4/14 Harvey PMPS 222 +2 173 Cinco PMPS 235 +2 96 +3 70 +4.25 81 - Good News & Bad News

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
4/13 Recap
Harvey
1.75 units bid
AMPS: 180
AM+2.5: 80
AM+3.5: 49
AM+4.25: 50
AM+4.75: 51
AM+5.25: 49
AM+6: 69
PMPS: 204
PM+3.25: 81
PM+4.25: 66
PM+5.25: 87
PM+7: 156


Cinco
2.0 units bid
AMPS: 327
AM+2.5: 212
AM+3.75: 230
AM+6: 257
PMPS: 289
PM+3: 189
PM+6.75: 173

Earlier Today
Harvey
1.75 units
AMPS: 182
AM+2.25: 210


Cinco
AMPS: 287
AM+2.25: 256

Yesterday at Tricia's House of Chaos

Please forgive the very late condo, again. We spent all day at UCD with Harvey and Cinco and just got home in time for t/f/s. It has been a long, difficult day.

Cinco and Harvey both had appointments at UCD in Oncology.

The good news is that Harvey's Intestinal Lymphoma appears to be stable. They did b/w and an u/s and found nothing unexpected. They did a pancreatitis test to rule that out, but the Oncologist that saw him, Dr. Burton, who is a faculty member, thinks that his tummy upset may be caused by the Pred. She is reducing his dose by half, to 2.5 mg per day. Paws crossed this helps with his BGs. My big mistake was taking a copy of his SS without doctoring it. When they saw those 30s and 40s, I got the lecture on risking a hypo and they advised me (with input from an IM) to reduce his dose to 1.0 bid. They said he appeared to be "headed for remission"! Seriously??? I respectfully declined to follow their advice. It says a lot for the credit that I've built up with Dr. Burton that she took my refusal in good stead, although she did reiterate her concern about the lower numbers (Note to self: next time, change the low numbers before providing the spreadsheet). They want to see Harvey back in 1-2 months to check on his lymphoma again. I'm fine with that. I will not be following their advice to take him to see the IM, or his regular vet, in two weeks to check on his BGs.

Now the bad news: Cinco's b/w showed an increase in the total bilirubin from last week, and in his liver enzymes, as well. They weren’t sure he should have chemo today, so did another ultrasound. They found that his common bile duct is significantly dilated, which signifies a bile duct obstruction. They could find no clear evidence as to what is causing the obstruction. His pancreas is even more inflamed than it was last week. They cannot tell if these changes are caused by a spread of the lymphoma or something else without doing surgery, nor can the bile duct issue be resolved any other way. The oncologists consulted with several other specialists (IM, Neurology, etc.) and the consensus was that he is
not a good candidate for surgery, and that chemo should be discontinued. The bile duct issue will only get worse. This (the obstruction) is the same problem that took my male Siberian, Kisa, and after trying everything to save him and watching him suffer and die, I made a vow that I will never put another cat through that.


After discussing it with the doctors and with Mark, we tentatively scheduled Cinco for euthanasia tomorrow. They gave him fluids and a shot of Ondansetron. Dr. Couto, the Oncologist, told me that, if he appears comfortable and is eating, it would be perfectly fine to postpone for a few days, possibly even a week. He was his usual feisty self on the drive home, trying to break out of the carrier, and when we got home, he went straight to his dish and ate most of the breakfast he turned down this morning! He has since had an entire 3 oz can of Soulistic chicken, and an ounce of another. Mark and I decided we are going to take this day by day and let Cinco tell us when he is ready. When we can’t get him to eat, even with Cypro and Ondansetron, and/or he is clearly uncomfortable, we will let him go. He’s a fighter, and I know he isn’t going to give up easily, so I’m going to take my cue from him. I will not let him suffer. They were wonderful at UCD and told me I don’t need an appointment – I can bring him in whenever he is ready. His doctors are heartbroken, especially Dr. Moore, who held him and cuddled him during the fluids administration.

I can’t believe I am going through this again so soon. It really hit me out of the blue and I am still reeling. Please pray that I can stay objective and will recognize it when Cinco says he is done.

Sending healing vines to all in need, and hugs to all their beans. :bighug:
 
Oh Tricia...No words...just tears.

I'm glad you've decided to just take it one day at a time with Cinco though. As long as he's eating and not in pain, there's no rush....you're so "in tune" with him that you'll know when the time comes.

We're all heartbroken along with you and the team at UCD, but let's just hope that he's still got lots of life and love to share with you before it's time to release him.

Sending mega huge vines and lots and lots of :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I am so so sorry to hear Cinco's news. I am crying buckets over here, it seems so unfair for you to be going through this again so soon. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

I am sure you will know when Cinco, our beautiful orange miracle boy, calls time. I wish I could hold him, please give him extra cuddles from me.
 
Thank you for stopping by, Chris, Wendy and Serryn. I've always lived by the saying "I wept that I had no shoes, until I met a man that had no feet", but I must admit that I'm having a hard time keeping things in perspective right now. Too much too soon. :(
 
(((Tricia))) I am so sorry for Cinco's diagnosis but I believe you are making the right decision,
Hopefully he will have some more quality days with you before he tells you he has had enough. My heart breaks for you, just love him day by day. Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers, a million :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Tricia, I'm so sorry. I know Cinco will let you know when it's time. Make the most of each moment you have left. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Tricia,
I'm so sorry that you are going through this. I know how you must feel. I wish for Cinco to have lots of enjoyment of life left in him and for clarity for you.
 
(((Tricia)))

I'm so very sorry to hear about Cinco. I can't even begin to imagine what you're feeling right now and am simply at a loss for words.

Many, many prayers are headed out for you all. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So sad to read this Tricia - I'm so sorry :(:(:(:(

I'm glad you have decided to take it day by day. Enjoy each moment together in the meantime. Huge hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Our kitties, especially fighters like Cinco, will tell you when it's their time. You and Mark are smart enough to hear what Cinco has to tell you. My thoughts are with you.
 
Oh (((Tricia))) my heart hurts and broke just reading this. I'm so sorry about Cinco. Give him some kisses and scritches from me. I know it's terrible hard to be objective about our furbabies. Sending thoughts and prayers and hugs:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
My heart hurts for you Tricia it's just so unfair...keeping you in my prayers. Enjoy your time with Cinco and extra :bighug::bighug::bighug: for you all.
 
Tricia, Sending Prayers and Hugs to you and DH. I hope Cinco has a lot of quality time left. Sometimes life is so unfair.
 
Tricia... I am so sorry for the news.....I know Cinco loves you so much and he will fight to stay with you.
we are sending tons of prayers and love your way:bighug:
 
(((Tricia and Mark))) this is always the most difficult time when we know our babies are ready to go but we never could be. And my heart truly, truly aches that you are having to do this again. One loss was tragic, two was shattering, but three....it's just not fair especially because you have taken amazing care of your babies. You've always been Wonder Woman in my eyes and I've been in awe of how they all did so well for so long under your very loving care.

I know you will know when the time is right. You are too bonded with him to miss that.

Sending many prayers and much love :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
This is a post I've been dreading to read and I am in tears right now. So many hugs to you and skritches and pets to Cinco. Snickers is sitting with me letting me cry into her fur.
 
Thank you so much, everyone. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Cinco had a good night. He ate a total of TWO cans of Soulistic last night! :) Mark got caught up in a conference call this morning and forgot to give the boys their insulin. :facepalm: I'll be doing a condo later. I feel like Cinco is stable for now (he just finished his breakfast after some Cerenia & Cypro), so I'm running out to ship off the wine basket for the raffle winner.
BBL.
 
OMG Tricia. I was just directed here after reading that Wendy was sending prayers. I glad no idea until just now. Cinco has been such a trooper and you gave all fought so hard.. It just us two fair! I'm speechless right now and getting picked up to go out with a friend right now so will write more when I return. Prayers galore. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh Tricia, I am so sorry to read the news about Cinco. He is such a little trooper and to be admired for his wonderful fighting spirit. I hope you will have many more days with him. You have been an extraordinary bean to your kitties. I am thinking of you and Mark at this really difficult time.:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Tricia, just seeing this now, my thoughts and prayers are with you. I can't believe you are going g through this again so soon. I am heartbroken for you.

Enjoy every moment, sending cinco and harvey scritches.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I am so sorry. You have been through so much with each of your kitties, you and Mark and all of the vets have taken such good care of everyone. Enjoy each day with your sweet orange boy, it doesn't sound like he's quite ready yet, it's his gift to you for an excellent life.
Liz
 
Dear ((((Tricia & Mark)))),
I am so sad to read this report. Cinco is such a strong and brave kitty and you have always worked miracles with him. I pray that in taking it day by day that all of you will have much good time together. Cinco knows that you will not let him suffer and that everything you do is because you love him. Our thoughts are always with you.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty

Yo Deputy Cinco, Keep on hanging out at the lagoon with all your pals for as long as you feel like it. You are the BEST!
~ LagoonMeister Rusty
 
(((Tricia & Mark))),

I am so saddened by this news. Tricia, you are a superior mama bean and I know you bend over backwards for all of your kitties. I know you will make the most of your days with Cinco and I will pray each and every day that you have more time together. Hang in there...:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Dawn
 
Wow! Reading your incredible description of the many health issues with both Harvey and Cinco and the decision your and Mark reached re: letting him go when he tells you he is ready, truly struck a deep empathetic spot in my heart for all of you. So many here have described what a great mom you have been to all your little fuzz balls and to have lost two others recently and now face losing this beautiful guy is so painful for all of us to hear and so beyond imaging for you and MArk to live through. May the Lord bless you for your courage and love and dedication to your pets. I will be joining all the others on the FDMB praying that you have the most precious of shared time for many days With Cinco and that you will let him go when and as it is best for him. Hugs heaped upon prayers for all of you!:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top