperthyroid, I don’t want to say she called her fat, but she said she would be shocked if a cat looking like Asia does had hyperT. I’ve heard of cats that were not skinny having hyperthyroid, so it’s not enough to ease my mind about it. If the tT4 value is elevated this time, she will get the fT4.

It’s time to do a heart echo. Vet was surprised her kidney values came down as bad as they were, so she wasn’t concerned with looking at her heart back then (I think she was quite surprised Asia bounced back from that). She said now it’s worth investigating as it’s better to start meds sooner than later. The cardio that goes to this practice and many of the others in the city is absolutely positively not going to let me be in the room with her. Back to this again. I have 2 ER options with cardiologists, if they won’t let me be in the room with her I have no options. Vet said their cardio is really fast and it would only take 7 minutes. Why does this have to be so complicated. At least they don’t want to sedate her!

I never really chime in here because everyone seems to have the basis covered. However, this discussion on Adequan is right up my alley! :p

Pig is a Manx and has what is called, not so ironically, "Manx Syndrome". The best way to describe it is that it is the closest thing to feline spinal bifida. Owing to this, he was born with a wonky leg as I like to call it, but it is more like a leg that has never really gained any muscle tone. His little back left leg is thin like a stick and his back right leg is almost twice the size in girth. It never really caused any issues until he was about 6 years old. I noticed that on occasion he would favor it a bit more than the others. My vet said not to worry and that we would treat it as it got a little worse. I agreed with her in this as it was only very occasionally an issue as in he might have overplayed that day.

About 2 years ago he really started to favor it, so much so that I had considered having him special fitted for a brace. I could visibly see his back elbow hyper extend in the wrong direction and he would always sleep with that leg directly underneath him and stretched straight out. I started him on Cosequin, because in my mind this was the best option. However, after discussing the brace with my vet she informed and directed me to a study (I wish I could remember where) that had just been released at a national vet conference on the long term effects of oral glucosamine and MSM supplements in cats. In reality, these results were less than inspiring. The study found that the effects of both on pain and joint maintenance were no better than a placebo. In essence, save your money on those!

She then directed me to Adequan. I can personally attest to this being the single biggest thing in turning Pig's arthritis around. The first week I say nothing. The second week I saw nothing. The third week I thought I saw a difference, but was more convinced it was in my head. However, on the fourth week? The boy who was limping and struggling just to keep in joint in place was jumping on the desk and chasing toys again!! He was not nearly as sensitive about his hind quarters as he use to be! I have been giving it to him ever since and even the hyper extension has gretly improved. I actually give him weekly injections, rather than once every 2. I can also attest to its safety because my vet is one of those who are super cautious about any type of medications. In short, if it is not as safe as giving water then it is pulling teeth to get her to prescribe it. If she prescribed Adequan then I know it is incredibly safe. Now, as far as if it is safe with CKD I cannot say as I do not have experience, but I do not that it is in all other things very safe. And very effective!!

Now, as far as the arthritis effecting bathroom habits, I would have to say that they absolutely do. Well, they do for Pig. This has been a struggle for him for a while. It just seems very uncomfortable for him to bend himself to poo and incredibly uncomfortable for him to squat and pee, even with the Adequan. I noticed that no matter how clean his boxes were he would always opt for going outside the box. This said to me that the box was uncomfortable. So, I went about finding solutions. 1) I started using Dr. Elsey's Senior litter formula because it is an incredibly fine grain so good on feets with neuropathy and made so that you can use a very small amount in the bottom of the box, meaning the sand would not shift and they would not slide. This litter made a world of difference for Pig, but I will say it has a LOT of dust so if there is an issue with the lungs or anything like that you may not want to give it a go. However, you can still decrease the amount of litter in the box if need be. 2) I started relying heavily upon puppy pads 3) I collect the cardboard flats that cans come in, like from the grocery store, and just set this near the box. I have to put things under them for when he pees, but for Pig, he will choose these over the litter any day. Both have the same height, side wise, the only thing I can think is that the cardboard provides more stability than the litter does. Then all I have to do is throw the flat away! Works great!

I have rambled enough!! I am hopeful that Adequan will improve upon the turtle thing for Miss Asia! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I collect the cardboard flats that cans come in, like from the grocery store, and just set this near the box. I have to put things under them for when he pees, but for Pig, he will choose these over the litter any day. Both have the same height, side wise, the only thing I can think is that the cardboard provides more stability than the litter does. Then all I have to do is throw the flat away!
This sounds genius, but can you elaborate? I'm confused where to put the cardboard. Does he poo in the cardboard outside the box? Phoebe is opting for outside the box I think for same reason of painful hunching. Thank goodness for puppy pads.
 
but can you elaborate? I'm confused where to put the cardboard.
I just put the cardboard flat anywhere near the box, not inside it. I always leave boxes down for them after we get a shipment, because well they just love them! One day, after finishing all the cans of Weruva (months ago) in the flat they are shipped in, I put the flat down on the floor. At this point Pig was still in really high numbers and it was a struggle to get him to urinate by himself even if he was not constipated. However, after just placing the flat down on the floor he almost immediately got up and started using it.

Now, I do not know if other cats will just use them like that (ECID, right?), but I would think a small scoop of used litter in the box might let them know it is okay to use it. I started putting the puppy pads underneath the box because they can leak after kitty pees. But, it is so easy to clean as you just toss it out. It is sort of like using a disposable litter box without and litter and without paying the price for fancy disposable boxes. This also give me the flexibility to just place 'litter boxes' all over the house when he is not feeling overly well. The random placements help, especially in an arthritic kitty because they do not have to walk as far to reach the box. I have seen a vast improvement in his motivation, alone, to get up and use the box this way. However, I will say this, I live alone and my boys are my life so it does not bother me to have cardboard litter boxes strewn about, but it might some. I just find it to improve his bladder size and frequency of bathroom trips if I make it more convenient on him.

But, yes, he uses this cardboard box just as he would a litter box. Only, it seems better for him because it has no litter to contend with.
 
Neko was on Cartrophen, what we use in Canada for arthritis. Similar but not exactly the same. Also used off label in cats. It helped Neko some, but I had amazing results with a civie. @PussCatPrince you may find Cartrophen available in NZ. It is in Oz.

Alternatives that are more natural are hyaluronic acid (my brother takes it too), Hyalflex is a good brand. Duralactin really helped Neko. It's an anti inflammatory. But talk to the vet first as it's contraindicated in some cases, specifically high calcium. Acupuncture/acupressure really helped, as did the regular buprenorphine. Neko's arthritis was pretty bad, even I could feel it. So she needed pain relief. :(

She’s been on the bupe since fall of last year. We did acupuncture for a good long while, I won’t say it didn’t help, it did, but results were mediocre and did not justify the enourmous cost of having it done weekly. I asked my vet about the duralactin last time, she said she had never heard of it. My MIL got hyalyronic acid injected into her knee, same stuff? Or it is an oral preparation?
 
She then directed me to Adequan. I can personally attest to this being the single biggest thing in turning Pig's arthritis around. The first week I say nothing. The second week I saw nothing. The third week I thought I saw a difference, but was more convinced it was in my head. However, on the fourth week? The boy who was limping and struggling just to keep in joint in place was jumping on the desk and chasing toys again!! He was not nearly as sensitive about his hind quarters as he use to be! I have been giving it to him ever since and even the hyper extension has gretly improved. I actually give him weekly injections, rather than once every 2. I can also attest to its safety because my vet is one of those who are super cautious about any type of medications. In short, if it is not as safe as giving water then it is pulling teeth to get her to prescribe it. If she prescribed Adequan then I know it is incredibly safe. Now, as far as if it is safe with CKD I cannot say as I do not have experience, but I do not that it is in all other things very safe. And very effective!!

Thank you, this gives me some peace of mind re: safety. That’s really amazing how much it helped Pig! I’m trying not to get my hopes up, but I want to believe that is possible for Asia too. Asia has poor muscle tone in her back legs and is also sensitive about them. She has always used her box (except the rare occasion she pee pee pants in her sleep), we have the litter robot, it is shallow but it’s a globe so no sides to worry about. She doesn’t squat to pee anymore, she just pees standing up and it goes on the side of the globe. The poo thing is troubling for her as well, just like you described with Pig. I’m sorry the Adequan didn’t help Pig with that. We use dr ellzeys too, the regular one mixed with crystals.
 
I have not heard any contraindications on the heart with MSM--I will email and ask as I am curious now. I will say I just did BW and my 20 year old who had a previous heart condition and gets the MSM has the BW of a 2 year old cat:cat: It is crazy considering the cardio told me he had 2 weeks about 2 years ago. He also had fd from the budesonide and has been in remission for a very long time. Did I mention early ckd since 11 and fluids until 17 when the heart thing happened but he is getting a little now again. He has good genes:smuggrin:

The dose for adequan as per my vet is to round up --
so Shadow would round up to 11 pounds X2 =22 and the dose would be 0.2.2 o a 1ml syringe.
Some people use a insulin syringe and I think that would be 22 units but @Larry and Kitties is more educated with the insulin dosing.

I never heard the need for conservative dosing for a diabetic.

Congrats on your double decade kitty, he sounds like he’s in amazing shape. :cat: Asia was doing pretty awesome all around until about a year ago and then diabetes happened in September and things started falling apart.

I have 1mL syringes, it would take all day to use insulin syringes. :joyful: Did you mean 0.2 for the dose? Asia is 10 pounds and some change, so if I round up, she would be that same dose, I will run it by my vet. Do you inject anywhere in particular? The scruff?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top