? 4.14.15 Zoey amps(316) PMPS(322) DOSE INCREASE IN A.M. .25?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rose

Member Since 2015
Good morning!
Yesterday ended up being pretty flat and blue so hopefully today's forecast will be flat and green.

Yesterday

Happy Tuesday!
 
Pretty uneventful day spent on the yellow brick road. Her paw is bothering her. Picks it up and licks it more and more. Looking for some natural remedies. Please let me know if you've had any experience with any herbal remedies that might help.

I'll keep the spreadsheet current as the night goes on and will post here if there's something exciting to share. Hopefully will be able to call it a night early on. (Yeah, I know, I probably just jinxed it... either way I'd be happy though. )

g'night all.
 
Did Zoey hurt her paw recently? Just wondering what has caused it to be bothering her. Did the vet say anything about the petechiae yesterday?

Hey Zoey - time to ditch that bounce!
 
We didn't take her to the vet about the petechiae yet. She woke up yesterday with tremendous improvement so DH wanted to wait to see how it progressed today. She's looking a lot better and has more energy and strength. Jumping down off the bed .... which might be what's wrong with her foot. Her left foot was first swollen three weeks ago and that recovered and about two weeks ago she started lifting her right foot. It wasn't often and she would shake it when she lifted it and then lick. We figured it was the diabetes and her neuropathy. It's still going on but now there seems to be some swelling in the same joint as she was having in her left paw a few weeks ago (these are front paws where she jumps off the bed and lands with full force). So, it's hard to say. I can move it around and mess with it and she tolerates it well -- doesn't appear to be super painful. She's just favoring it and shaking it and limping a little on it and there's slight swelling.

I do need to take her back to the vet. Had to put an $1800 condenser in our truck yesterday so I think DH is wanting to recover from that and maybe take her next week unless we absolutely must take her in. Her petechiae does look better (sub q fluids, milk thistle, vit. b and epsom salt soaks with coconut oil rubs ... the cat thinks she's at a high-end spa.) I split her B12 shot in half and spread the shot out into two over the week's period. I read an article that talks about if they have liver/absorption problems (one of the possiblities with petechiae) that they could benefit with it being spread out so that not as much of it is lost with the absorption issues. ?? it couldn't hurt so we'll see. I plan to give her another b-12 shot in the a.m. i've been looking to see what kind of natural pain relievers might help in the interim and read about arnica. I think they've given her (or one of the cats) metacam before and I just read an article where that's not good for them either. Too much information just really muddies the waters. :bookworm::banghead:

I was looking at Zoey's SS .. is it time for me to increase her dose in the a.m. by .25?
 
I agree with you - I'd increase her dose by 0.25u. You could also call it a failed reduction, although she did hold the last reduction for a few cycles. When you've reduced the dose, you don't have to wait any particular # of cycles to move the dose back up if you think it's failed. On 4/12 when she had no green at all - I'd have called it then and increased the dose the next morning. Or even in the pmps on the 12th. The idea of the dose reduction is that when you reduce the dose, nothing changes in the good numbers. The kitty continues to have nice green cycles if they were having them before.

here's a little info on Failed Reductions, New Dose Wonkiness & Bouncing.

As far as her foot goes, some people put steps up to their bed for Her Highness to make it up and down without falling or getting hurt. :smuggrin:
 
Fish oil is a general purpose anti-inflammatory. I use Nordic Naturals. Another natural product for inflammation is Duralactin, which Neko is also getting, but that's for long term inflammation such as arthritis. I wouldn't start that one without consulting with your vet, but fish oil should be fine.

I use arnica myself but again I'd double check with your vet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top