? 4/14 Cleo AMPS=176 +1=254 +5=52 +5.5=66 +6=72 +7=53 +10=259 PMPS=375 Dose advice needed please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delia

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

4/13 Recap
AMPS=324
+1=350
+7=198
+12=60
PMPS=82 (+12.3)
+1=156
+2=170
+4=98 +6=103
+9=119
+11=131

Cleo yesterday had a wonderful blue/green cycle after that bad black/pink numbers of previous days. April, thanks a lot to have been with me last night.
Today starts pretty well, with a 176. I won't able to monitor, because I'll be at work, so I'm letting her LC food with a little more of carbs than usual.
Tonight numbers were quite flat, but nadir was at +4, unusual for her.

Have a very good day! :D:D:D
 
:D Can't sleep at work. My collegues are too much noisy! ;)

Today Cleo has been a lot in low green number and ate a lot. DH gave her some honey at +5, because she had 52 right after eating. Then he tested after 30 minutes and then again after 30 minutes and she had first 66, then 72. I told him to test again before to leave. After an hour she had 53 so I told him to give her another drop of honey, some food and set the feeder to give her other food in an hour (+8).
At +8 she didn't eat, but she did it at +10. Then DH tested again and her bg was 259 :(

What should I do with dose? Probably she would have gone under 50, if DH didn't give her honey and food, right? I reduced her dose 3 days ago, so I gave this dose for 7 cycles. Please tell me what is the right thing to do. Thank you very much for your help.
 
I will maintein the dose for the pm cycle because she is pretty high.
What should I do tomorrow morning?
 
We don't normally reduce until we actually see a number under 50. Cleo may have gone under 50, hard to know for sure. I think the decision is up to you. She's been at this dose long enough that she's held her last reduction and close if not exactly there for the next one. There are pros and cons to reducing. If you keep her at this dose until she really sees a number under 50, she may spend more time in normal numbers, which will help flatten out her cycles overall. However, since you aren't home from the day and you can only get some tests then when DH is home, that can be a bit tricky waiting for the under 50. I think if you are worried about her safety, I'd reduce. If you think you can get mid day tests from DH, I'd be tempted to keep her at this dose until you really see an under 50, so Cleo can spend more time in healing numbers. Then again, her AMPS number may help you make that decision.
 
Thank you Wendy. DH works near home, so he can go home for lunch and sometimes, if needed, he can run to home to see if Cleo it's ok (as he did today at +10). What usually worried me it's that she may go lower then +6+7 tests, when nobody is at home and she hasn't food available.
Julie suggested me some time ago to use two feeder, but here the weather is beginning to be quite hot and I think the food will spoil during so many hours. I don't understand how much the food (even lc food) can increase the bg and in how much time. If I understood it, I could better the feeding scheduling.
 
What type of feeder are you using? My Petsafe 5 has a small spot under the feeder tray that I put a small frozen gel pack in. The other option is to put a frozen ice cube on top of the food. It'll add water to the food as it melts, but that's OK.

Learning what % carb food works for Cleo is trial and error. Every cat is different, some are more carb sensitive than others. Some people put a * in the spreadsheet column if their cat gets food in that hour. That can help you see the effects of food.
 
I use a Petsafe 5, too. I saw the spot under the feeder, but I can't find a gel pack that suit in it (the spot is very small). I have this ice pack, but it is too big:
001.JPG


Do you have a link to show me how the right ice pack looks like? Thanks! :)
 
I think you can get the ice packs for it on Amazon. I saw them there but never bought one as the feeder is still in the box.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top