4/13,Chuck,AMPS:212,+3 254,+3.5 174,+4 166,+6 155,PMPS 103,+2.25 159,+4 166,+6 137,+8 126,+9.25 183

Status
Not open for further replies.
It's great that his bounces don't last long, Steph. Much easier to see the effect of a dose. You have to be over the moon with Chuck's progress on Lantus! :smuggrin:
 
Updating SS now..
PMPS: 99!!!!
Stalling while I update SS and wait for responses here
To nervous to shoot 8!!!
 
Last edited:
I think Chuck is trying to tell you something!

Are you able to monitor for the whole cycle? I don't know what to tell you on the dose, I'm sorry.
 
I feel like he needs a reduction but I don't know. I can monitor but rather not go hypo
 
It does seem that way. Normally the recommendation is to make them "earn" reductions, but I'd be nervous too-- he's at 8U, after all. At least he is holding steady or rising slightly right now, so he'll most likely be perfectly safe if you do shoot.

I can't stick around, unfortunately, but good luck!
 
Thank you Nan & Amber. I saw on another post you're going into a meeting.
I think I'm going rogue and shooting 7.5 units.
I can monitor but have my niece here so I'm afraid I might miss something.
I have to run a quick errand too.
 
PMPS (+12.5) 103
Fed usual with usual snacks.
Gave 7.5 units
Will monitor.

Do you think I should give his +7 snack later to see if he'll start going back up a little more by +12 or go down in units depending on how he does with the 7.5?
I read on here that dose changes like .5 units don't work the same way it Don
Does on prozinc.
Hopefully he doesn't go hypo.
 
Sorry I wasn't on earlier, I would have gone for the full 8.0 units, especially if you can monitor and have the supplies (test strips and HC). It looks like Chuck is nadiring pretty darn close to +12. A nadir in the 90's doesn't earn a reduction.

That's for next time. Tomorrow you can go back to 8.0 units.
 
Normally the recommendation is to make them "earn" reductions, but I'd be nervous too-- he's at 8U, after all.
The size of the dose doesn't matter - it's what they do with it that counts. Cats need as much insulin as they need. Suki used to give Crystal full dose (60 units Lev plus some R) with green preshots - because that's what Crystal needed. I am not recommending anyone here shoot green on any size dose without the data to back it up.

You've shot full dose (8.5 units) on a 128 before and he did earn a reduction, but shooting low helps you stay low. It's not a guarantee they'll go too low. I loved giving Neko insulin in the 80's (didn't matter what size dose), cause for her it meant a really flat cycle where she might move no more than 10 points the entire cycle.

I would feed as normal for now. And get a +1 and a +2 to see where he's going and adjust food basd on that. If you need to go out for a bit you can put down some HC, if he needs it. My money's on the possibility of a bounce.
 
I'm watching my niece and she's been screaming since we got back at +1. Chuck is in hiding somewhere and won't come out. I'm hoping the little one will fall asleep soon and I can find Chuck. He won't come out as long as she's screaming bloody murder. She's teething and in full meltdown mode... I'm almost there too! It's now +2.
 
99, 113, and 103 are all pretty close together, and meaning he is surfing. Once they reach the flat surfing part of the cycle, he's not going to dip much. Or if he does dip, it's like the "second dip" which is just a little bit down but not as low as the nadir of the cycle. Having said all that, there is something very nerve wracking about shooting green. It's just something you have to get used to if you have a kitty that likes to nadir late like Chuck seems to. And yes, it took me a while too.

Sorry about the meltdown, maybe the niece should get renamed Satan. :p
 
Steph, these are for you, the coveted Balls of Steel (BOS) :cat: I agree with Wendy and I would have gone with the full 8 units too. He is giving you lower pre shoot numbers and clearing bounces so quickly now. It is very exciting and what you have been wanting. Usually, when you shoot low the cycles are rather flat. Even with the slight reduction you did today, he is still going to be reacting to the larger dose of 8 units. The +2.5 could be a bit of a food hike and some stress with "mini Satan" screaming bloody murder, LOL. I love the looks of his SS now. :)
 
Last edited:
upload_2017-4-13_16-34-34.png
Forgot these above. :rolleyes:
 
Surfing in blues. I was so nervous about the dose. We'll see what he gets down to later. I'm going to bed early tonight. I can probably get a +9.25 before bed. DH will be home 45 minutes before AMPS.
If he's green or blue you still think he should get the full 8?
He can monitor til +4 and I can get +5. We won't be able to monitor after that til PMPS. Which he will take care of tomorrow too. I'll be home at +3 or +4.
I really hope to have his dose set/known by the time we leave for vacation in a month.
 
I understand about the dose making you nervous but, to keep them low, we shoot lower numbers as long as you can monitor most of it. If you can get a +5 tomorrow, you can always put down higher carb food for him while you are gone until you return if you think he is going too low for comfort.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top